We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #99 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was the cleanest hotel that I ever experienced. The staff also the friendliest. The carpet in the room was pristine . The bathroom amazingly the cleanest , floor shining. The furniture was a little dated, nicked but nothing to affect the rooms cleanliness. Easy internet connection, accept terms & the internet is connected. The room had a refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. There is a continental breakfast only. It is appointed with the fruit, scrambled eggs, bagels, milk coffee bacon, sausage & the other assorted breakfast items. A shuttle service takes you to union station & returns at various times during the day. Limited seating, so one must sign up for a specific departure. The area isn't the best but you would never know it while a guest. Food nearby is limited, KFC MC Donald's gas stations checkers & a local Hogs on the hill a rib chicken place. All is in walking distance but crossing the street, is another story. Be safe attempting crossing. Drivers are ruthless, even when light indicates time to cross.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear ToeBone; Thank you so much for the great 5 star review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites and the wonderful compliments for our team. We will gladly share your kind remarks with the housekeeping manager and appreciate you recognizing their efforts. Thank you for sharing your tips about walking around and what is in the area. Not everyone is a fan of fast food and we know that, but the Hogs on the Hill is not fast food but great BBQ fast and we recommend it often to our guests for carryout. Thank you again for the very nice review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be your first choice for accommodations the next time you are in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    23
    8
    12
See reviews for
40
24
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel has a wonderful staff and great location! I stayed here for about four days as I attended the Cherry Blossom festival. The staff was very helpful with any question I had and helped me with any concerns as this was my first time visiting the nation's capital. Gabby at the front desk is amazing! She went above and beyond with helping arrange for transportation to the airport.
The rooms are also very clean and the housekeeping staff does a great job with keeping them that way. Breakfast was great and I don't say excellent because one more than one occasion, the kitchen staff took a while to replenish the food. They did an excellent job with making everyone feel welcome for breakfast , otherwise. Overall, I want to say thanks to everyone for making my stay a memorable one! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Andre; Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate you selecting the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC/New York Ave NE, as your place to stay while in town for the Cherry Blossom Festival events. We hope you had the chance to do a lot of sightseeing as there is so many great things to see and do in the city.

We are very pleased that you selected our hotel for your first trip to the Nation's Capitol and had such a great experience. We would like to thank you for the wonderful compliments and kind remarks for Gabby, our housekeeping staff, and the rest of the hotel.

