We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Suite Night Free!
Ranked #40 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Recently stayed at the Kimpton for my birthday and was upgraded to the 14th floor in a king suite. The front desk warned me that it could be noisy due the rooftop bar. We did not have a problem, in fact enjoyed a few cocktails and the view with the younger crowd.

The restaurant downstairs was fantastic for shushing and great waitstaff and bartenders.

I would rate the hotel higher but the furniture showed it's age and was chipped in many spots. Cool hotel if you are looking for a smaller boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello Travel5Va,

Thanks so much for completing a review about your stay!

I too love the 14th Floor. Kind of feels like having private access to the rooftop! Glad you got a chance to experience both the Donovan House Rooftop and Zentan. Both are awesome locations to hang out. I also appreciated your comment about the condition of the Hotel. We are in the process of putting together plans for some refresh items that will dramatically impact the condition of our rooms. More to come!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    253
    108
    33
    13
See reviews for
111
268
47
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was here about 2-3 weeks ago and I had a fabulous time let me tell you!
A gentleman named Darryl from the front desk was so incredibley helpful. We were greeted with such friendliness and sophistication. I was rather impressed with how immaculate the staff and decor was. Anywho, Darry directed us to the rooftop bar where we were just awestruck with the view. The bartenders were so sweet, and I feel I really got my moneys worth in terms of my drinks.
I will never forget the customer service I experienced with Darryl and the bartenders. They made my trip to DC unforgettable.!

Room Tip: Did not stay in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We a quick little intown staycation to celebrate our anniversary and chose the Donovan House this year. It was a wonderful experience. The rooftop pool is great and you can order drinks in the afternoon. The only thing to keep in mind is they don't serve any food until after 5 so you'll want to get lunch somewhere else. The room is great, with a cool little leather nook around the bed. In the evening they have a hosted happy hour. The night we were there it was a really delicious watermelon sangria and a selection of some red and white wines. We went to Zentan for dinner. Great sushi and definitely order the Singapore slaw. Fantastic! The best part of the hotel was the service. They were always, friendly, helpful and went above and beyond. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

It was my boyfriends birthday and all he wanted to to was go to DC! I looked at hotels and went with The Donovan house an I'm really glad I did!
I told them I we celebrating a birthday and they presented us with complimentary drinks and desert, sent a brownie up to our room and made sure we were comfortable through out our stay. The rooms are really cool, contemporary but still very roomy! If you sign up to be a rewards member (which is free!) they give you $10 towards the mini bar, which was also very nice!
The staff was wonderful, I felt like I was staying at the Ritz! Definitely will stay at Kimpton hotels again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we spent 5 nights in donovan house mid july. This was my 5th time staying in donovan house. In previous stays i was always satisfied with the service and the quality of overall room. ı have learnt that they were sold to kimpton hotels last year. In my opinion this change made donovan house more of a regular 4 star hotel than being a boutigue and attentive hotel. I had a feeling that they lost their detail oriented approach existed in my previous visits. however the pool and comfortable rooms will make me give one more try on donovan house on my future visit to dc hoping that my negative feeling was just the bad weather in dc during our visit...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hi Achilles O.

I would love for you to contact me to share more details about your experience. We really feel that we have increased the level of service with things like our complimentary wine hour and free morning coffee and tea service. We have fully empowered the Front Office staff, added Operators and doubled the number of Bellmen. Please let me know how your experience compared to other stays. I hope you will email me at mark.jennings@kimptonhotels.com and i look forward to hearing your suggestions.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was throwing a bachelorette party in DC and decided to stay at the Donovan House b/c of the rooftop pool/bar. We checked in just in time to enjoy the free wine hour which included some fabulous sangria. Unfortunately the rooftop had been rented out for a party and although we were super disappointed, the manager more than made up for it with a discounted room, breakfast and free drinks at the hotel bar.

I will definitely be back. My only advice is to make sure the poll/bar isn't rented out if that is why you want to go.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and had no problem with noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay in. We paid for the king executive but the hotel ended up giving us the Donovan House Suite which was spectacular. I felt like I was living a dream in that hotel room. My fiance set up an amazing proposal and the staff, to say the least, helped him in every way they could. The staff there really is amazing and friendly. They set up the room for the proposal with flowers, candles, champagne, etc. Anything my fiance needed they were ready to help, of course without me knowing anything!
The hotel is gorgeous and we had an amazing view of the circle. The bar/pool on the terrace is definitely fun and trendy.
I would definitely stay here again on our next trip to D.C. It was a memorable trip and the Donovan House hotel and staff made it even better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.