We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conventions is the game here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Hilton to your Saves list
Washington Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99!
Ranked #84 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Bauchi, Nigeria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Conventions is the game here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Washington Hilton is large; conventions are the game here, so expect it to be often busy and pricey.

Rooms are comfortable, clean, modern and well appointed with great views, especially at night, from the upper floors, looking down Connecticut Ave and facing the Washington Monument but an extended stay here would be too tight for me.

Wi-Fi in the hotel is great and available throughout the rooms, restaurants and free in the common areas of the lobby. As a Hilton Honors Member, it is complimentary. There is also a complimentary computer area (2 Apple and 2 PC) in the lobby (15 minute limit) where you can check email, flight details or print boarding passes.

The pool has been downsized from what it used to be but in the summer in DC any pool can be a relief. Short 5 minute drive to the National Zoo a good walk about a half hour north from the hotel but walking not recommended in the heat of July and August, catch a bus outside the hotel a few stops up Connecticut Ave.

The hotel lacks a business center, a quiet place to work from other than in the room. What they do have is an on-site FedEx office that serves as their business center. You pay by the minute to use the computer at one of two carrels with little privacy. From a business perspective an onsite FedEx office might be a plus until your find out there is a premium added to the FedEx shipping charge for that benefit. In my case it was an additional $10 dollars to the bottom line. Fortunately there is a US Post Office branch literally across the street should you need to ship anything while on business.

Location is great, there are so many restaurants, coffee shops and night spots in the Dupont Circle area and the hotel is located a short walk from the Adams Morgan neighborhood of DC (Google it). The Metro at Dupont will get you anywhere in the city or to National Airport and across the Potomac to Virginia. I find it the best way to get around the city. Tour buses, open top, double-deck and Trolley Tours stop just outside the hotel making it easy to see the city even if you only have a couple of nights in town.

Clean, quiet and convenient - in the heart of DC that doesn't come cheaply but there are deals to be found at this hotel at certain times of year.

