We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Museum of Crime and Punishment throughout the years.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Crime & Punishment

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
575 7th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
202-393-1099
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$21*
and up
National Museum of Crime and Punishment Admission...
Ranked #46 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum of Crime and Punishment throughout the years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed this museum. There is an admission fee. It was interesting to see how criminals were punished many, many years ago. Also, reasons people were arrested and/or punished was interesting, also. The forensics area was neat. Opportunities for photographs are possible.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed touring the museum and found the section on punishment to be especially interesting. We hope you will come see us again on your next trip to DC! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    225
    68
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must see experience for tv crime enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When arriving at the crime and punishment museum it looks very small outside but believe me it's not. Be prepared to take a least 2 hours for viewing depending on your interest. Admission is not free. If you know when your going to the museum go to their website and prepay admission as it's much cheaper. If you do not know which day to attend get the Free Washington DC Map, which contains $1.50 off per person to save a little money when paying at the door. Pictures are allowed. Due to some graphic content would recommend viewers be teenagers to adults.

The museum shows capital punishments which starts back to 1800 to modern times. Mobsters crime history with bio's of life and how they got started in the business. Display of guns and other person items. People interested in Forensics surely won't be disappointment. Without giving to much away there's a lot of wide variety of subjects and those who loved America's Most wanted are in for a surprise.

There are many computer displays, questions and answers and two virtual reality interactive display (which I personally enjoyed). This museum has something for everything and had a wonderful time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am happy that you had a great time at the Crime Museum! It does appear small from the outside, but with 3 floors, 25,000sqft, and 100+ interactives, there is definitely a lot to see and do! We hope you will visit us again soon - and maybe try one of our forensic workshops! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting museum, a must see for CSI fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

A very interesting museum near Chinatown. Easy access from DC metro and close to restaurants.
The museum is well laid out, beginning with early history of crime and punishment to modern day crime. Enjoyed the Forensic section, using science to investigate and solve crimes. Any CSI or Ncis fan will enjoy this section.
Note - some of the exhibits may not be appropriate for young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you found the museum to be well laid out and especially enjoyed the forensics section! I think you would really like one of our forensics workshops! We hope you will visit us again!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a Fun Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I loved this museum, and spent way more time there than we had planned on! It was full of interesting facts and stories about various punishment methods over the years, and infamous criminals. Lots of fun, and just the right amount of interaction to keep visitors moving, without feeling rushed through it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am so happy that you and your boyfriend loved the museum and had fun! We hope to see you on your next trip to DC! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“VERY INTERESTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lots of interesting stories to learn from and the history of crime. beware there are a few graphic images around that are VERY bloody. if you are not that kind of person then you may want to skip this.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and for visiting us! I am excited that you found the museum to be very interesting!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Crime & Punishment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Crime & Punishment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.