We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #99 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is a diamond in the rough. Is overall completely enjoyable to my family and I as we traveled to Washington D.C.

Upon arrival, I came into a clean and cozy hotel. The Front Desk Manager, that checked my family and I in, greeted me with a warm and friendly smile. The room was immaculate and smelled wonderful. I dislike like the space where the chair was located in our room 510, it’s really cramped in between the wall and the bed. I had a room with a two queen beds equipped with a microwave oven and a refrigerator. This was excellent for our weekend get a way.
I called downstairs for some cleaning products the morning of my check out for the bathroom. The housekeeper came up within 30 minutes of my call and thoroughly cleansed the bathroom which exceeded my expectation and made my day. The Rector family will return.

Thank you Fairfield Inn & Suites,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We strive to go above and beyond with our guest satisfaction and we couldn't be happier to see that we far exceeded your expectations! It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to having you and your family with us again. Thank you again for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    23
    9
    14
See reviews for
45
28
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed for 2 nights 11th and 12th Dec. staff very helpful and breakfast had a good variety of choices the bedroom was clean and comfortable. shuttle to Union Station was good . The only concern was the lack of food outlets in the area, as we had no transport, we were limited to Kentucky Fried but they had run out of everything that wasn't spicey. so ended up having a sub at the petrol station. not ideal after a long flight from England . A readily available take-away menu that could be recommended would be appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest; We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel, staff, accommodations and services exceeded your expectations. I am sure after a very long flight that you were quite famished! We'd like to apologize for the inconvenience that recommendations for take out or delivery menu's were not available in the Guest Service Directory located in each guest room. We are in the process of revising our directory's to include a few take out menu's. Until the revisions are completed, the menus for local eateries are found at our front desk. Thank you again for your business and it was our pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Yes, I will agree with some others that have left not so good reviews about the area. If you have never been exposed to a "rough neighborhood" than you may be a bit uneasy. But then again the DC area is heavily populated and there are quite a few rundown neighborhoods. But I'm not going to knock the hotel because of it. In fact, this was one of our best hotel stays ever. The hotel staff were all friendly and accommodating to our needs. They were helpful in directing us to area tourist attractions. Everyone we encountered made us feel welcome! As far as the rooms go, the beds and pillows were comfortable; the room was clean and fresh smelling; and the bathroom is big. The fitness room came in handy and had all the necessary essentials. The pool was a little small but we didn't get to use it much anyway. The breakfast is well stocked and there was a staff person in the room every morning to help guests if need be. If you don't mind the 8-10 mile CRAZY (30-40 minutes during rush hours on weekdays) drive to downtown DC I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest; We're so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, felt safe, were comfortable and treated very well by our staff and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about it. We do get unfavorable remarks about the neighborhood as you said that goes with the terriority being in heavily populated area. We truly appreciate you bringing up the finer points from your stay from the comfort of the guest rooms, the delicious breakfast, fitness center, pool and especially our friendly staff! That is what makes our hotel stand tall above the disparaging remarks. I think everyone will agree with you that DC traffic can be quite daunting at times, glad you make it through it! Thank you again for your business and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for one night when our son had surgery at Washington Medstar hospital. It was about 2 miles from the hospital. I made a reservation through their 800 number a few days before the surgery & was glad I did since we checked in after 10 pm. The front desk person, a nice young lady, was very good & took the time to find us a room that was quiet. That was very appreciated!

Our room was a standard room with a king size bed. It had a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, flat screen TV, nice dresser with deep drawers, 2 night stands, clock with docking station, excellent lighting in the bathroom & a hair dryer. It did not have a full length mirror. The breakfast was good & I believe they started serving at 5 am. The one negative is that our room had a fragrance smell that did not dissipate. I am not a fan of fragrances. Many fragrances cause my head to become congested. Fortunately this one did not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review about your stay. We are delighted that the room and amenities were too your liking. We appreciate the feedback in reference to the fragrance and will ask our housekeeping staff to use a lighter spray in the rooms when cleaning as we need to understand that some guests are more sensitive to the cleaning products used than others. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us while in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I will be objective about this place. Let's start with the negatives:

*Location sucks. Bad. We were here for a conference at the convention center in Mt. Vernon. We drove. Never again ghostwriter. Traffic drains the living life out of your mind, body, and soul. I see why the shuttle doesn't operate between noon and 5. (or at all) We never got a chance to ride it because the times we needed it, it wasn't active. I did like the Checkers across the street! If you aren't used to the low income hood energy, then this gentrified sections will scare you. lol. Also, we soon found that Stadium Nightclub is right around the corner though. Nice! Nevertheless, we cancelled our stay earlier and went elsewhere because getting to this place was just a hassle via shuttle or taxi. Otherwise things were great.


Postives:

*The facility is really nice. Clean modern. Rooms are real nice. Shower was great. No complaints. The front desk workers are still a bit new and disoriented, but overall I have no complaints about the aesthetics and feel of the place. It is nice and felt new, clean, and excellent.

I would consider staying here again, if I weren't there for a conference. The location just sucks for the convention center. (a long drawn out 2.5 miles. lol)

Room Tip: Go to Stadium Nightclub around the corner. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback on what you did and did not enjoy about your stay. We do offer the complimentary shuttle in the morning and in the evenings and try to schedule it according to those peak times that our guests requested to assist them in getting to & from their meetings. At times that schedule is not ideal for everyone and we certainly do apologize you were not able to utilize that during your stay. We look forward to having you back with us again and thank you again for the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I checked in late and the Night Manager was very professional. Room smelled fresh and clean. Extra towels were placed in my room as I had requested. The breakfast buffet was stocked with several healthy options. The room was quiet and beds were comfortable. I used the free shuttle to the Convention Center.

Room Tip: Free Shuttle service to Convention Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest; thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again the next time you are in Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night while visiting White House and G'Town Univ.
Room was clean and spacious. View of parking lot didn't bother me.
Walking distance from several cafes, restaurants, and Georgetown campus. Very charming neighborhood.
Room rate was very fair also.
Served its purpose very well.
Btw-- the full breakfast was great-- tradtional hot and cold fare with some biscuits and gravy thrown in to let you know you are south of the Mason Dixon Line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest; We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Ave DC. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the compliments. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you through DC again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Address: 2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. The hotel located in northeast, features a modern decor with 126 guest rooms and suites, complimentary hot breakfast and free shuttle service to a limited area. All rooms are equipped for business or leisure with Serta mattresses, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and ample work spaces. Business travelers will enjoy on site meeting space that allows a break away from city traffic. Leisure travelers and families can enjoy the close proximity to Metro which takes visitors to top historic attractions including the Smithsonian Institute's 19 museums, National Mall, Capitol Hill and universities. The hotel is located near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. Top corporations and government agencies surrounding the hotel include ATF, DOD, FBI, USDA, FEMA, DC Government and Department of Homeland Security. We look forward to your arrival at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.