We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do - Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Crime & Punishment

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
575 7th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
202-393-1099
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$21*
and up
National Museum of Crime and Punishment Admission...
Ranked #47 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must Do - Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was an incredibly surprising museum, well worth the price of the tickets. Covering crime and punishment from Medieval Time through the Wild West, Prohibition to the Modern Era. There are sections on capital punishment, CSI, FBI Top Ten Most Wanted and prison life. I was constantly surprised by the wide range of museum pieces on show from famous crime cases and belonging to infamous individuals (Ted Bundy's Volkswagen Beetle sits in the lobby and John Wayne Gacy's clown outfits are on show later on in the museum!).

I would recommend this museum to everyone, I would recommend leaving a good few hours for this museum as it's based over a few floors and takes a lot longer to wander around than you'd think.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Dotuathail1-
Thank you for your comprehensive review! We are so happy that you came to see us and that you had a great experience! We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you the next time you are in DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    226
    68
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This Crime is Worth Paying for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Recently my daughter and I made a visit to the Crime & Punishment Museum.This museum is larger than it seems. Your self guided tour takes you on a trip through time with stops at The Middle Ages, the Wild West, the Prohibition era, and finally a section focusing on modern criminals and crime. Along the way you get to view fascinating relics and memorabilia as well as interacting with numerous hands on displays. Both my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this museum. We were lucky because an individual on the street handed us a 1/2 price admission coupon on our way there. I feel the museum would have been worth regular admission. One quick tip. Visit this museum when it first opens or in the evening to miss the masses of school field trips. You can expect to take 2 or more hours to tour this museum.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi GSHpointer-
We are thrilled that you and your daughter came to visit our museum! With over 100 interactives and hundreds of artifacts, the museum is definitely larger than it appears. I am glad that you and your daughter thoroughly enjoyed it all! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I loved the displays and the interactive exhibits. We learned a lot and had a great time with the interactive car chase and gun fight. We spent about 2 hours here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Twingirlsmom2,
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you loved the museum, learned a lot, and especially enjoyed the interactives! We hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is like a history museum for criminals. It can be a little scary and gory so I would not recommend for children under age 10. My 11 year old enjoyed the interactive police car chase and shootings the best (so did my husband).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi lovetotravel2012_13,
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you and your family came to see us and that we are one of your favorite museums! The police shooting and driving simulators are a lot of fun; I am happy your son and husband enjoyed them! We hope to see you during your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good museum ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I liked the crime museum. It was very interesting to learn about the past history of crime. It was a lot to read but I learned a lot. I did like the interactive things they had throughout the museum. We did the detective challenge and that was fun trying to find the clues for the crime. The only thing I didn't like was the prize at the end I could only choose between a tattoo and a bandanna which I didn't want either. I was at least hoping for a key chain at the end but at least I got a pen out of it that they gave you at the beginning. Overall it was a nice museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Anv1989,

Thank you so much for coming to visit our museum. We are glad that you found the information interesting and had fun solving the Top Detective Challenge. We appreciate your feedback and are always striving to improve. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Crime & Punishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Crime & Punishment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.