We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummm, this is a hard one. Can I do a 3.5 instead?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #99 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ummm, this is a hard one. Can I do a 3.5 instead?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I will be objective about this place. Let's start with the negatives:

*Location sucks. Bad. We were here for a conference at the convention center in Mt. Vernon. We drove. Never again ghostwriter. Traffic drains the living life out of your mind, body, and soul. I see why the shuttle doesn't operate between noon and 5. (or at all) We never got a chance to ride it because the times we needed it, it wasn't active. I did like the Checkers across the street! If you aren't used to the low income hood energy, then this gentrified sections will scare you. lol. Also, we soon found that Stadium Nightclub is right around the corner though. Nice! Nevertheless, we cancelled our stay earlier and went elsewhere because getting to this place was just a hassle via shuttle or taxi. Otherwise things were great.


Postives:

*The facility is really nice. Clean modern. Rooms are real nice. Shower was great. No complaints. The front desk workers are still a bit new and disoriented, but overall I have no complaints about the aesthetics and feel of the place. It is nice and felt new, clean, and excellent.

I would consider staying here again, if I weren't there for a conference. The location just sucks for the convention center. (a long drawn out 2.5 miles. lol)

Room Tip: Go to Stadium Nightclub around the corner. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback on what you did and did not enjoy about your stay. We do offer the complimentary shuttle in the morning and in the evenings and try to schedule it according to those peak times that our guests requested to assist them in getting to & from their meetings. At times that schedule is not ideal for everyone and we certainly do apologize you were not able to utilize that during your stay. We look forward to having you back with us again and thank you again for the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
41
25
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I checked in late and the Night Manager was very professional. Room smelled fresh and clean. Extra towels were placed in my room as I had requested. The breakfast buffet was stocked with several healthy options. The room was quiet and beds were comfortable. I used the free shuttle to the Convention Center.

Room Tip: Free Shuttle service to Convention Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest; thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again the next time you are in Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night while visiting White House and G'Town Univ.
Room was clean and spacious. View of parking lot didn't bother me.
Walking distance from several cafes, restaurants, and Georgetown campus. Very charming neighborhood.
Room rate was very fair also.
Served its purpose very well.
Btw-- the full breakfast was great-- tradtional hot and cold fare with some biscuits and gravy thrown in to let you know you are south of the Mason Dixon Line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest; We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Ave DC. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the compliments. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you through DC again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed there while visitng a family member at Washington Hospital Center. We had been in the hospital for two days with an emergency and a nurse suggested we try this hotel as it was located somewhat close by. The room was a little small but we just needed sleep. I travel quite a lot for work and stay mostly at Hilton properties. The bed was comfortable but the room was not very clean. This is the first hotel I've stayed in that only left one soap and one shampoo out for guests. I never use them but as this was an unexpected emergency visit.............. Our room was also missing a blow dryer so we called the front dest to get one and NEVER did receive it. The Contiental breakfast was food.. not the best but served the purpose. The hotel offered a free shuttle to the hosptial which was the main reason we stayed there however, it was always late and very unpredictable. We waited one night at the hospital for 40 minutes past the time we were told for a ride back to the hospital. There was one front dest young lady that was very helpful, and friendly.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I would like to take a moment, on behalf of the hotel, to express my thanks to our guest for sharing their thoughts and experiences regarding their recent stay as we continue to build upon providing a positive experience for every guest that chooses to stay with us. We certainly regret that we failed in providing this guest a relaxing and pleasant stay while they were in town visiting a hospitalized relative. Having worked with our surrounding hospitals since opening, we continue to refine the ways in which we serve each guests unique needs, whether through providing shuttle service to/from the hospital or by simply providing a clean, comfortable room at our hospital guest rate. In this particular instance, it seems as though we let our guest down with the timeliness of shuttle pick-up at the hospital in addition to not properly ensuring their room was cleaned to the highest standards prior to checking them in. These deificiencies will certainly be addressed so that future guests will not experience this shortfall on our part. Again, thank you for expressing your thoughts and concerns as well as your praise of Keri, our front office manager for her dedicated service during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