Room Tip: Hilton Honors 10th floor even numbered rooms provide the view of the Washington Monument. Executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your candor about our facility, amenities, and neighborhood. The view of the Washington Monument from select guestrooms is wonderful, and our location between DuPont Circle and Adams Morgan offers great access to many offsite activities. We look forward to you returning to the hotel on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    841
    377
    119
    50
See reviews for
345
391
120
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were here for a large conference and getting around was very easy. There are clear maps on each floor to direct you to the rooms. The staff is very nice and courteous and our room was large and comfortable. My only reservation is a bathroom with a glass door which isn't as private as I would like. The hotel is on CT avenue and an easy walk to Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Washington Hilton the next time your travels bring you back to D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great staff, comfortable rooms and excellent facility for large groups. Hotel food is really good here. The bar can get a little crowded at times when there is a large convention at the hotel. Service at the bar is slow at times. Great restaurants near the hotel within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We take pride in the services and food we provide our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel was average quality with above average price. Room service food was above average. Bar was ok. Concierge was great! But, the maid stole my cuff links and button studs for my tux shirt. The hotel has agreed to reimburse me, but I don't think I would stay here by choice again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It seems that hotel management was quick to rectify the situation. We hope that the next time you are in Washington, D.C., you will reconsider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Washington Hilton is everything you expect from a good hotel - nice clean room, comfortable bed, good facilities. But this is a large conference hotel and is not convenient to any of the main attractions and when i was there it seemed to draw primarily conference attendees and i think that is probably the best use of it. For tourists i would stay closer to the Mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of the Washington Hilton. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you are back in the city, we encourage you to check out the attractions in our neighborhood; from the restaurants, and nightlife, to The National Zoo . We are also half a mile from the DuPont Metro, making getting to other places in DC easy. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very pleased with our stay here. The Hotel is spacious and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. If I have to be picky, the air conditioning fan may disturb light sleepers but overall no complaints. Even better, the desk comp'd us free WiFi access in our room for our two week stay. As you would expect, the services available are plenty, for recreation there is an outdoor pool , for eating and drinking, there are a couple of decent restaurants and the bar does a good selection of beers (nice food available in the bar too).
The location is just up from DuPont Circle which means if you're going to DC to see the sights (Smithsonian museums, etc. you're probably going to have to take the metro - inexpensive and just a few stops, or take a cab). Having said that, I was there in September, the weather was fine and I walked back on some evenings (about 2 miles from e.g. The Whitehouse). If you fancy going out in the evening, there are plenty of good restaurants and bars just a few hundred yards away. Also, the trolleytours buses make a stop at the hotel if you want to do a DC tour from the doorstep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHawkinsCH, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We are pleased that you and your companions enjoyed your stay during your visit to the city from the UK. I will make sure that your comments regarding your stay and the hotel facilities are shared with the team. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from celebrating the 2013 Inauguration in D.C. and spent five nights at this great hotel with my family. It's my understanding that this property recently underwent a renovation and it definitely shows. It's a beautiful property, very well kept, warm and inviting. You can definitely tell it is a business class hotel. From the moment we checked in to the time we departed, we were treated wonderfully by every member of the hotel staff we encountered. I'm a Diamond member and was given a room on the 8th floor and everyone in my party was given access to the executive lounge on the 10th. It was a busy weekend, so I don't think I got the upgrade that I would ordinarily received as a Diamond, especially since I checked in very late. There were four of us (full size adults) in a standard two-double bed room. It was rather cramped and the bathroom was not nearly big enough to accommodate more than one person at a time. Given that we were thrilled just to be there for this historic event, we made do. However if I were to stay here for any other reason at any other time, I would have made an effort to get a better upgrade. We really were only in the room to sleep, so it wasn't all that bad. I will say that completely unprompted, the front desk staff did offer to move us to a bigger room for our last night, but we didn't want to pack up our things and move.
There are a couple of things to be aware of if you plan to stay here. The nearest Metro stop is in Dupont Circle. By my calculations (which aren't based on any science at all) it's about 1/4 - 1/2 mile walk to the station. It's not a bad walk, but in inclement weather (i.e. rain, wind, snow, cold) it will start to wear on you after awhile. It was so cold during our stay, that the last two days we ended up taking a cab back to the hotel in the evening rather than walk in sub-freezing temps. Also, if you take the Metro, be sure to exit at Q Street N not Dupont Circle South. The Q Street exit is closer to where you want to be if you are going back to the hotel.
The lobby bar doesn't stay open past 7 pm on weekdays. We went down to grab a drink after a long day of sightseeing and were surprised to find out the lobby bar was closed. The sports bar (McClellans) is open late though and they don't mind if you order your drinks at the bar and take them into the lobby bar area to drink. We ate one night at TDL, the hotel restaurant because we were too tired/cold to venture out. The food was just okay and the service was mediocre. The 5-cheese Mac and Cheese is not worth the price. It's very bland and not at all extraordinary. If you must have some, I suggest you order the side, not the entree. Fortunately, that is what we did. I would have been really upset if I spent $22 on the entree.
There is a Coffee Bean in the lobby that opens early and closes at 7. If you are a Diamond you will have access to the executive lounge on the 10th floor. They serve breakfast in the morning and snacks in the evening. It's actually a good deal for breakfast, especially if you aren't a big breakfast eater. Mostly continental options (toast, pastries, croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee/tea/juice) and not many places to sit. We learned quickly that you can bring food back to your room and if you take the tray that comes underneath your ice bucket or coffee maker, you can carry more than one item back.
Overall the stay at this hotel was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again. A little piece of hotel trivia: The Washington Hilton is where President Regan was shot. I believe it was outside of the T street entrance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHawkinsCH, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We are pleased that you and your companions enjoyed your stay during your visit to the city for inauguration. I will make sure that your comments regarding your stay are shared with the team. Thank you again for staying with us and your continued loyalty to Hilton. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.