We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Hilton to your Saves list
Washington Hilton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Adams Morgan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99!
Ranked #83 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

If you are looking for a incredible experience when visiting DC I recommend starting it off right by staying at the Washington Hilton on Connecticut ave. The minute you enter this facility you cannot help yourself from saying WOW! The staff bends over backward and sees to your every need. I have been coming here for years and all i can say is each time is better than the time before. I don't know how they do it, but they do and I am grateful for it. If you stay here you will know exactly what I am talking about. Brittney C front office and Fatiha D executive level are best in class. The establishment is BEAUTIFUL and the rooms are kept immaculately clean. More here than the physical beauty of the Hotel it is the people. They say staffing is the biggest issue for businesses. I say Hilton Washington has it figured out. Thank you one and all Touche.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks so much for taking your time to review the Washington Hilton. This type of review is makes our hard work worthwhile! I have shared your comments with Brittany and Fatiha. We take great pride in our hotel as an asset and the service we provide and hearing we got it right makes a huge impact. Thanks very much and we look forward to seeing you again at the Washington Hilton when you next return to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    839
    376
    119
    49
See reviews for
342
388
119
781
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I read seval of these reviews was now after staying there, I wonder where the other reviewers stayed? We had in room coffee and nice room and we appointed bathroom. While the room was small, we didn't expect a suite. It was typical big city hotel room. The staff was helpful and friendly. The only negative was the $12 Internet charge for in room service. The wal to the metro was longer than 10 minutes...more like 3+ long blocks. But much better than the $369 dollars a night the JW Marriott wanted!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. Your review was so nice to read! We strive to provide value for our guests and have rooms that are often larger than many found in big cities as you note. I recommend booking our Internet package on hilton.com on your next trip to Washington where internet is bundled in room rate at a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have been to the Washington Hilton many times. Since the renovation a few years ago, the hotel has definitely improved. The rooms tend to be on the small side but are clean and modern. Rooms with higher numbers are at the end of the hall and the halls are very long, so be forewarned, you have a long hike if your room ends in the 30's. The hotel is in a convenient location about 3 blocks (uphill) from the DuPont Metro station. A drawback is that they recently removed the coffee makers from the rooms since a coffee house/cafe opened in the lobby.

Room Tip: As is the case in most hotels, rooms on higher floors have much better views. Odd numbered rooms ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review the Washington Hilton. It's lovely to learn you found our newly renovated rooms to be improved and modern as we're very proud of our $150 million renovation. The hotel's convenient location is a major advantage and we do look to price our hotel as a value within the DC market where rates can get expensive. We hope you will return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC and have coffee makers in all rooms once again for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed one night for a function in the hotel. Unfortunately due to the event, we arrived too late for valet parking, but registration easily removed the charge (as it was included in the rate). Quick and efficient check in, friendly staff. Again, clean and comfortable room. For the number of rooms in the hotel, the service was amazing. One complaint was the adjoining room feature appears that the gap at the bottom of the door allowed for a lot of our neighbors noise to come through/under the door. And unfortunately they we loud talkers - stuck and extra pillow and blanket at the door jamb - and it helped a little -but still a nuisance. Overall, very nice experience, great room, super friendly wait staff for AM breakfast in the dining area - good food and coffee too. Definitely would recommend, as well as would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. There is little we like to hear more than that you will stay here again, it's our most loyal customers that make our jobs worthwhile. We greatly appreciate you noting our service, great rooms and breakfast quality. We do strive for 100% satisfaction so please accept our apology for any noise that caused your stay to be anything less than perfect. We look forward to hosting you when you return to DC at the Washington Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel goes on for what seems like miles, so take advantage of the friendly professional services, like the bell hop. Check-In was slow, and the Hilton Honors line slower than the regular line. There was a big function that night and they should have known to put more people on the desk early in the afternoon. My room was comfortable and quiet - to my surprise since I was right behind an elevator. It was a bit small - hard to get to the curtains between the chair and the light. I only ate breakfast there, and it was vastly overpriced, but the waitress was one of the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We are one of DC largest hotels and strive for 100% satisfaction from all our guests. The size of the property allows for many great amenities as you mention such a our health club, outdoor pool, seasonal outdoor terrace and many other amenities. It's great to hear the service in our restaurant was the best you've had! We hope the next chance you get to travel to DC you return to the Washington Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I checked into the Washington Hilton 3/28/12 and checked out 4/1/12. We were visiting DC to attend a funeral at Arlington National Cemetery, visiting friends who live in Georgetown, and family with a recent college grad still in DC. We loved the hotel! Very lively common areas in the lobby on the open plan, large high tables with outlets to take advantage of free wifi in lobbly, comfortable seating, bar and restaurant areas that blend into the lobby, large containers of ice water, with macerated mint, lemon, orange, pomegranate right by the front door, inviting coffee shop with healthy food and comfortable seating, lots of flat screen tvs.
We arrived on Wed at 10;00 PM., lobby crowded with attractive young people.

Staff: every staff person I encountered made eye contact and greeted me! a great touch!

Outdoor patio: Outstanding! beautifully constructed, pavers, furniture, fire pits, bar service if you want it, large (for a city!!) perennial garden, loved it!

Room was quite small but I thought well designed. Bottom part of window opened for fresh air, lots of electrical outlets, lighted magifying mirror that could be moved, I liked the storage drawers in the vanity, liked the conservation of water and lighting that was evident. Armchair, ottoman and desk chair very comfortable.

We have stayed in many hotels in DC over the past ten years, and while this is a big conference hotel, we loved it! Great location, very intelligent design, great vibe! We will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the patio area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. As hoteliers there is nothing more satisfying than hearing a guest had the kind of expereience that will bring them back, your comments are greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
723 reviews 723 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

First the history - It was at the lower south entrance to this hotel that John Hinckley shot Ronald Reagan. For some reason, it's not the most prominent thing in this hotel's advertising plan....

The rooms are Hilton standard, which means adequate for the business traveler though not plush. Hilton's standards are fairly high, and just about any Hilton I'd rank would get at least a Very Good rating (though I've made exceptions), and this is in that category.

But if you're not here for one of the vast number of conferences this hotel hosts, then there are probably better choices. It's not really near the main tourist action in this town (though if you learn how to use the Metro, and you should in this city, getting around is fairly easy; this hotel is a few blocks uphill from the Dupont Circle Metro). The place is big, awkwardly so in my opinion, and it's hard to navigate if you are a business traveler trying to find the room in which your meeting is being held. It's also not particularly quiet, though I've never had too much trouble sleeping here in a number of visits.

In short, it has the quality you'd expect of a Hilton, but is really nothing special. You won't at all mind staying there, but the visit may not be memorable.

Room Tip: People usually try to avoid rooms near elevators, but in this case it might be wise to request one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. Our hotel is steeped in history and very large as you mention. If you ever have any issues finding a meeting room you can always ask any staff member or utilize our touch screen reader boards that will direct you to the approrpriate location electronically. We hope your next visit to DC will bring you back to the Washington Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.