NY Ave at Bladensburg used to be a scary neighborhood in DC around 1990s, second class motels and not much available. That has changed and I highly recommend the Fairfield Inn here. There are two properties adjoining, a Holiday Inn Express and Fairfield; the area is well loghted and secure, set well back from the road.
We were upgraded to a minisuite, parking charge was much more reasonable than more downtown locations ($15 v $33 at the Courtyard on NY and Fla) The price was reasonable at about $105 plus tax and parking. We have stayed at Courtyard Navy Yard, Courtyard at NY and Fla and in Pentagon City. This was much better for our needs and much more reasonably priced
Excellent free wifi, good breakfast.
Only negative is that it is not convenient to the Metro. If you are here as a tourist, headed to the Mall and sites, you will have to drive. Our visit was for family, just a 10 minute drive to Rhode Island Ave.
Not fancy but a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from NY Ave. Although set well back from the street, it is busy and there is som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear QuikAg80; Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites, NY Ave. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we exceeed your expectations. The area has gone through a surge of economic development and revitalization over the years and we appreciate your feedback on that. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to having you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel itself was clean the staff was mostly friendly but this hotel is not Downtown. As a matter of fact it is almost out of town. After an 8 hour drive all we wanted was to sit down to a nice dinner. There is a Checkers and take out rib place across from the hotel, but no where else to eat. When I asked if there was a restaurant to walk to, the clerk at the desk said something like, "I wouldn't walk around here." They told me there was shuttle service to Union Square (about 15 min ride) but it was extremely limited and difficult to get even with one hour notice. We got lucky and managed to get immediately on a shuttle that was not full even though the desk clerk had told us there were no seats available for an hour and a half. Also the shuttle does not run between noon and 5 meaning the next day we had to take a very harrowing cab ride back to the hotel to get ready for evening plans that we had. The cab drivers are reluctant to take passengers to the hotel because it is out of the way and they do not get a return fair. We met people on the shuttle the night before, when it was pouring rain, that could not find a cab driver willing take them to the hotel. We were lucky to find a cab that was willing to take us. The next day we had to take an 8:30am shuttle and wait around for the museums to open. If you stay at this hotel make sure you book your shuttles with plenty of time maybe even the day before or take your chances that you will find parking and it is not too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Bonnie; I would like to personally thank you for taking time to let us know what you enjoyed and did not enjoy about your recent stay. The focus of our hotel has always been safety and security of all our guests as well as providing excellent customer service. We apologize that we did not meet all of that criteria with you. We do take all feed back to heart and this will help us to continue to focus on improving. We do hope that you will return again. Please do not hesitate to call us directly if you have any questions about future stays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel was clean, and up-to-date. The gym is small but functional. There is a small pool and jacuzzi that I didn't use.
Problems are the shuttle is limited 8 am- 12 pm, 5 pm-10:45 pm. It goes to union station. Sometimes it is very efficient in a nice van, one time the van (shared with holiday inn) was crowded and standing room only. (imagine that driving through downtown dc) Staff ranged from indifferent to good. Continental breakfast is ok. There is no room service or on-site restaurant so you have to do take-out. The neighborhood is not great- would not recommend walking too much around esp at night although I felt hotel was perfectly safe. I might be worried if my car was parked in the lot.
The biggest issue is not the hotel itself but location. It costs around $17-20 in taxi to get from hotel to union station or smithsonian museums. If you don't get shuttle and you go back and forth on day trips with cab, you might as well pay for higher end hotel closer to attractions. The Metro is NOT close enough to use for this hotel. More practically, take shuttle to union station and take metro.
Don't get swayed by Marriet label, this is a modest hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback you offered and apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Safety and comfort of our guests is of utmost importantance to us and we take all reviews and comments seriously as a way for us to improve on areas we can. The hotel is a bit off the main streets of DC, but a nice break and affordable to those that like to stay away from the busy pace of the Capital and surronding areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue

Address: 2305 New York Avenue NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. The hotel located in northeast, features a modern decor with 126 guest rooms and suites, complimentary hot breakfast and free shuttle service to a limited area. All rooms are equipped for business or leisure with Serta mattresses, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and ample work spaces. Business travelers will enjoy on site meeting space that allows a break away from city traffic. Leisure travelers and families can enjoy the close proximity to Metro which takes visitors to top historic attractions including the Smithsonian Institute's 19 museums, National Mall, Capitol Hill and universities. The hotel is located near Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. Top corporations and government agencies surrounding the hotel include ATF, DOD, FBI, USDA, FEMA, DC Government and Department of Homeland Security. We look forward to your arrival at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington DC, New York Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, Dc/New York Avenue Hotel Washington Dc
Fairfield Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/New York Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;