We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique property & very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Suite Night Free!
Ranked #47 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Boutique property & very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here with a group of 20+ guests. The property is quaint but has good service. It has a wonderful rooftop bar and lounge and the only restaurant on property is pretty good. The rooms are a good size, modern and clean. The property is very central and within walking distance to major landmarks. In addition, the staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi bballi,

Thanks for your review.

Appreciate the great comments about your stay. Sp happy to hear the staff treated you so well.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    321
    124
    36
    17
See reviews for
149
313
53
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I ended up landing a room at the Donovan House by way of Priceline. I never stayed at any other Kimpton properties, so was looking forward to it. The front lobby was pretty modern...and by that hanging chairs, lots of art/design effort went into making it "cool". It's tight quarters in the entire hotel. The hallways were kind of trippy. I think my floor was dark purple with neon green exit lights and lots of mirrors. Definitely catering to the Euro-club crowd. Got to my room and it was nice. very modern, lots of white, shower looked like something from The Jetsons, but it was cool and it was a different experience which is what I think they're going for. Definitely not a place to bring the kids or grandmom. I'm 35 and it was almost too cool for me! the amenities are tight. I workout and the gym was fairly tight and small. Small for a hotel. All in all, a nice place with a different scene going on.

Green Features: I didn't notice any environmental issues or practices.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi bmalin77,

Thanks so much for your review.

I always love guest feedback. Sometimes that means the "hard truth". I reviewed your comments in detail and can see your perspective. I have good news, there is a full rooms renovation planned for the end of this year and the main items being addressed are functionality, condition, ability to work in the room and also to "soften" things up a bit. We're really committing to making the Hotel a welcoming place for all.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every time I stay at a Kimpton, I am truly satisfied! This is why:
1. Kimpton hotels always have great decor. The Donvan house has a "spy" theme with modern furnishings. So fun!
2. Staff is friendly, kind and accommodating. When I checked in, I was offered a glass of wine during the check-in process. All members of staff greeted me with a smile and kind words. They offered to help in any way they could.
3. The Donovan house went over the top to make my wedding anniversary a dream come true. I was offered a room upgrade and had a little treat waiting for my wife and I. It shows that staff really cares and goes the extra mile.
4. The food is always great. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. So fresh, delicious and healthy!

I plan to stay at a Kimpton every chance I get! My hotel chain of choice! THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Some rooms have floor-to-ceiling city views at an affordable price!
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton is clearly eco-friendly! It offers an eco-program with details in each room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Steven V,

Thanks so much for your review.

1. What an awesome stay!
2. I am assuming you are coming back?
3. Happy Anniversary!
4. Check out Zentan for Dinner next. Chef Jen is awesome!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My girls friends and I checked into the hotel and was offered an upgrade with a cocoon tube/bath. it was gorgeous and we enjoyed the relaxing rooftop pool/bar. The bar made some fantastic drinks and for a decent price considering hotel drinks are expensive. The location is very central and close to almost anything needed. We enjoyed our stay and already plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer the best views of logan square
See more room tips
Green Features: The water pressure wasnt heavy but it was not a bad thing considering the energy efficiency hotel the donovan is. the pressure was perfect and i loved the bath products.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Anastasia B,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor!

Seems like a great stay. Glad you had a chance to check out DNV Rooftop. We are receiving rave reviews, like yours, about the new renovations and libations.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I got this hotel through Priceline and what a wonderful surprise it was. I checked I during free wine hour, which was great after a long day. The front desk staff were friend,y and attentive. The lobby area is cool and funky. Upstairs, the halls are fabulously decorated and the room was really nice. Very interesting decor and lighting, luxe bath design and products. Comfy, beautiful bed. This hotel is really a winner. It's got great location, staff, service, decor....really fun place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi CarolineMcMuffin,

Thanks so much for your review.

What an awesome stay and I appreciate you sharing with the TripAdvisor community. Will you be back soon?

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We scored a great deal on this hotel on a website and we couldn't have asked for more. The decor of the entire hotel is like a 60s spy movie. The shower was great and the bed was comfortable. There were huge floor to ceiling windows that gave us a great view of Thomas Circle. The rooftop deck was amazing with a great view of the circle and a pool (which we didn't use because it was a bit cool). I would definitely avoid a room on the top floor so that you don't get the noise from the rooftop.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
*** Transmission Received ***

*** For Your Eyes Only ***

Hi One3eb,

Agent Georgia, thank you for your confidential communication about your most recent mission to our location. Pleased to hear your operational activity took you to DNV Rooftop. It's known in the Spy Community as a totally cool hang out spot and just recently renovated.

Please stay in communication range for your next mission.

Confidentially Yours,
Abe

Abe Liao
Codename: Intrepid
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Arrived at the Donovan House today and to my chagrin was told I made the reservation for the wrong date (was definitely my fault). Daysi at the front desk however sprang into action and talked through the situation with here colleagues and they were able to still get me in a room.

Thank you Daysi and thank you Donovan House!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Eric J,

Thanks for your review!

Wow! Daysi to the rescue. Not the first time I've heard this, she is pretty awesome. Appreciate you sharing.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#60 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,583 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#32 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#54 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.