We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton continues to go above and beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1 More
Ranked #51 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kimpton continues to go above and beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every time I stay at a Kimpton, I am truly satisfied! This is why:
1. Kimpton hotels always have great decor. The Donvan house has a "spy" theme with modern furnishings. So fun!
2. Staff is friendly, kind and accommodating. When I checked in, I was offered a glass of wine during the check-in process. All members of staff greeted me with a smile and kind words. They offered to help in any way they could.
3. The Donovan house went over the top to make my wedding anniversary a dream come true. I was offered a room upgrade and had a little treat waiting for my wife and I. It shows that staff really cares and goes the extra mile.
4. The food is always great. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. So fresh, delicious and healthy!

I plan to stay at a Kimpton every chance I get! My hotel chain of choice! THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Some rooms have floor-to-ceiling city views at an affordable price!
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton is clearly eco-friendly! It offers an eco-program with details in each room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Steven V,

Thanks so much for your review.

1. What an awesome stay!
2. I am assuming you are coming back?
3. Happy Anniversary!
4. Check out Zentan for Dinner next. Chef Jen is awesome!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    174
    84
    24
    12
See reviews for
73
193
35
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My girls friends and I checked into the hotel and was offered an upgrade with a cocoon tube/bath. it was gorgeous and we enjoyed the relaxing rooftop pool/bar. The bar made some fantastic drinks and for a decent price considering hotel drinks are expensive. The location is very central and close to almost anything needed. We enjoyed our stay and already plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer the best views of logan square
See more room tips
Green Features: The water pressure wasnt heavy but it was not a bad thing considering the energy efficiency hotel the donovan is. the pressure was perfect and i loved the bath products.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Anastasia B,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor!

Seems like a great stay. Glad you had a chance to check out DNV Rooftop. We are receiving rave reviews, like yours, about the new renovations and libations.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I got this hotel through Priceline and what a wonderful surprise it was. I checked I during free wine hour, which was great after a long day. The front desk staff were friend,y and attentive. The lobby area is cool and funky. Upstairs, the halls are fabulously decorated and the room was really nice. Very interesting decor and lighting, luxe bath design and products. Comfy, beautiful bed. This hotel is really a winner. It's got great location, staff, service, decor....really fun place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi CarolineMcMuffin,

Thanks so much for your review.

What an awesome stay and I appreciate you sharing with the TripAdvisor community. Will you be back soon?

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We scored a great deal on this hotel on a website and we couldn't have asked for more. The decor of the entire hotel is like a 60s spy movie. The shower was great and the bed was comfortable. There were huge floor to ceiling windows that gave us a great view of Thomas Circle. The rooftop deck was amazing with a great view of the circle and a pool (which we didn't use because it was a bit cool). I would definitely avoid a room on the top floor so that you don't get the noise from the rooftop.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
*** Transmission Received ***

*** For Your Eyes Only ***

Hi One3eb,

Agent Georgia, thank you for your confidential communication about your most recent mission to our location. Pleased to hear your operational activity took you to DNV Rooftop. It's known in the Spy Community as a totally cool hang out spot and just recently renovated.

Please stay in communication range for your next mission.

Confidentially Yours,
Abe

Abe Liao
Codename: Intrepid
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Arrived at the Donovan House today and to my chagrin was told I made the reservation for the wrong date (was definitely my fault). Daysi at the front desk however sprang into action and talked through the situation with here colleagues and they were able to still get me in a room.

Thank you Daysi and thank you Donovan House!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Eric J,

Thanks for your review!

Wow! Daysi to the rescue. Not the first time I've heard this, she is pretty awesome. Appreciate you sharing.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had already expected great things from this hotel due to the great reviews already posted, so I thought that it would be hard to exceed my expectations, but they sure did. Even before I arrived, I had a great interaction with Mr. Han who went above and beyond before and during my stay. He was exceptional, and I was very impressed at the effort he makes. Other staff, from check-in to housekeeping, were all great as well and very friendly and accommodating. I had an upgraded premier room which was roomy, well appointed and had great views of Thomas Circle. The rooftop pool was a nice touch and I really liked how you could relax and swim by day and then have a cocktail by evening as it turned into a rooftop lounge. Not everyone may like that, but I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premier room for great views and extra roominess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi nyctravis,

Thanks for your review!

You shared just an awesome stay. I appreciate you highlighting Harald, he is one of our very best. Also very much enjoyed your comments about the Rooftop Transition from day to night. We always try and solicit the opinions of our guests.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at Donovan House several times and it just keeps getting better. The rooms are perfectly comfortable and well equipped like all Kimpton Hotels. The service behind the front desk is particularly notable, Kevin and Mark take extra steps that made my stay even better. Thanks for keeping this a great spot to stay in DC!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi Steven R,

Thanks for your review.

Repeat guests are my favorite guests! I am sure you're signed up for Kimpton InTouch, if not, you should. Who doesn't love Kevin and Mark?

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.