We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Crime & Punishment

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
575 7th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
202-393-1099
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Museum of Crime & Punishment like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$21*
and up
Ranked #55 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you are interested about anything related to crime and punishment, ex-cons, anything relating to this, you will LOVE this place! It is so interactive and so informative. I could have easily spent all day here, if there weren't a million other museums in DC that we wanted to see. Either way, it was awesome! We had a great time here, and I learned so much!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi jasonlauren - Thank you for coming to the Crime Museum! I agree- the museum is very interactive and informative. I am so happy that you had a great time and we hope that you will come back and see us! Maybe you can try one of our CSI workshops! :-) Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    250
    74
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had 3 hours after arriving in DC before our daughter got off of work, and having done everything else in Washington, we thought we'd give it a try...not expecting much...we were
delightfully surprised. Entertaining and full of facts you didn't know about some of the most notorious criminals....a pleasant afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Kathy L. - We are so happy that you decided to visit our museum! The museum has a lot of fun facts and information - I am glad that you were "delightfully surprised" and entertained! We hope that you enjoyed your trip to DC and will come see us again soon. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots of cool items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This museum is really geared toward adolescents and teens, but for the crime and punishment interest piqued adult, it's not too bad. We had a groupon and so the price was under $15 for the pair, not bad. I wouldn't pay full price for this, but if you can get a deal, it's worth checking out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Chris D. - We are glad that you found many of our artifacts to be cool! Thank you for visiting us and for your review - we always appreciate feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A day in the life of Crime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Before I went to the museum I looked on Groupon D.C. and found discount tickets to the museum. As you enter the lines had hand cuffs instead of ropes for you to file thru. We got a kick out of that. We decided to buy the package that included the book that lets you follow clues to solve a robbery. It was fun reading and following the clues. There is a lot of information about famous people and crimes they commited right up to Madoff and his ponzie scheme. There are four floors to tour , but we were running late so we ended the tour on the second floor. We could have shot the hand guns at the end of the second floor but didn't. The last two floors had even more interesting material on CSI and the scientific ways they solve crimes.. I guess we will see them another time. Take the kids to see this, it really is well worth it. It normally costs $21.99 but we got discount vouchers that got us in for $12.00 each and the extra booklet to solve the robbery was $10.00. Well worth it! If you take your time you could probably spend 3 1/2 hours here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi seashell482003 - Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you all came to our museum and had a great time! I am especially thrilled that you did our Top Detective Challenge - did you find the missing medallion?? We hope you will visit us again so you can explore the CSI level, try the firearms simulator, and participate in one of our labs! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Choice, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Liked the idea of carrying hand held tour 'phones'. Each display shows a number to dial on your device. Narrator talks about each area throughout the museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting our museum!! We are glad that you found the museum to be interesting. I think the audio great option to enhance the tour, so I am really happy that you tried it and liked it! We hope you will visit us again soon! Thank you for your review! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Crime & Punishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Crime & Punishment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.