We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Hilton to your Saves list
Washington Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99!
Ranked #84 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
MidAtlantic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Everything was flawless from check-in, to attending my meetings, to service from the staff. The room was clean and well maintained. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The DC market overall is expensive; this hotel is in-line with every other full service hotel, just expect to pay if you're coming to DC in season. Rates are much lower off season.

Room Tip: Higher floors eliminate a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing the Washington Hilton! Your review was a pleasure to read and we thank you for your patronage. We look forward to you returning to the hotel on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    837
    373
    117
    49
See reviews for
339
388
118
775
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Location: The location was very good as it was located close to lots of restaurants and night life. It was practical as it is a couple minutes walk to the metro. From there you can easily access all the national monuments/buildings. We went for independence day, so it was a busy week.

Room: The room is alright, it is one of the older hiltons, but it did the job.

Service: Did not require much help during the trip as we had everything planned out, but from what I remember check-in and check-out were a breeze. Self-parking is available but is pretty expensive.

Room Tip: Priceline it for a good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. Our location in historic Dupont Circle makes our hotel a great choice for our guests. So great to hear you found it so convenient. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice, but overpriced for its location and amenities. For someone coming in town for a few meetings, it worked ok. I'm against hotels that still charge for internet; luckily they gave me free internet access to make up for first being placed in a smoky room (non-smoking requested). I didn't try the restaurants on-site; there are quite a few good restaurants within a block or two walking distance. It is a brisk 10 minute walk/trot to the Dupont metro station; luckily there are two starbucks along the way!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. Our proximity to many of DC's best restaurants is a true draw and it's great you got to experience them. The two Starbuck's are a treat as well. We hope you'll return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you like small rooms at a high price with not a lot of amenities the Hilton is the place for you. Located near Dupont Circle and Embassy Row the hotel is centrally located but does not offer alot other than its location. I was there recently for a business seminar and felt that overall it was average. I expected more from a Hilton but found it to be average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton. Our location certainly allows us to stand out from our competition, but we pride ourselves in being a hotel that overall exceeds our customers expectations. Please return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC and allow us to show you we are a top notch DC hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I am a Diamond member who lives close to DC and once in a while, on weekends, we spend the night in the city. We have stayed several times at the Washington Hilton and the Capitol Hilton. My major pet peeve with the WH is that being a Diamond members means little other than the customary upgrade to the Excecutive Floor, where rooms are nice but rather small. The Excecutive Lounge is also tiny (which is strange for such a massive hotel). In contrast, the CH folks have always upgraded us to amazing suites. However, their Excecutive Lounge does not operate on weekends.

Breakfast at the WH Excecutive Lounge is very basic (juices, coffee, cereal, fruit, pastries). We always use the restaurant downstairs (the District Line), where for $21.50 pp (children half price) you have very good breakfast selections and attentive staff. That being said, my family decided that from now on we will stay at the CH.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. HHonors Diamond members are our most loyal customers and we take that patronage very seriously. Glad you enjoy the Washington Hilton's breakfast and friendly staff and we hope you'll return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was beginning to forget what it meant to be Hilton Diamond member, a feeling underscored by many of the properties that fail to recognize loyalty at check-in, etc.; however, I was given hope in the form of one Eric Mata upon checking in on 2/24/12, and then again by serendipity on 5/12/12. The man should be cloned! Both welcomes led to great stays, especially evening cocktails at McClellan's, and on the outside patio. Definitely our "go to" hotel when in DC!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton! This is the exact feedback we pride ourselves on and have shared your response with Eric. Diamond HHonors members are our most valued guests and we do not forget it. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horse Shoe, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am a Hilton Honors member and try to stay in Hilton properties whenever possible. I was at this property for a conference Dec 6-7. The service was extremely good, everyone I encountered was helpful and considerate.The rooms are small, but adequate for one person.
Beds are comfortable.
The biggest issue I had during my stay was internet connectivity. The connection didn't work at all when I arrived the evening of 12/5. After 90 minutes of attempting and failing to stay connected, I talked to Hilton's tech support and found out the hotel had "bandwidth issues". Inconceivable in this day and age. Connectivity was an issue throughout my stay in the conference rooms, and was very frustrating as I was in the midst of several projects back home. The only other concern is the bathroom -- it is very small, even just for one, with miniscule sinks and almost no surface space for toiletries. The bathrooms appear to have been upgraded sometime in the last few years, and it's hard to understand why the sink/storage space issues weren't notice and addressed then.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We appreciate you being here for your conference and are glad you experienced our superb service levels. If you ever should encounter any issue, connectivity or anything else that is below exceptional please contact a hotel team member and allow us to make it right. We hope you'll return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.