We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hilton.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Hilton to your Saves list
Washington Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99!
Ranked #83 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
East Coast USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's a Hilton.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Disclosure, I am in the international travel business. This means that I stay in 30 or more hotels every year. We attended a banquet dinner here and decided to spend the night. Verdict,,, it's a Hilton. A perfectly fine, clean, well located 4-star convention-style hotel. The banquet food and service were just right. Room was comfortable, although the bathroom is a bit on the small side, but this is at least a 40 year old building, and in the day bathrooms were smaller. If you're looking for a nice stay in DC at reasonable prices with good service and 6 blocks or so from Dupont Circle metro, it will work out well for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We appreciate your candor when reviewing our hotel. We are pleased you decided to spend the night after your dinner and that you enjoyed the banquet, as well as your room. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    839
    377
    119
    49
See reviews for
342
389
119
781
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I live in the area and would not normally have the need for a hotel downtown, but this made things easier to finish registering for the walk and getting to the starting point of the Washington Monument. The staff was wonderful and the food at dinner was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of the Hilton Washington. It was our pleasure to host the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer and we are glad you chose to stay with us during the event. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times in recent years during business trips to Washington, DC. It is a big city hotel with lots of rooms and it has the biggest ballroom in the city, so there are lots of high profile events held here. Unfortunately, the hotel was built in an era when rooms were very small and that is the case here. The hotel has had a recent refresh - both public spaces and rooms, so it doesn't look as tired as it has in the past. No or very little cell coverage in the meeting spaces. Wifi good in the rooms. If you're an AT&T subscriber you get complimentary wifi.

Convenient to Dupont Circle and Metro. Easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars in the 17th and 18th street area. Note that cabs can be in short supply first thing in the morning when the business crowd is heading out for the day. The cab line can get long so plan a little extra time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We appreciate your continued business and loyalty to the Hilton brand. Thank you for providing the recommendation to other reader’s about the cab line in the morning! We look forward to hosting you on your next business trip in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The staff in the Hilton are very pleasant and helpful. Great location within walking distance to Dupont Circle Metro. Nice amenities. Nice bar. There is a WiFi in the lobby but in the room you have to pay. The price is 13.95 for one day. Beds very comfortable. I had a room on the 6th floor with a wonderful view of the city. I would stay here again. Found a price for 2 double beds for 96$ on hotwire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review and recommendation! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Washington Hilton and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our 2nd stay and overall a pleasant experience at a well situated hotel. Close to restaurants and a short ride to the excellent area of Georgetown. Very nice lounge and bar area and very comfortable beds.. Will recommend to anyone on a visit to Washington

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review and recommendation of the Washington Hilton! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our lounge and the nearby Georgetown neighborhood. We appreciate your loyalty and continued business, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent a week here in May 2013. This place is very busy. It has one of the largest ballrooms in the city, so day after day were large groups of many thousands coming and going. Twice in one week, VP Biden came to the hotel. That's all very exciting until the Secret Service closes all of the driveways and there are bomb sniffing dogs running around the entire hotel.

The rooms are typical average four-star quality. Housekeeping was excellent. The rooms are fairly recently refurbished, clean and comfortable, with some creature comforts.

Many choices for restaurants in and around the surrounding Dupont Circle area.

On property dining choices are limited, of poor value, and pretty mediocre.

Wi-Fi was excellent.

If you are here out of necessity as a meeting venue, but have a have a choice, try to get a room away from Connecticut Avenue, as it is very noisy in the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Connecticut Avenue, as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. It was our pleasure to provide you with excellent housekeeping service, and the compliment will be passed on to the department. We apologize for the inconvenience during Vice President Biden's visit. It is a top priority to the hotel to make sure all visitors and guests are safe. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford DE
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed @ Hilton for a conference. Accommodations are more than adequate. Cell phone reception in the hotel was poor ( not only one carrier). Valet parking very convenient. Check in clerk was most pleasant.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your conference. It was our pleasure to provide you with a convenient and pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.