We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #98 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Arlington, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wonderful Staff!! Went above and beyond the call of duty to accomendate my group of 13 people. Helped lift a girl in a wheelchair into regular cab when no ADA cab showed up. Keri made everything happen for us in located cabs, finding lost luggage and her warm smile and Shawnette what a great guy you are...thanks for making this less stressful and wonderful rooms!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear John; Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review and kind words for our staff. We are very pleased to see that you and your group had a great stay. We want to say how much we appreciate you personally recognizing Keri and Ms. Shawnette for their customer service and care received during your time with us. We take great pride in our guests comfort and customer service is very important to us. We are delighted to see that pride shined during your time as our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are visiting the Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    23
    9
    14
See reviews for
45
28
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Even with free nights, I wouldn't stay here again! The staff is terrible, very unhelpful and rude. Not what we've come to expect from Marriott hotels. The parking situation doesn't get much better. We drove and got in late only to find no parking. So we had to park in the very back of the lot situated between two massive buses (which we assumed were the free shuttles). This was ridiculous as they charge daily for parking! We were terrified that our car was going to be stolen, broken into or damaged based on the crowd. Never have I felt unsafe in a Marriott hotel until now. The buses that we saw the night before weren't the shuttles. In fact, in our 4 day stay, we never once saw the ONE shuttle but continuously asked the staff about it. First we were told it wasn't running, then another staff member had no idea what we were talking about, then we were told the shuttle only ran 2 times a day, and then told it ran on the half hour. On the last morning while waiting for the shuttle, we asked staff if it had come yet. After asking each of the previous days, the staff informed us that we needed to sign up for it! And then they wouldn't even check for us to see if it had come. The hotel was in a terrible location as well, nowhere near the metro or any other easy modes of transportation. Overall just a horrible experience and I'm shocked that this is even a Marriott hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Danielle; Thank you for reaching out to us and providing your valuable feedback. What you experienced is not typical of the high brand standards that we strive to acheive everyday for every guest. We really take great pride in our hotel and the safety and comfort of our guests and customer service is a critical component of our success, you did not get to see that, in fact you received the exact opposite. The parking lot is shared with a bus company and we understand it was quite full the day you arrived with other patrons as well as the busses. We are sorry to see you could not find a better more convenient place to park, we will ask them to move their along the very back to allow more parking for our guests. We would like to apologize to you for not providing you with an exceptional guest stay and for failing to properly communicate our shuttle services to you. We cannot take back the experience you had, we know that. All we can do is use your feedback to implement immediate changes in the way we communicate with our customers. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Gorgeous hotel!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND! I had the pleasure of staying here for business purposes and I must say my suite was ravishing! I LOVED IT!!! I've stayed at other Fairfield Inn's throughout the country, but none of them compared to this location. The complimentary breakfast was decent. Special thanks to the Manager on Duty - Keri and the Area Manager - Ms. James for making me feel right at home!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review, our team members always strive to always go above & beyond for our guests and we are pleased to see it showed and you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you personally recognizing Keri and Ms. James for their outstanding customer service. Thank you for selecting the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC New York Ave as your place to stay while on business. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Cannot say anything beyond the bathroom was clean. Terrible location--nowhere near any metro. They advertise a shuttle but only offer two rides a day. Do not consider walking anywhere unless you are packing heat. Came home and saw they charged us $40 a night for parking--signing in they tell you it's $15. Spent Saturday at Catholic U--after struggling through horrendous traffic and construction in the area, got back to the hotel and our room had not been cleaned--at 4pm in the afternoon! Poor control of heat and a/c in the room. Walking through the lobby I wondered if we were staying at a Marriott or at a halfway house seeing other residents. Breakfast buffet was acceptable. Two words--Stay away!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest; We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns and bring these to our attention. We take great pride in our hotel from the value our guest receive to the service and amenities that we offer. We work with a very high level of brand standards, this was not evident during your stay and we'd like to apologize for your unpleasant experience. I have brought the parking fee to the attention of the hotel manager and asked them to please look into the higher fee as our parking fee is $15 plus tax. Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had an the inconvenience you faced as our guest. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction for every guest, every day and we did not meet that goal with you. We understand you choose not to stay with us again but we hope you reconsider as some of the issues you encountered were out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel has some good and bad things to it. I was there for 3 nights with family and friends.

Let me tell you about the good things first; the breakfast is great! We loved it. The hotel has big rooms and very clean, a indoor pool and gym.

Now the bad: parking is $15 plus $3 tax. I don't understand why they charge for this fee, because this hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and there is no public transportation near by and the neighborhood doesn't look safe at all. Plus the cars are park in a lot that is open, which is not safe at all. On top of everything the hotel has a sign that says, the hotel is not responsible for any lost or if you car is stolen. Also beds were very uncomfortable and some of the staff were not friendly.

