We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You better like James Bond...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You better like James Bond...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Because they screen the movies in the lobby, err, living room. This is a very nice hotel, clean, funky, very helpful staff. It embodies the Kimpton approach to making larger hotels seem like boutiques. Free wine reception in the evening, free coffee in the morning (and unlike in the Madera, this coffee is drinkable :) The roof bar is very cool, food's good there, the pool nice, but too small. Main gripe for me are the rooms. In getting carried away by hipness the bathrooms are way too big, making the room overall small. Also, there was no table/chair to work on or eat at in my room at least. I had one complaint which I mentioned in the online post-stay survey, and the management immediately contacted me about it to apologise, showing how switched on they are. I wouldn't stay again for a work trip, but for a long weekend with the missus it is just the spot. I like Kimpton, and Donovan House is a good hotel in the chain.

Room Tip: I had an internal room, no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Andreas B,

Thanks so much for your review.

I appreciate all your feedback about your stay. Seems like mostly good, with some critique. So you know, we are undergoing a full rooms renovation at the end of this year to really address, for good, the functionality of our guestrooms. This should solve the desk situation for your next business trip!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    286
    115
    33
    15
See reviews for
121
296
48
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary with a short weekend trip to DC - I included this detail on the reservation and was congratulated on our anniversary when I first arrived at check-in that Friday morning. No rooms were ready at that time, so I dropped off my luggage at the front desk and enjoyed a complimentary day-pass for the CapitalBikeshare program - an awesome and unexpected perk! When I returned to the hotel later that afternoon, the woman who checked me in upgraded me to a terrific king room overlooking the circle - it was a sexy room (especially the mod shower/giant bathtub) with an incredible view - and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne to boot! (Not sure if this is standard, or if this was a gift for our anniversary - either way, it was totally appreciated.) Throughout our stay, the service was excellent - if there was one disappointment, it was the quality of the breakfast served via room service - totally fine, but in retrospect, I wish we had gotten out of bed for one of the many amazing breakfast/brunch places in the city. That said, I would absolutely stay here again - the Donovan did not disappoint with its great location, sexy ambiance, and high end service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi LisaMarieB52,

Thanks so much for your review!

Happy Anniversary! I'm happy you chose our Hotel to celebrate. Seems like we really held up our end of the bargain. See you next year?

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and myself stayed here this weekend and really enjoyed it. The room was trendy and modern much like the decor of the rest of the place. The roof top bar and pool was a pleasant surprise. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi LisaMarieB52,

Thanks so much for your review.

Sounds like an all around great stay. Anniversaries are always special and a little bottle of bubbly goes a long way. Sorry about the In-Room Dining Food, I will be sure to take it up with our restaurant team.

So...same time, same place next year?

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived in DC for a two day visit we found the Donovan on Hotwire.com so the price was extremely good. We booked a premier queen room but as we were two friends travelling together we asked for a twin room. We were given a room with two double beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was modern, funky, well presented, clean and quiet. So quiet in fact that we overslept. I would recommend the Donovan to singles, couples and families. A great experience in a truly wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi 171Jen,

Thanks so much for your review.

Sounds like a great time, all the way from Italy! Hope you'll back soon on Holiday.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclarkebu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for my wife's birthday weekend. Check-in was great -- the hotel went out of their way to celebrate my wife's birthday. Free dessert and drinks in the restaurant and an amenity in the room of champagne and strawberries. Very nice and very impressive.

Our room was incredible too -- very modern and actually spacious (and we booked the lowest category queen room).

A few things that held this back from a 5 star experience:
-The shower pressure is near non-existent. The shower has a rain-head faucet and it's very hard to get a good shower.
-We left our room at 8am and when we returned at 4pm to get ready for dinner, our room still hadn't been made up. When I called to inquire they said they had till 5pm to clean our room. This was kind of annoying 8 hours is a long time to get to clean a room.
-While the hotel is a non-smoking property, someone kept smoking on our floor. I get the hotel can't necessarily control this, but the stench of smoke was awful.

All this said, we did have a great time. We would easily stay at the Donovan House again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi eclarkebu,

Thanks for your review!

Looks like a lot of GOOD, with a few hints of bad. I'll be sure to have conversations with my Engineering and Housekeeping Teams about your experience. Sorry about the smoke as well, we are totally 100% non-smoking, but you know how some people are.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

So I recently married on June 1st. and was so excited to stay here for the first time. I called ahead to request a really nice room (without paying extra, of course) and the front office manager Abe hooked me up with a corner room and fancy shower! When we checked in that night we were greeted by John the front desk guy who was so excited for us. He had our keys ready and offered us comp drinks tickets on the rooftop!!! As we got on the elevator I thought to myself this night cannot get any better, until we opened our door to find out that the hotel staff had decorated our room with rose pedals, candles and snacks--I almost cried! The next morning, we woke up a bit hung over and in a rush to make our flight my husband forgot his wallet and I forgot my card box with all of the gifts and money--YIKES! Well thank goodness I had left my cell number on file because John called me moments after we checked out to info me that housekeeping had found it and he had it at the front desk for us. I say all of that to say that, this is an amazing hotel for several reasons, but mostly because of the people it employs. I wish I could afford to stay here all the time, but I will settle for anniversaries and special occasions.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with fancy shower!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Monique P,

Awesome, thanks for your review!

I had no clue you were filling out a TripAdvsor Review, but glad that you did. Your comments are very flattering, thank you so much. I am also super happy you encountered Jon, he is pretty awesome. The "Corner Room with Fancy Shower" is called a King Premier, for the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I didn't know what to expect from Kimpton or Donovan House. I booked via Priceline for $126/night just before a big trade show in the Convention Center pushed prices to over $250. I originally booked Rouge, another Kimpton hotel, but this seemed more my style. Although, I didn't know it was a spy hotel. Goldfinger was showing in the lobby and it gets busy during the nightly happy hours with complimentary wine and sangria. Great hospitality touches which I've seen elsewhere, but not of this quality.

My room had a nice view of Thomas Circle. The furniture was funky, but tasteful with a white and dark wood and leather theme. The work desk was more like a coffee table and the chair wasn't ergonomic, so probably not for hours of Powerpoint. The provision of animal print bathrobes was very welcome! A first for me. Another rare sight was a trash can which was just for recycling. I've seen this may be 1-2 before in a hotel room.

The bathroom was well designed and spacious, esp. the snail-like shower unit. It protruded into the bedroom and the users casts shadows in the room. Very cool. Better than the glass showers in other trendy (Starck) hotels. Another impressive touch was the list of toiletries that were available from the front desk, for free. I'd forgot my wash bag so I got the razor, shaving cream, toothpaste etc. I went to the 24/7 CVS across the street for a better razor since I was staying six days.

I asked the front desk to mail something to England for me. They did this without adding this to my bill! Although it does take longer time it saved me a trip to the post office. And before I forget, despite me getting a killer deal on this room, I got an upgrade at check-in! How great is this place. I hope to stay at a Kimpton hotel again!

Green Features: The guest option to reuse towels is pretty normal. And I think it's more about saving the hotel money than saving the earth. But in Kimpton's case, the provision of a recycle trash can is something I've rarely seen in other hotels I've stayed at. So gold star!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Stevio_1,

Thanks for your review!

Loved all the detail and the note about Hotel Rouge! I used to work there! Either way, seemed like nothing but positive interactions with our staff. So happy your stay went so well.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.