We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Hilton to your Saves list
Washington Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking 54% Off
Ranked #89 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
DFW
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and had no complaints. This was the second time I stayed here. The room was quiet and comfortable and had all necessary amenities. There are a couple of places to eat in the hotel plus a take out coffee shop. Best of all is the location. It's just a couple of blocks to Dupont Circle and the Metro and also close to Adams Morgan and the U Street area. We were able to walk to quiet a few places for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review! Our location allows our guests to walk to so many great places in the neighborhood that you really get a true DC experience. Thanks for coming back and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    919
    429
    139
    61
See reviews for
380
418
131
897
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The service was fantastic, the room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. It in a safe, friendly neighbourhood close to the Dupont Circle Metro station as well as plenty of places to eat or have a few drinks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks so much for that great review! You hit on the many reasons why our guests love the Washington Hilton. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just a few blocks from Dupont Circle Metro stop and near all the great food you could want. This historic hotel has large outdoor areas, a great work out room and a large outdoor pool. The rooms are nicely appointed but the beds and pillows are "Hilton" standard and that is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks so much for the review Ryan! Our location is great and there are indeed many great restaurants right outside our doors. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had a good stay at the Washington Hilton with the exception of the persons next door. I could hear every word spoken and even the intimate actions in the room next door. The room service was very good. The locaton of the hotel was good. I was happy to be able to control the room temperature becasue the weather did change.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton! We are so grateful for your review and I'm happy to read you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to you returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton and we were pleasantly surprised - from the outside it looks like a big unfriendly corporate hotel and yes whilst it clearly caters for the business person (and there were certainly a few conferences on for our week's stay) we were not made to feel out of place and we were welcomed by some lovely door and reception staff.

This was our first time in Washington and the Hilton provided the perfect base for sight seeing - it is at the top of Connecticut Avenue and we did find the walk up the hill a little tiring after a day wandering round all the sights but the room was comfy, with a decent sized bed and round the back of the hotel which was way from the noisy traffic - so we were able to relax and sleep off the jet lag in peace.

The only downside to our room was the strange light near the light switch in the bathroom which we could not switch off...we ended up fashioning a cover for it using a towel!!

Even though we stayed at the end of September the pool outside was still open and we had great weather so made use of it - even though the water was a little cold for my liking.

No free WIFI in the room so you have to use the free wifi in the lobby bar, (note that it is only available in the bar and nowhere else in the hotel including outside on the terrace and sports bar)This was a bit of a let down as it meant everytime we wanted to research our plans we had to trek downstairs. In this day and age, the big hotels should offer free wifi to paying guests.

There are some great restaurants nearby and it didn't take long to get to the National Mall, approx 45 mins by foot.

All in all a great stay, good hotel with lovely staff - please just sort out the wifi!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton! Glad you enjoyed your first trip to Washington! We look forward to you returning soon and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Girlfriend and I stayed there for our convention. Received a very reasonable group rate. Clean, updated and centrally located. Can walk to any kind of restaurant and museum. Main DC attractions are outside of walking distance. Lots of nostalgia associated with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton! We want our guests to feel valued and provide them a good value for their stay. Great to see we accomplished both, please return on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is literally the ugliest hotel I have ever seen. It combines all the worst elements of 60s/70s architecture. When we arrived, the room wasn't available. No offer of 'free drinks while you wait' or anything. I did overhear one of the 'members' getting an identical room, right away, in the next lane, though. So, if you like being treated like a second-class citizen, this may be the place for you. Then we bought the overpriced wifi only to find out they charge per device - we had to buy it separately for each of our laptops and pay double. Then some random hotel staff person tapped on the door and immediately barged in without waiting to 'see if the room was okay.' Well, it's small, smells funny, the lamp shade has a stain on it, and some of the upholstery is literally coming apart at the seams, soooooo - it's crap, actually, thanks for asking. Exactly what you would expect from a hotel owned by the family that gave the world Paris Hilton. I will not stay in a hilton hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for all of the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. We appreciate your comments and we will address our staff to ensure that the necessary improvements are made. Again, we are very sorry for all of the issues and if there is anything we can do for you, please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.