We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Suite Night Free!
Ranked #43 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute to stay the night before the inauguration. What a surprise. We got a king size bed room at a very reasonable price, considering the date. The hotel was clean and the staff was great! The room wasn't large with only a walk-in shower, but what do expect in downtown dc.

A big surprise was that in the morning the staff had put out hand warmers, water bottles, newspapers, and maps. What a great hotel.

We will stay there again.

Room Tip: a high room to get away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Robert S,

Thank you so much for your review.

So happy you were able to sneak in right before Inauguration. It was a super busy time. Appreciate you recognizing the goodies we put out. Always like to surprise and delight our travelers.

Cheers to 4 more years,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    303
    120
    34
    16
See reviews for
131
306
51
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Donovan house hotel for 3 days, in a great room with a view of Thomas circle. The rooms and the hotel in general has really nice design. Service was excellent, and they have a very cosy lobby with complimentary wine in the afternoon.
Nice breakfast buffet in the nice restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Thomas circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Camilla V,

Thank you for your review!

All the way from Copenhagen. Love it. You mentioned the Thomas Circle Views. Best room type to book is a King Premier.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Frequent DC traveller--first time at Donovan House (Kimpton). Loved it. Large bright and clean rooms. Great location and wonderful staff. Did not use restaurant but plenty within easy walk. Metro stop easy walk. My only complaint was missed wake up call on my departure day which made for real rush to airport I could have done without. Otherwise very pleased and I definitely would stay here again. Ask for room facing Circle on floors 7-10 for best view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi MarkkOBrown,

Thank you so much for your review.

Yikes! A missed wake up call? That's totally out of character and I am so terribly sorry. Glad you had a great stay otherwise and thank you for sharing the feedback. Will use this information to train the team.

Ding Ding Ding,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been trying to book a reservation using a group code for the past week. I have left message after message for sales. When I call and ask to speak to someone in-house, I am treated rudely and transferred to the call center.

If it's this difficult to make a reservation, I cannot imagine what it would be like to actually stay there. Clearly, they are not interested in cultivating customers.

I would rather pay substantially more per night than stay here, simply based on reservation attempts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi librarangrrrl,

Thanks for your review.

I am so terribly sorry that you had such a challenging experience with our reservation process. I am shocked that you were treated rudely. This is not something that happens in our Hotel and I plan to research it fully. If you wouldn't mind, please contact me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com. I would appreciate the time.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Not only is this place stylish and fun, but the staff have bent over backwards to accommodate my needs and make me feel special. I decided to extend my stay after checking in so that I could be here for my birthday. I mentioned that I was turning 50 this week and wanted to stay through that evening until 7 pm. This is later than a regular "late checkout" request, and it would normally incur an extra night's charge. They waived the charge because of my birthday and guaranteed my very late checkout in advance. Not only that, here's the kicker: when I returned to my room that evening, I found a bottle of Freixenet sparkling wine on ice, a bottle of premium water, and a plate with delicious brownies and strawberries, along with a card signed by several staff to wish me a happy birthday. Amazing!

The other thing I will note is that on the night of the Superbowl, I went to the hotel restaurant, Zentan, 20 minutes before it was supposed to close and found the kitchen shut down. They had had no diners for a while because of the Superbowl. So instead of sending me away hungry, they gave me not one but two different delicious (and substantial) fancy salads, which I took to my room and was plenty full afterward. And they didn't charge me!

The only thing I would improve is adding towel racks in the bathroom. I'd like to re-use towels, and there are hooks but no racks to hang towels so that they can dry out. And there is plenty of room on the walls to add these. A minor issue.

This Kimpton Hotel also has the usual free wine happy hour, with delicious sushi appetizers, and morning tea. Everyone has been extremely helpful and friendly, and as the title says--completely above and beyond what one might expect from a hotel. I will stay again next time in DC--no doubt. Thanks for making my stay perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi opentoanything,

Thanks for your review.

What an awesome stay! Looks like you experienced genuine Kimpton Care everywhere in the building. So pleased and hope you will return again soon.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

found to be a great location but when we arrived the doorman saw that we had backpacks and did not open door. check-in was great, rooms and corridors were quiet, and we were informed that there would be complimentary appetizers served later in the foyer... went at appointed time and found no appetizers so we decided to look over restaurant...waiters leaning at hostess stand and chatting unappealing sight...found rooms comfortable but the lighting was very dim...called and asked about charges for using business center and front desk person did not know...nice complimentary coffee and tea service in the morning in the foyer...all in all, a decent hotel but would NOT pay $300 for this room...worth around $125-150

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi cindi-from-indy,

Thanks so much for your review.

So terribly sorry that your welcome experience wasn't the most positive. I will be certain to address this with our team. Additionally, we offer snacks throughout the service and specially pass bites from Zentan periodically during the reception. Sorry, if we missed you. Let me know when you return, I will ensure a great stay.

Come back soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Donovan House has the look of an Ikea Showroom, ultra-modern but cheap. The hotel is sleek and clean, full of shiny surfaces, plenty of black and white and little color. Furniture is low to the ground, and the bed sits on a platform without a box spring. One plus is free Internet when enrolling in the Klimpton affinity program, and another is free happy-hour drinks. There isn't much in the immediate vicinity, but the hotel is within a mile of Dupont Circle and Chinatown and not too far from 14th Street restaurants. The hotel can be a fun alternative to standard fare, and is worth considering when the price is low.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Foothill,

Thanks so much for your review.

While I am happy you found our Property to be a fun alternative to "cookie cutter" hotels, I am admittedly disappointed that you found the condition of your room to be sub-par. With feedback like this from other travelers, we are in process of considering a Rooms Renovation in the near future. If you would take just a little more time to share with me the specifics of your stay, that would be super helpful. I can be reached by email at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#58 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#52 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.