We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty floor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Washington DC

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Washington DC
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6711 Georgia Ave., Washington DC, DC 20012 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Lajas, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dirty floor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Staff was nice, but the floor was dirty under the bed and they didn't have extra pillows. I recommend they are more meticulous with the cleaning. Other than this, the hotel seemed nice, it has a pool, and it looks nice. The price is also good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Sam G,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. . Our management value all the comments and feedbacks we received from our valued customers. The housekeeping issue you raised is addressed by our management team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. The hotel is on the process of total renovation. Thanks so much for taking time to share your comments.
Sincerely,
Negassa Rebu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    21
    14
    35
See reviews for
23
15
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bagram, Afghanistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you paying around $100 "in" DC (it's on the outskirts), you're not staying at a 5 star hotel...I'd give it 2. Very basic, floor was filthy, neighborhood is questionable, but no one bothered us when we went for a walk. Very reasonable pet fee ($10 vs. $200 at another hotel in the area). One block from the former Walter Reed Army Medical Center (it moved to and merged w/ Bethesda Naval Medical Center). They wanted cash up front for the entire stay, claiming the credit card machine was inop...

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center...at least not that I found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear PhigLamb,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory during your visit to Washington DC. Our management value all the comments and feedbacks we received from our valued customers and take appropriate action to avoid similar incident. As far as the $10 pet fee you mentioned, I would like to inform you that Motel 6 don’t charge pet fee and we didn’t charge you pet fee. We hope to welcome you back to see our improved services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and your review.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carteret, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

For starters, the area did not feel safe when I pulled into the parking lot. Then, the front desk attendant was not particularly friendly or helpful. The hallway smelled of urine and was pretty dank, and my room wasn't a whole lot better. The bed did not seem clean, the toilet seat was broken, and the towels were dingy and way past their useful lifespan. Would not stay again, even though the price was low.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Carteret,
We appreciate the feedback about your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. I’m so sorry to hear that your stay was not comfortable and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Your Feedback has been shared with our team and the necessary steps have been taken to prevent recurrence. I hope to have another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs so please contact me directly to arrange your future reservation and I will gladly assign you a room on the side of the building away from the busy street.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We went there on a short vacation and the people at the hotel were very nice and helpful. Thanks for all!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay. We look forward to another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback which is shared with our staff to reinforce best practices, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

DC accomodations can be pricey. This represented a reasonable value. This is in the Howard University area and the area is ethnically diverse. The staff provided extra towels as requested. A Place to sleep on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have less street noise as rooms in the front of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Bradbeebe52,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. We are glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay. We look forward to another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback which is shared with our staff to reinforce best practices, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at Motel 6 Washington DC during a stressful time of returning from the US from 4 years abroad. General manager Negassa Rebu helped us feel at ease by responding to all of our queries in a timely and helpful fashion during our week's stay as we searched for an apartment to rent in the area. Under his leadership, other staff are equally friendly and helpful. He takes his job seriously and yet meets his duties with good cheer -- that makes for a good general manager. And a good general manager makes for a good motel. We urge you not to hesitate staying there; it has all that a Motel 6 ought to have and more besides.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Chris
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. The Comments and feed backs we receive from our customer helps for the improvement of our service.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and your review.
Sincerely,
General Manager,
Negassa Rebu, CHA
e-mail: motel6dc4063gm@baywoodhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I'm not a hotel snob, so despite seeing low ratings and hearing from a friend it wasn't the best, figured we could give this place a try. And as a still-non-hotel-snob, I'm happy to say it was totally fine and manageable. But honestly, for that price - which was cheapest in the area but still a little exy - I'd like to see something a little more updated. New towels and sheets, for starters. The tap dripped in our room, the towels were threadbare, but lucky as a New Yorker I knew how to do a bedbug check and can say we were all clear - woo hoo! The reception claimed they had free wifi but caught no signal upstairs - though our favourite part by far was the inexplicable shaking of the headboard at 2am - seriously, neighbours? What a delight! :P

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear,
We appreciate the feedback about your stay at the Motel 6 Washington DC. I’m so sorry to hear that your stay was not comfortable because of, low internet signal and surrounding condition. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Your feedback has been shared with our team and the necessary steps have been taken to prevent recurrence. I hope to have another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs so please contact me directly to arrange your future reservation and I will gladly assign you a room on the side of the building away from the busy street.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
E-mail: motel6dc4063gm@baywoodhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington DC

Address: 6711 Georgia Ave., Washington DC, DC 20012
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington DC 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Motel Six Washington Dc
Washington Dc Motel 6
Washington Dc Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.