We look forward to being your first choice for accommodations the next time you return to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wonderful Staff!! Went above and beyond the call of duty to accomendate my group of 13 people. Helped lift a girl in a wheelchair into regular cab when no ADA cab showed up. Keri made everything happen for us in located cabs, finding lost luggage and her warm smile and Shawnette what a great guy you are...thanks for making this less stressful and wonderful rooms!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear John; Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review and kind words for our staff. We are very pleased to see that you and your group had a great stay. We want to say how much we appreciate you personally recognizing Keri and Ms. Shawnette for their customer service and care received during your time with us. We take great pride in our guests comfort and customer service is very important to us. We are delighted to see that pride shined during your time as our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are visiting the Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Even with free nights, I wouldn't stay here again! The staff is terrible, very unhelpful and rude. Not what we've come to expect from Marriott hotels. The parking situation doesn't get much better. We drove and got in late only to find no parking. So we had to park in the very back of the lot situated between two massive buses (which we assumed were the free shuttles). This was ridiculous as they charge daily for parking! We were terrified that our car was going to be stolen, broken into or damaged based on the crowd. Never have I felt unsafe in a Marriott hotel until now. The buses that we saw the night before weren't the shuttles. In fact, in our 4 day stay, we never once saw the ONE shuttle but continuously asked the staff about it. First we were told it wasn't running, then another staff member had no idea what we were talking about, then we were told the shuttle only ran 2 times a day, and then told it ran on the half hour. On the last morning while waiting for the shuttle, we asked staff if it had come yet. After asking each of the previous days, the staff informed us that we needed to sign up for it! And then they wouldn't even check for us to see if it had come. The hotel was in a terrible location as well, nowhere near the metro or any other easy modes of transportation. Overall just a horrible experience and I'm shocked that this is even a Marriott hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Danielle; Thank you for reaching out to us and providing your valuable feedback. What you experienced is not typical of the high brand standards that we strive to acheive everyday for every guest. We really take great pride in our hotel and the safety and comfort of our guests and customer service is a critical component of our success, you did not get to see that, in fact you received the exact opposite. The parking lot is shared with a bus company and we understand it was quite full the day you arrived with other patrons as well as the busses. We are sorry to see you could not find a better more convenient place to park, we will ask them to move their along the very back to allow more parking for our guests. We would like to apologize to you for not providing you with an exceptional guest stay and for failing to properly communicate our shuttle services to you. We cannot take back the experience you had, we know that. All we can do is use your feedback to implement immediate changes in the way we communicate with our customers. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Gorgeous hotel!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND! I had the pleasure of staying here for business purposes and I must say my suite was ravishing! I LOVED IT!!! I've stayed at other Fairfield Inn's throughout the country, but none of them compared to this location. The complimentary breakfast was decent. Special thanks to the Manager on Duty - Keri and the Area Manager - Ms. James for making me feel right at home!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review, our team members always strive to always go above & beyond for our guests and we are pleased to see it showed and you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you personally recognizing Keri and Ms. James for their outstanding customer service. Thank you for selecting the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC New York Ave as your place to stay while on business. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Cannot say anything beyond the bathroom was clean. Terrible location--nowhere near any metro. They advertise a shuttle but only offer two rides a day. Do not consider walking anywhere unless you are packing heat. Came home and saw they charged us $40 a night for parking--signing in they tell you it's $15. Spent Saturday at Catholic U--after struggling through horrendous traffic and construction in the area, got back to the hotel and our room had not been cleaned--at 4pm in the afternoon! Poor control of heat and a/c in the room. Walking through the lobby I wondered if we were staying at a Marriott or at a halfway house seeing other residents. Breakfast buffet was acceptable. Two words--Stay away!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest; We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns and bring these to our attention. We take great pride in our hotel from the value our guest receive to the service and amenities that we offer. We work with a very high level of brand standards, this was not evident during your stay and we'd like to apologize for your unpleasant experience. I have brought the parking fee to the attention of the hotel manager and asked them to please look into the higher fee as our parking fee is $15 plus tax. Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had an the inconvenience you faced as our guest. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction for every guest, every day and we did not meet that goal with you. We understand you choose not to stay with us again but we hope you reconsider as some of the issues you encountered were out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel has some good and bad things to it. I was there for 3 nights with family and friends.

Let me tell you about the good things first; the breakfast is great! We loved it. The hotel has big rooms and very clean, a indoor pool and gym.

Now the bad: parking is $15 plus $3 tax. I don't understand why they charge for this fee, because this hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and there is no public transportation near by and the neighborhood doesn't look safe at all. Plus the cars are park in a lot that is open, which is not safe at all. On top of everything the hotel has a sign that says, the hotel is not responsible for any lost or if you car is stolen. Also beds were very uncomfortable and some of the staff were not friendly.

If you are looking for a hotel in the DC city center this is not the one. This hotel is located far from everything and you will drive everywhere. The hotel has a shuttle bus that take you to close metro station, but it's only twice a day, at 8am and 6pm. This time is not convenience when you are a vacation.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guests; We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and pleased to know that you enjoyed the new hot breakfast that the Fairfield Inn offers. The courtesy shuttle was running on a limited service throughout the winter, we are going back to more times effective March 1st. Wanted to mention the parking fee, Washington DC taxes are levied on a variety of items including commercial parking, whether they are open or closed lots, all hotels, restaurants and venues charge different fees and tax on parking throughout the city. While the hotel is not responsible for lost of stolen items from the vehicle, we do monitor the lot and it is secure. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced and know we cannot change the stay you had. We hope you understand many of it was out of our control and would like the chance to welcome you all back again the next time you are in DC. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Address: 2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. The hotel located in northeast, features a modern decor with 126 guest rooms and suites, complimentary hot breakfast and free shuttle service to a limited area. All rooms are equipped for business or leisure with Serta mattresses, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and ample work spaces. Business travelers will enjoy on site meeting space that allows a break away from city traffic. Leisure travelers and families can enjoy the close proximity to Metro which takes visitors to top historic attractions including the Smithsonian Institute's 19 museums, National Mall, Capitol Hill and universities. The hotel is located near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. Top corporations and government agencies surrounding the hotel include ATF, DOD, FBI, USDA, FEMA, DC Government and Department of Homeland Security. We look forward to your arrival at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.