We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience starts with a great staff”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #75 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
edio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience starts with a great staff””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were here for three nights for a conference, and the hotel staff was fantastic, especially the Assitant general manager Raj, Agent Nellie and Dantise. They made sure to take great care of us the entire trip. The hotel is at good location with easy access to the Sightseeings and convention center.This hotel has amazing and helpful staff.The breakfast is well organised and is of good quality.Will book again!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms and the elevator may be small, but they are clean, well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    240
    81
    23
    16
See reviews for
150
147
49
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a good choice when you are staying in Washington. Rooms are small but ok. We had one room for four people and it was quite a challenge to store our luggage, but we managed. The breakfast is well organised and the foord is of good quality. However, if jou come a little later (e.g. after 8.30) a lot of things are finished and the lady who took care of the breakfast could not arrange new items for us. The hotel was very crowded, so breakfast was gone quickly. The people working at the reception are ok, but not very friendly. The hotel offers expensive but very convenient valet parking. It will cost you USD 30 per night but you can park your car a little further down the street for less than USD 20 per night. The hotel has a central location. You can walk to alle the points of interest from here, thought some points are quite a challenge! Regarding the fact that you have a nice hotel for a nice price downtown Washington I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has amazing and helpful staff. A very nice man carried our luggage to our room. When we booked a room there was only a one bed room. When we checked in, the girl at the front desk asked if we would like a two bed room for the same price.The hotel is within walking distance of all the major tourist attractions with a bus stop one block away and a subway 6 blocks away. Felt safe at the hotel and walking around at all times even including night. Good breakfast with eggs, bacon or sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, cereals, muffins, donuts, oatmeal and fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, OH
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 3 days recently and were impressed by the staff and the facilities at this hotel. We were impressed with the staff at the front desk and the way all issues and questions were handled promptly, helpfully and accurately.

The rooms and the elevator may be small, but they are clean, well furnished and well maintained. We requested a quiet room and were given a room on the 4th floor that was the quietest hotel room we have ever been in. Amazing since we were in Washington DC the entire time!

The basement breakfast area is a little unusual in its design but it works well for the variety of travelers that were at the hotel during our week day stays. Lots of space for individuals as well as families to sit and eat.

We had no issues with the valet service. It is true that $30 is quite a bit to pay for a place to park but it is also true it is Washington DC. With Parking being at such a premium we were just grateful to have valet service available.

There are lots of restaurants in the area to walk to as well as some convenience stores nearby if you run out of anything on the trip. Overall, a great place to stay in Washington DC.

Room Tip: A room on the rear side of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pluses - Reasonable rates on hotel bargain sites, AMAZINGLY friendly staff, nice rooms, comfy beds, full buffet breakfast, & free Wi-Fi.

Minuses - Somewhat sketchy part of town (i.e., some homeless people at night, but still lots of professional walking around), no Metro stops closer than 1/2 mile, not many good restaurants nearby.

Info, not pro or con: if you don't want to use the Metro, this hotel is walkable; 10 min to Nat'l Geo Museum, 1.5 miles/30min to the Air & Space Museum/National Mall, and 0.8miles/16min to Chinatown.

I am in the middle of a six night stay here on on 13th & M street at the end of Aug 2013. There was a crazy amount of people here for a march, so all the rooms were full. Even though it was very obvious that some of them expected the front desk clerk to help them first due to them being from the same culture, she was VERY professional, polite, and helpful to everyone in turn, storing our luggage, recommending restaurants, allowing us to use the restrooms, and letting us know when the best time to return would be. When we returned, another lady was on staff, but was equally helpful, giving us a 1st floor room instead of a 7th floor, since my wife is deathly afraid of elevators. Also, the man in front opened the door very nicely for us.

Our king bed room was a little small, but this is DC, and it has sufficient space for 1-2 people. The room has a fairly large TV (~42"), coffee maker, a refrigerator, an old style iPod radio, two awesome LED bed lights for reading, and an air conditioner.

Their complimentary breakfast has waffles, fruit, eggs, bacon or sausage, cereal, yogurt, bagels, juices, coffee, etc.

While this is only a moderately nice hotel, I was far beyond pleased with the service at this hotel. It moves this hotel from simply normal to spectacular.

It is appropriate at this point to call out Mr. Noam Cavour, who goes so far above and beyond that i thought he might be the owner of the hotel. Alas, he is not, but definitely needs to be promoted to manager as soon as possible.

If I am ever in the DC area again, I would choose to stay here again for the service alone. Thanks for making my mornings bright Comfort Inn and Mr. Cavour!

Room Tip: The king bed rooms on the first floor are very convenient, especially since the elevator capacity is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We scheduled a spur of the moment weekend visit to DC and, as loyal Choice Hotel customers, we chose a Comfort Inn in the Logan Circle area, not far from the U Street corridor (14th), which seems to be the hot spot of the moment in DC. Our room rate was reasonable and we were offered a room that was described as the hotel's best (i.e. best floor plan, a corner room on the 3rd floor). The room was in fine condition, and seemed to have been recently renovated. Our one complaint was that there was too much furniture, or at least too much big furniture, and it was not well-placed throughout the room. For example, the TV was to the left of the bed, so you had to turn to watch TV. A big armoire was placed just off the hallway leading to the bathroom and front door, so the space in between was a little tight, and we are, fortunately, not large people. However, the king bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. The bathroom had a nice shower and was nicely updated and appointed. The people at the front desk couldn't have been nicer, and Dantise was especially gracious. The room where breakfast is served (free, a Choice staple) would have made a wonderful studio apartment or "man-cave." The hotel was centrally located for all of the places we needed to be during our 36 hour visit.

Room Tip: If you are a member of Choice Rewards, ask for the "best room" available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I left a flash drive in the computer in the Business Center. Of course I didn't realize I had left it there.

3 weeks later I got a call from Dantrise at the front desk telling me I had left the drive behind and would I want her to send it to me?

Everything about our stay was terrific including the room, the location and we had received solid advice from the front desk on where we could go nearby for dinner. But this takes the cake. This is the level of service you expect from a hotel costing 3 times as much.

Thank you, Dantrise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2012 Newly renovated Comfort Inn® Downtown/Convention Center is conveniently located at the corner of 13th Street and M Street, within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center and the Verizon Center sports and entertainment arena. The McPherson Square Metrorail station and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail station are within three blocks, making it easy to visit all the area has to offer.This Washington, D.C. hotel provides easy access to popular attractions, including the National Mall open-area national park, the Smithsonian National Zoological Park (known as the National Zoo or Washington Zoo) and the Smithsonian Institution museum complex. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is just four miles away. Additional local points of interest include:• 0.4 miles from the McPherson Square – Orange/Blue Line • 0.4 Miles from The Mount Vernon Sq/Convention Center Green/Yellow line • 0.8 Miles from the White House• Howard University • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum • International Spy Museum and The Newseum • George Washington University. There is always something to do in the nation's capital. Visitors will enjoy nationally acclaimed theaters, free concerts, festivals, museums and world-class shopping location in the surrounding area. Guests of this Washington, D.C. hotel can have their pie and eat it too. The hotel offers many full-service amenities and features, including free breakfast with hot waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. Additional amenities include free high-speed Internet access, free coffee, free local calls, free weekday newspaper and valet parking. After a busy day, guests are invited to unwind in the exercise room.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and business center with access to fax and secretarial services. This boutique-style hotel feature elegantly appointed rooms that come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Comfort Inn Downtown/Convention Center provides all the luxuries seasoned travelers have come to expect. Above all, our most impressive amenity is our warm and inviting staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.