We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Interesting and a lot of Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Crime & Punishment

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
575 7th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
202-393-1099
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Museum of Crime & Punishment like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$21*
and up
Ranked #55 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Extremely Interesting and a lot of Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed our tours of Alcatraz and other prisons that have become museums.
So, when we were planning this trip and saw this museum, I felt we had to do it even though we were a party of 5 (adult children) and it would cost $100.
It was worth every penny.
It covered both famous law enforcement officers and famous criminals.
Both legendary figures such as Wyatt Earp and Billy The Kid to more contemporary cases like Son of Sam and the Unabomber.

There was info the people, weapons used, prisons that housed the offenders, simulations (driving and shooting) of what type of training modern law enforcement officers go through and much more.

We saw medieval implements of torture and execution.
There were reproductions of a gas chamber, electric chair and lethal injection machine.

The museum even had a lighter side such as a green screen where you could be appear in your own little “America’s Most Wanted” clip.

Lots of other interactive things as well.
You could participate in a line up and even an escape from a jail cell.

It kept us interested for many hours. Thoroughly enjoyable, very interesting and well worth the price of admission.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so thrilled that you and your family had a great time at our museum! There is soo much to learn, see, and do! It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed learning and interacting as you explored throughout the museum! We hope to see you again soon!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    250
    74
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went right towards the end of business hours. No lines, a few people, but wasn't crowded to where we couldn't enjoy ourselves. It was perfect. The lady at the desk even let us exit to add money to the meter and then re-enter. (Very generous of her.) The photos and videos are graphic, but it's so interesting and informative. This is a must see for you DC visit, along with the Smithsonian Museums of course. It was $46.53 for two people to enter. A little pricey, but there are floors and floors to look at and the stories are so current and up-to-date as well as classic stories that will never leave our minds as Americans. Enjoy!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We appreciate your review! It makes us so happy to know that you had an enjoyable and fun time at the museum! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My daughter (22) and I spent March 17th, 2013 at this museum in DC. We got there around 1:00. The next time we looked it was 6:15! We literally read every description in front of every display.

As others have pointed out, the spelling and grammar are atrocious! I knew this from having read reviews prior to going. My daughter couldn't believe that there were so many misspellings and poor grammar. She asked "did a public school kid write these displays"! (Sorry if that is snarky, that is what she said).

We paid extra for the CSI experience. This was a little hokey - o.k., a lot hokey, but, it was kinda cute. Worth $8.00 extra each - I'm not so sure.

We got to the museum about 45 min before our CSI experience started. When it was time to go down to it, we just went on. There were no announcements, so keep tabs on the time.

The experience was held on the floor with the old set of America's Most Wanted. The premise of the experience is we are to solve a murder. We are given a 'file', which is supplemented with photo's of bullet exit wounds, stab wounds - while it sounds gruesome, it totally wasn't. But then, I'm an ex-surgery nurse practitioner, so there isn't much that rattles me. I love this kind of stuff. There was a little girl about 8 years old at our table. When they said they were going to run a film on an autopsy, I was concerned about the little girl. Believe me, you see more 'autopsy' on CSI Miami than during this video!

Then we got to inspect 6 fetal pigs - 2 with 'severed spines', 2 with gun-shot wounds, and 2 with stab wounds. I could determine the severed spine pigs, but not the other two. I've seen real GSW's and stabbings - these pigs did not have the same injuries! As the lady said, they are fetal pig sized gsw's and stabbings!

After this 45 min add-on, we returned to where we left off in the museum. There are several interactive exhibits. I kept trying and failing to 'crack the code' on a safe.

There is an auto driving simulator where you get to flip on the lights and sirens and take off after the bad guys. The vertigo this machine caused was unbelievable. My daughter was still complaining of feeling nauseous 2 hours later.

Then we got to the shooting simulator. What fun! I've shot a 9 mm hand-gun many times at the range. She had never picked up a gun. The video shows you (as a police officer) going into a crack house. You have to know when to shoot and when not to. The 'bad guy' jumps up with a gun, and dang if my daughter didn't plug him with two right in the chest, out of 3 shots fired!! My four shots didn't even come close to him! This was probably the best exhibit. No line, we just walked right up to the display.

But wait, there's more. There is an apartment scene where a 'murder' has been taken place. This several room exhibit then goes through what the CSI people do, there is an autopsy table with a 'body' on it. Then lots of info regarding ballistics and drug testing.

Moving on, you pass through a jail cell, and learn about various jails and some of the infamous people who lived in them.

All in all, a very nice way to spend a wet, cold, dreary day and be totally entertained.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback; we definitely appreciate it! We are so happy that you and your daughter spent the day with us and decided to participate in many of the interactives throughout! We hope that you will visit us again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Favorite Museum in DC! So Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

When museums that charged an admission fee in DC began opening up, I gave none of them a chance for surviving. Afterall, who would pay to go to a museum, when you could visit some of the best museums in the world for free? That being said, this museum is definitely worth the price of admission (especially if you can find discount admission tickets, which is pretty easy to do through sites such as Goldstar). It is so incredibly cool! It gives you a great appreciation of what it takes to solve a crime! This museum doesn't hold back, so it's definitely not everyone's cup of tea (and certainly not appropriate for very young children). What can you say about a museum that greets you with Ted Bundy's car? It's creepy, disturbing, educational, full and chilling at the same time! I have referred this museum to many family and friends, and they all came back to me saying they loved it! Definitely should be on everyone's list of things to see in DC. Great for both locals and visitors alike!

http://www.youtube.com/user/NVAFam

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for naming us your "favorite museum in DC!" We understand that there are several museums in the area, most of which are free, so we are super appreciative of your kind words and referrals! We hope you will visit us again! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit, especially when you are into those type of series. Lots details about American history of crime and polices. Staff members are very friendly to answer questions. Definitely recommended to people above 13!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear BetiFeng – Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write a review on our behalf! We truly appreciate your comments and hope you can visit us again. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Crime & Punishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Crime & Punishment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.