We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fine Kimpton stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #55 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Excelsior, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another fine Kimpton stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent bed and pillows. Large two room layout that readily accommodated a rollaway. Great location for exploring DC. Few restaurants nearby (business area) but metro closeby and $10-$15 taxi to Georgetown or the Hill. Decent room rate but watch out for the parking rate. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Mark L,

Thanks so much for your review.

I like to think we have one of the most walk able locations in all of DC. You can reach all the cool neighborhoods that DC has to offer. I understand the comment about our parking rates as well. After completing numerous competitive surveys of Hotels in our Area and Service Level, they are competitive with the market. Downtown DC can be hard for parking.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    224
    99
    30
    13
See reviews for
92
228
42
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Small boutique hotel, staff is friendly and attentive, rooms are chic in a strange 70's way, cocoon showers and ample spaces. their housekeeping service is a little slow but their restaurant Zentan specializing in asian food is very good, the bar at Zentian is excellent as well. A hotel geared for the upscale younger crowds. I didn´t go to the swimming pool and bar on the roof because is winter but was highly reccomended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi eolmosc,

Thanks for your review.

It's true the young and hip love us, but so do families, couples and the seasoned traveler! I like to think that we have something to offer for everyone. Hope you can visit again when the pool is open during the season. Definitely a can't miss.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days with our tween children who thought it was the coolest hotel they had ever seen. Modern aesthetic with lots of cool touches- hanging glass chairs, shower pod, full panel glass windows with great view. The hotel was starting to show a bit of wear and tear (chips in wood dresser, faint stain on carpet), but neither my husband nor children seemed to notice. We got a groupon and paid $120ish a night which included breakfast (buffet w pastries, wonderful fresh fruit and berries, Tomatoes, mozzarella, prosciutto, fabulous coffee, eggs and bacon and potatoes) as well as a cocktail hour where we drank way too much wine (you could have as many glasses as you wanted) and the kids had 6 or 7 cups of hot cider each as well as a few sushi rolls. Not sure I would rave about this hotel (especially in winter when the pool was closed) if i spent $250 and didn't get breakfast or cocktails, but given how little we paid, we were absolutely thrilled and would highly recommend to anyone visiting dc. Very close to attractions and near a bike share spot so easy to get around without a car.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi VermontMama3,

Thanks so much for your review.

Looks like you took care advantage of all the cool things we have to offer being a Kimpton Hotel. I appreciate you recommending us.

P.S. - There is no such thing as too much wine.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a night while in DC for business. The hotel is chic, clean and in a very convenient location (10 min walk to White House) and 5 min walk from Red Line. Overall I was very pleased with my stay. The Donovan House is billed as a Jetson-themed hotel, and I think this is a very apt description. The free coffee/tea/cocoa in the morning is a nice plus and wireless for $11 is about as reasonable as DC hotels get. Overall I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi ShankarP,

The Jetsons...I like it, but with a twist of modern-chic!

Next time you stay, sign up for Kimpton InTouch, our guest loyalty program and you will receive Complimentary Internet Access along with a $10.00 Raid the Mini-Bar Credit. This way you can avoid the internet charge and grab a bag of M&M's.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm a Kimpton believer and have stayed at properties in three cities, this is my second in DC. I'm consistently pleased with the helpful staff and the accommodations. This hotel has a great location -- including a 24-hour CVS across the street -- and was very busy when I was there. The decidedly pop modernist decor may not be for everyone but I rather liked. The beds are low so if you have trouble getting up and down, add a little time to your bedtime. Once in the bed, you have full access to the master controls. There is recessed reading light above your head, plenty of places to plug in your phone/tablet/laptop (Kimpton always gets this right), TV remote control, room lights etc. The bathroom is large and well appointed --shower only --which some will approach tentatively as it is shaped like a nautilus. Very amusing and does the job without shower curtains. May be a tough squeeze if you are very overweight. There is a very busy and tasty asian fusion restaurant/bar right next door -- major scene on Saturday night. My one complaint relates to returning back to my room at the end of a workday and alas, the maid had not come that day. I hadn't left a privacy card on the doorknob so no explanation. The bed wasn't made. The mini-bar not replaced. The waste baskets not emptied. The towels sat where I'd left them. I have no problem cleaning up after myself but it had been a long work day (on a weekend no less) and it was late. The front desk made no further accommodation except to offer maid service at night when all I wanted was to ease into bed. That didn't strike me as very Kimpton and for the record, represents my first unpleasant Kimptom experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello there HuntressCA,

Thanks so much for your feedback.

Seems like you had a real enjoyable time, till the very end. RATS! Sorry to hear that we missed out on the stay over service. I'll make sure my Director of Housekeeping looks into that. If you would be willing to give us another shot, please contact me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com so I might ensure your next stay is an excellent one.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Great stay from beginning to end. Very courteous and helpful staff. Fulfilled every request I had{extra towels, picking up my bags, having the car ready} quickly and graciously. Helpful with directions and recommendations for local places to get food. Very modern and unique rooms. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi jillybean0366,

Thanks for your review!

Short, sweet and to the point. Looks like we nailed it. Thanks for sharing.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I am pleased to say that this hotel had gone above & beyond what we were expecting for our stay at The Donovan House in DC, we were celebrating a special occasion and were delighted by the staffs complements and congratulations on it. They also provided us with a full sheet of restaurants within walking distance (or a short cab ride) from the Hotel & at the wine hour the man who was pouring drinks was also great with recommendations on some of his favorite places in town. The staff could not have been more kind and helpful. Staying here was a delight. Michelle K

Room Tip: The corner King delux room that we had was bright and great views, no street noise for the exception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi Michelle K,

Thanks so much for your review!

We really love special occasions. When someone books our Hotel for a special reason, I feel obligated to take care of them. Not only did you book a room, you chose to spend this special moment with us. Glad you had a great time.

Thanks for Sharing,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.