If you are looking for a hotel in the DC city center this is not the one. This hotel is located far from everything and you will drive everywhere. The hotel has a shuttle bus that take you to close metro station, but it's only twice a day, at 8am and 6pm. This time is not convenience when you are a vacation.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guests; We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and pleased to know that you enjoyed the new hot breakfast that the Fairfield Inn offers. The courtesy shuttle was running on a limited service throughout the winter, we are going back to more times effective March 1st. Wanted to mention the parking fee, Washington DC taxes are levied on a variety of items including commercial parking, whether they are open or closed lots, all hotels, restaurants and venues charge different fees and tax on parking throughout the city. While the hotel is not responsible for lost of stolen items from the vehicle, we do monitor the lot and it is secure. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced and know we cannot change the stay you had. We hope you understand many of it was out of our control and would like the chance to welcome you all back again the next time you are in DC. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Fairfield Inn at NY ave is a very decent hotel. I had to stay there for almost 2 months for work purposes. The front desk and housekeeping staff is awesome and helpful. Breakfast options are also good, the only bad thing is the location. There's nothing really around the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest; Thank you for selecting the Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Ave, Washington DC as your place to stay while in town for business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us. We are delighted to see that your time with us was pleasant and our staff, amenities and services were a good fit for your business and travel needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is obviously pretty new it is in nice shape and my room was quite nice even the bathroom in the lobby was quite nice with some pretty high end tile.

When we checked in my wife asked if they had a pool the answer was yes we have a heated pool. After we checked in we went to the pool the water was dark green and about 60 degrees. The door to the outside at the pool was also jammed open, not giving me a great feeling as the location is not in the best area of DC.

My wife forgot her brush I asked the front desk if they had a comb or brush they said they looked at me kind of puzzled and said they don’t have any.

When we were leaving I checked the room to make sure I did not forget anything and I found a used diaper under one of the bed-skirts as well as a bunch of cookie crumbs.

I went to the front desk and showed them the diaper, the woman apologized profusely. When I told her about the pool and the door jammed open she said that the pool is cleaned twice a day and asked why I did not tell someone that the pool was green and cold last night. I said that if it’s cleaned twice a day they should know it’s green and cold. She said we would not know about the issue if guests did not say anything. I said do they test the water she said yes, than I said how could you test the water not know it’s cold and anyone not walk by and not see that it’s dark green?

She stated to me that if guest don’t tell them that something is wrong how would they know. I said if a manager would walk by the pool they would see that it’s green. If someone would stick their hand in the pool they could tell it’s cold. It was obvious that they turned the pool heater off for the light holiday week and that nobody with a brain had looked at the pool for a few days.

She was nice but it was clear that she did not understand that everything is managements fault and by not making sure that the cleaners clean and that the pool guy does their job they are not doing theirs. She was very nice at all times and gave me a credit for my trouble, but if I owned the property with that large investment I would not be happy with management not taking care of my investment.

Also you can notice lots of little things that are showing wear and tear that can be fixed in minutes but they are choosing not to at this pace the place will be a total dump in five years as an example the soap dispenser in the men’s bathroom is missing one screw so it moves every time you use it. There is already a pretty good mark in the wallpaper where it has been moving. So for 1 stupid screw now they need to wallpaper that one section to make it right where they could have just fixed the screw.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guests; On behalf of the managment and owners of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Northeast, thank you for your honest review and feedback. We greatly appreciate our guests taking the time to report to us what they enjoyed about about their stay and what needs improved upon. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention so we can work closely with maintenance to correct these issues. We will continue our work with the front desk to ensure they are empowred to handle all problems quickly, professionally and with the utmost of care. We will use your feedback to make changes right away for the comfort of our future guests. Because we never want our guests to leave disatisfied, we certainly hope you consider a return visit in the near future to see the changes we have made. Thank you again for being our guest and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Address: 2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. The hotel located in northeast, features a modern decor with 126 guest rooms and suites, complimentary hot breakfast and free shuttle service to a limited area. All rooms are equipped for business or leisure with Serta mattresses, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and ample work spaces. Business travelers will enjoy on site meeting space that allows a break away from city traffic. Leisure travelers and families can enjoy the close proximity to Metro which takes visitors to top historic attractions including the Smithsonian Institute's 19 museums, National Mall, Capitol Hill and universities. The hotel is located near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. Top corporations and government agencies surrounding the hotel include ATF, DOD, FBI, USDA, FEMA, DC Government and Department of Homeland Security. We look forward to your arrival at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.