We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy.... Plus plus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1 More
Ranked #48 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Groovy.... Plus plus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved it. So does everyone else which says something about the property. But extraordinarily, I never went to the roof bar in the whole week we were there, and considering Washington was having an Indian summer prior to hurricane sandy I don't know how I missed it! Great hotel, fun atmosphere, good breakfast but for $19++, I do expect a whole muffin not a quarter of one because they ran out of Danish! Very fed up to arrive back Ina Australia to a bunch of extra charges on the 5 rooms booked in my name presumably for mini bar charges when all of the occupants were Kimpton in touch members. It would cost me more in phone calls to get these reversed but its seriously petty after spending more than $10,000 for rooms to hit me up for 50 bucks of cashew nuts. Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi SadTravelingOnMyOwn,

Thank you for your review.

I am so happy to see that you had such a great time at our Hotel. I wanted to say sorry about the extra charges, but would be happy to help to get this straightened out. Email me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com so I can get you taken care of.

Let me know,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    176
    81
    24
    12
See reviews for
70
191
35
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am going to be brief..... I love Donovan House :)

1. Great location (about 10 min walk from the white house)
2. Excellent customer service
3. The buffet for breakfast was delicious, and I was looking every morning to eat a delicious an healthy meal
4. Lovely decor
5. Everybody was very helpful and friendly
6. Nice decor and very comfortable beds and rooms in general.
7. We did not get to use the pool because it was closed for the season :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Grace A,

Thanks so much for your review!

1. You are awesome.
2. Thanks for being awesome.
3. Let me know when you would like to come back to share your awesomeness.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent a long weekend in Washington this past October. I got a room at Donovan House after bidding on Priceline. Overall I was quite pleased. It is close to MacPherson Square subway stop, and walkable to the White House and Mall. Very, very clean and excellent sleep quality. Service was very kind and helpful. Across the street is a CVS Pharmacy and close to coffee shops.

This is a relatively new hotel and has a very modern, hip design; not a hotel I would normally select on my own, since I am not the demographic Kimpton is targeting. It has what I refer to as “Austin Powers” interior design, and I kept wanting to say “yeah baby!” in the white enamel elevators and down the deep purple corridors. I had a king room; bed very comfortable and excellent curtains that kept the light out. No alarm clock, though. They expect everyone to have a smartphone, I guess. No hard cover hotel directory either, and I could not find one on the TV. I always look at those when I travel.

The design of the bathroom is very modern—one huge square sink, which to me is like a trough. Funky design, but when you brush your teeth, it takes a while for the sink to drain. The shower design is also adventurous. The wall that separates it from the bedroom area is transparent for watching silhouettes, I suppose. Fabulous good-sized bathrobes are available. No coffee maker in the room. I had a busy weekend ahead of me and did not have time to experience other amenities in the hotel. I did have excellent sleeps each night because of the bed quality, light control and comfort of my room.

Room Tip: Since I found my room on Priceline, they put me on the 10th floor, which was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi SoloSpirit,

Thanks so much for your thoughtful review!

I appreciate all your comments, they were groovy. In the future, you can always request a coffee maker during or before your stay, we will have it ready for you. Additionally, all of our rooms have iHomes which do serve as docking stations, but also have functionality for Alarm and Radio Functions.

Hope to see you soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was in Washington, D.C. on a business trip. Although I have stayed at other Kimpton properties in the area, I had not stayed at the Donovan House and it was the only one in the group with rooms available at government rates. Although my flight was late in arriving, I was greeted warmly at check-in as warmly as the first customer of the day and my room keys were immediately available. The suite was gorgeous, well-appointed, and had every amenity that a business or pleasure traveler could ever need or desire. The desk space was much larger than provided by most hotel standards and the couches were as comfortable as home. The bedroom had relaxing, yet adequate lighting and the bathroom and shower was the most contemporary that I have ever seen. When I checked out in the morning, the man who checked me out insisted that I stayed in the warm lobby while he hailed a cab for me. Wow! Service with a smile, superb accommodations, and a level of sincere kindness and caring rarely seen in the hotel industry!
Dr. Carol Cunningham
State Medical Director
Ohio Department of Public Safety, Division of EMS

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi DocMaynard,

Thanks so much for your review!

