We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For $50 a Night, not bad...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Washington DC to your Saves list
Motel 6 Washington DC
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6711 Georgia Ave., Washington DC, DC 20012 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“For $50 a Night, not bad...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

You get exactly what you pay for. Kind of a shady neighborhood, not-super-friendly staff, and not much in the area. Bit of a hike to the Tacoma station, too. All-in-all not a great choice on my part.I wish I had spent a little more and stayed closer to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Rob,
We appreciate the feedback about your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. Your feedback has been shared with our team and the necessary steps have been taken for improvment. I hope to have another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs so please contact me directly to arrange your future reservation and I will gladly assign you a room on the side of the building away from the busy street.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    17
    13
    42
See reviews for
25
16
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not even worth a one. Had bugs in the room, bathroom door didnt close and All the other customers were smoking pot and you could have smelled it from a mile away!!!!!!!!!!! And they did nothing about it. We had to spray the hallway and keep a towel under the door to keep the smell out. Also in a bad neighborhood!!! Horrible.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Rachel
We appreciate the feedback about your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. I’m so sorry to hear that your stay was not comfortable and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Your feedback has been shared with our team and the necessary steps have been taken to prevent recurrence. We also shared the pest problem you mentioned with our pest control service company and effective measure has been taken I hope to have another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rus, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay because of nice staff and good location of the property. The price is reasonable for DC. We stayed in room on the parking side and it is very quit. The bus #70 is across the street and it will take to the downtown and national mall.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay because of nice staff and good location of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Agovinico
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. The Comments and feed backs we receive from our customer helps for the improvement of our service.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and your review.
Sincerely,
General Manager,
Negassa Rebu, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Do you want a very cheap , clean hotel in DC with free wifi and 10 min walk from a metro station? Look no further. This cost my £50 per night and was very clean. Good safe and aircon unit. However, it is very tired and dated. Furniture wad shabby and common areas were basic and very 70's. A bus stop outside will take you to takoma station in 2 mins (bus 52,53 or 54. And £1) or the other way into the city ( £2 and 40 mins) . Hey. Be realistic. Its clean, comfy, tidy, aircon, safe and friendly staff. But its £50 quids worth. Its not luxury. They are £200 and in town. I will deffo stay again as i used it for a place to sleep and thats it. But it aint pretty. I give it 5 stars for price, 4 stars for clenliness , 3 stars for location, 2 stars for decor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Nachooooo,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay. We look forward to another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs. We would like let you know that we are on the process of full renovation process to change the property to the new Phoenix type.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback which is shared with our staff to reinforce best practices, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We traveled to DC as the family with limited budget and choose Motel6 Washington DC Primary because it fit to our budget. The location is very convenient for public transport; train and bus and the price is reasonable for DC even if it is higher than average Motel6. The pool is clean and nice but the only problem is that it is closes at 9pm.The staff are very helpful to give direction and other helpful information about the area. We enjoyed our three nights stay within our budget and we recommend this hotel especially for those who have limited budget.

Room Tip: Ask the staff is helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Dave K,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay. We look forward to another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs. We would like let you know that we are on the process of full renovation process to change the property to the new Phoenix type.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback which is shared with our staff to reinforce best practices, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajas, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Staff was nice, but the floor was dirty under the bed and they didn't have extra pillows. I recommend they are more meticulous with the cleaning. Other than this, the hotel seemed nice, it has a pool, and it looks nice. The price is also good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Sam G,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. . Our management value all the comments and feedbacks we received from our valued customers. The housekeeping issue you raised is addressed by our management team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. The hotel is on the process of total renovation. Thanks so much for taking time to share your comments.
Sincerely,
Negassa Rebu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagram, Afghanistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you paying around $100 "in" DC (it's on the outskirts), you're not staying at a 5 star hotel...I'd give it 2. Very basic, floor was filthy, neighborhood is questionable, but no one bothered us when we went for a walk. Very reasonable pet fee ($10 vs. $200 at another hotel in the area). One block from the former Walter Reed Army Medical Center (it moved to and merged w/ Bethesda Naval Medical Center). They wanted cash up front for the entire stay, claiming the credit card machine was inop...

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center...at least not that I found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear PhigLamb,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory during your visit to Washington DC. Our management value all the comments and feedbacks we received from our valued customers and take appropriate action to avoid similar incident. As far as the $10 pet fee you mentioned, I would like to inform you that Motel 6 don’t charge pet fee and we didn’t charge you pet fee. We hope to welcome you back to see our improved services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and your review.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington DC

Address: 6711 Georgia Ave., Washington DC, DC 20012
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington DC 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Motel Six Washington Dc
Washington Dc Motel 6
Washington Dc Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.