We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for $1 More
Ranked #41 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jackson, TN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed for one night and could not be happier. Location was very good and staff was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    155
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
59
170
33
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very modern hotel with chairs hanging from the ceiling and beautiful decorations. Stayed here as a couple and always booked through Hotel Tonight so the room never cost more than $80. The first time we had a suit on one of the top floors with a view of the square. The shower was incredible with twisted walls and an open entrance. The staff was very helpful, moved quickly and had our room ready on time. The second time was in a smaller room, low lighting, bed low to the ground..very cutting-edge. There is a restaurant and bar inside right to the left of the front desk.

There is valet parking right next to the hotel, otherwise you can find parking on the street if you have 20 minutes to kill.

Room Tip: Book through Hotel Tonight the day of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband. We had to extend our stay last minute for a conference and our original hotel was full. We stayed here for one night. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The room was a bit small. Not much space to turn around (I think we had a queen size room). I liked the location of our original hotel better because it was closer to the convention center and restaurants. However, this hotel has a cool, unique and friendly atmosphere. I would splurge for a bigger room next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for your review, Mango_Trees. While there are a just a few small rooms, we do indeed have many room types that are much larger and with what are likely some of the best hotel room views in DC. I'm sorry you only had one night with us as I would have loved to have you experience our standard deluxe king rooms or one of our many upgrades. If you are returning to DC, please contact me so that I may oversee your room selection myself.

Regards,

Mark Jennings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nice stay, the hotel was clean and modern, but the bed was very hard and a bit uncomfortable. Other than that, nice stay and helpful staff. Very very good location, rour room had a view of Thomas Circl which is right outsid the hotel. Metro station is within walking distance and so is everything else really, you can walk pretty much everywhere, but bring comfortable walking shoes!!! All in all good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc
Address: 1155 14th Street, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donovan House - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.