Seems like you just had an AWESOME stay! While there were so many things to acknowledge, my favorite were your comments about our staff. They really went above and beyond.

Hope to see you soon.

TAXI!
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

the hotel was clean, sleek and modern and nicely funky. We had a king suite, which was spacious, but a friend in a regular room complained that it was a tad small or "NYC sized". I did not see his room so this is hearsay. The hotel is not located in a place where you can walk to "everything" - you will need a cab or metro to get to tourist sites, but if you know and can navigate DC, this is not a problem. Perfect for conference and business meetings. Gym was paltry but they have an agreement with a healthclub next door.

Room Tip: get upgraded to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi F S,

Appreciate your review!

Thanks for staying at our Hotel. We offer many Room Category options that will increase the square footage and room exposure. My favorite would be the King Premier, which feature panoramic views of Thomas Circle and greater Northwest DC. We encourage our guests to Workout "Like a Local" by having a partnership in place with Balance Gym, which allows out guests discounted memberships.

Take Care,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had high hopes for the Donovan House considering it is one of the newest additions to the Kimpton brand. While certain aspects of my stay were great, overall I didn't find the Donovan House to represent the typically fantastic Kimpton experience - a first-time Kimpton guest wouldn't know what they were missing!

First, the good: The staff at the Donovan House was great. I stayed at the Donovan House during Hurricane Sandy, and the staff went out of their way to make sure that guests were comfortable and taken care of. The front desk staff were always pleasant and able to take care of requests quickly. The location is also great; it's just a few blocks to the Metro, a great Whole Foods, and some good restaurants, and a bit longer walk to the Mall and to Dupont Circle. The wine reception was fantastic, and even featured a tasty hurricane drink during the worst of Hurricane Sandy.

The not-so-great: The rooms look far too worn for a hotel so recently renovated. The carpet was coming up, the walls were scuffed and chipped, and fixtures in the bathroom were loose or broken. The lighting in the room is very dark. My room lacked the promised "cocoon shower" that was described when I booked the room - not a big deal, but for this and other reasons the room description on the website didn't match the room I was given. There was also a lingering odor of smoke in my room, but I'm not sure whether that was a holdover from the days when the Donovan had smoking floors, or if it was from neighbors violating the no-smoking policy.

For me, the greatness of Kimpton has always been its ability to do the little things well. It's clear that the staff at the Donovan House are trying their best, but more needs to be done to bring the Donovan House up to the standards of the Kimpton brand. I might try the Donovan again some day, but for now I'll stick with other DC-area Kimpton properties.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard-facing room if you're sensitive to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Amanda G,

Thanks so much for your review.

Always appreciate the good, the bad and the ugly. Just to clarify, Kimpton took over Management of the Donovan House just this year and we are working on items to be refreshed in the coming year. We are working on upgrading many elements of the Hotel, to include the Room Condition. Also mentioned, was that you might be interested in returning at some point. I would be happy to personally arrange your stay for you. Feel free to email me at Abe.liao@dononvanhousehotel.com.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend. Very clean hotel, modern interior with a cool swanky lobby. Walking distance to most monuments. The hotel bar/restaurant was very modern (Bill and Emilio of the bar good guys, gave us some knowledge of where to go at night). Happy Hour with Kimpton from 5pm-6pm in the Lobby was nice with free wine and beer. Rooms are very modern with platform bed; however not lit so well. They should add more lighting near the closets. Bathroom has a modern cylindar shower that sticks out into the room with frosted glass for privacy. Great street view from most all rooms as well.

Room Tip: Valet parking at the hotel is $42 per day. Plenty of street parking around hotel, just be concscious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Christopher T,

Thanks so much for your review!

So many positives with your stay. Bill and Emilio are pretty awesome, not to mention the food in Zentan is stellar.

Hope to see you soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.