We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouse at breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Hilton to your Saves list
Washington Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Pre-Sale: $99/nt
Ranked #91 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mouse at breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed this past weekend at this Hilton for the first time. Although I rarely write reviews on anything I had to make others aware of this situation. Eating breakfast on 12/29/12 I watched as a mouse ran along under several tables. I was able to take a picture to show the wait staff who did not seem surprised. Also notified the front desk so they could do something as well. Hopefully they can fix the problem, otherwise decent hotel....despite thin walls.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent experience. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and have addressed the situation. Thank you again for the review and hope we may have the opportunity to serve again you should you travels bring you to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    1,012
    485
    158
    65
See reviews for
464
473
142
964
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Washington Hilton is in a very good location to either walk or take a quick taxi to most all sights in DC. It is located in the Embassy District where many of the embassies are found. It is also an easy walk to Georgetown for shopping, drinking, eating. There are two Starbucks within a few blocks; several bookstores, and many good places to eat. The closest subway stop is only about four/five blocks located at DuPont Circle. So the hotel is in a good location.
Pros: location, value for money, good friendly service, quiet rooms, comfortable bed, complimentary wifi, close to sites, food, two pharmacies, snack places
Cons: breakfast is extremely expensive!!!!, room temp was never comfortable and couldn't be controlled (last night I discovered I could open window which let in some cool air), not very much bathroom counter space, not very many tv channels. No minibar.

Overall, I got a very good rate, so the hotel was an excellent value with many good aspects. My only true negative is the inability to regulate room temp and the overpriced breakfast buffet

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and or close to the elevator. The halls are abnormally long so getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHawkinsCH, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Washington Hilton. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Service is something we pride ourselves on and we enjoy receiving feedback on how well we have done. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found this hotel to be a great base for a long weekend in D.C. The staff are all very service oriented. Demeanor and helpfulness was universally excellent, and that can really make the difference as it does here.

The location of this hotel is slightly out of the way. If you're looking to use the Metro, the nearest station is about a block and a half away. In the cold of December, that can get a little tiresome, but its not a 'deal breaker'. The bus tour companies both will come right to the hotel. We did a night tour and were taken to and from our hotel. One unfortunate thing is that this hotel being a little out of the way meant we were the last ones dropped off at our hotel, which added at least an hour of just riding around dropping others off.

If you're going to be driving around the $40/night valet parking is responsive and convenient - if a little pricey. But this is a city and parking tends to be expensive in cities.

The two restaurants are ok. There is pretty large selection of places to eat within 3 to 4 blocks, Dupont Circle being 2 blocks away.

All in all, a great stay, recommended for a visit to D.C. no matter the reason for your trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHawkinsCH, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Washington Hilton. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Great service is something we pride ourselves on and it is always good to hear that we are providing our guests with just that! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Washington DC .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip and really enjoyed myself. The room was very nice and clean. I slept great. The food was DELICIOUS, the Grab n Go Market, Room Service, Lounge and Catering, all was wonderful! Service...top notch. I will be staying here every time I come back to DC. And thanks for the great view of the Washington Monument.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHawkinsCH, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Washington Hilton. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the many dining within the hotel. Great service is something we pride ourselves on and it is always good to hear that we are providing just that. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Washington DC .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A grand old Hilton showing signs of ageing. Low pressure water in the bathroom,small room on the HHonors floor and, for Gold card members, a somewhat skimpy breakfast with the main dining area off limits.

Far better to stay at a DoubleTree or Hampton Inn where the value is considerably better.

Room Tip: Stay near DCA or IAD (Wash airports) for much better value unless you need to be closer to the Capit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanHawkinsCH, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your candid feedback. We're sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and your comments will help us to correct these issues. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you travel brings you to Washington DC so that you can experience the level of service we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Recently we stayed in the Hilton Berlin. Talk about chalk and cheese! The room in DC was smaller and overall the atmosphere of the place just seemed a little distant. Now to be fair, we did have a problem and the management were extremely generous in sorting it, and all of the staff were polite and welcoming. McLennans bar was busy and atmospheric, and the food was OK. As we walked around DC and spotted other Hiltons, I still wondered if I'd made the wrong choice. However my wife was convinced that the proximity to the zoo, Adams Morgan, the subway and, if you like walking, everything else, made it perfect. Having booked as part of an airline package, I don't know if it was value for money, and didn't try the breakfast or formal eating in the evening. I guess, overall, as a base for a family trip, it was perfectly adequate, it just had nothing outstanding to promote it. As my 12 year old son said, 'just a nice hotel, no wow factor'

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton. Our proximity to the National Zoo and metro certainly attract many visitors. We pride ourselves on being a premiere Hilton and it sounds as though our management team was very accommodating. We hope you're return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidAtlantic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Everything was flawless from check-in, to attending my meetings, to service from the staff. The room was clean and well maintained. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The DC market overall is expensive; this hotel is in-line with every other full service hotel, just expect to pay if you're coming to DC in season. Rates are much lower off season.

Room Tip: Higher floors eliminate a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing the Washington Hilton! Your review was a pleasure to read and we thank you for your patronage. We look forward to you returning to the hotel on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#81 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#27 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,113 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#81 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.