We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #83 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location on 13th Street. The hotel was very clean. The room was larger than I expected it would be. The staff was friendly. I would not hesiate to recommend the hotel to anyone that is looking for a value-priced hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your reply. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and found our staff to be friendly. We thank you in advance for your recommendation of our hotel and we really hope you return to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    206
    77
    23
    16
See reviews for
129
132
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend. The rooms were a lot nicer than I was expecting! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our bathroom light wasn't working but they sent up maintenance right away. The breakfast included was typically hotel breakfast but the atmosphere made it very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year for a conference at the Convention Center. We are able to take the train right to the Center and then walk a few short blocks to the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast offers a variety of food. It was convenient to have a small restaurant a block away to get soup and salad for other meals.
For the location, this hotel is a real bargain.

The staff went out of their way to help us in an emergency situation this past week. They were concerned, efficient, and did all they could to help us through a difficult time. We are grateful for all their help and look forward to staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for posting this fantastic review of the Comfort Inn DC Convention Center here on Tripadvisor. We put a lot of effort into creating an enjoyable experience for all of our guests so it's always great to read that we've succeeded at doing so. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the breakfast. Thank goodness you made it through the emergency situation and it was truly our pleasure to help you. Your recommendation is the highest compliment we can receive so please know that it's greatly appreciated. We are just as grateful to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We travel to DC alot and love this hotel. The location is within walking distance of the White House and attractions. We can relax after our long drive, with valet parking. The accomodations are spacious and comfortable, and the lounge is a great spot to regroup. The free breakfast is a bonus with eggs, bacon, cereal, fresh belgium waffles, pastries, yougurt and fresh coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The free serve-yourself breakfast was my favourite feature; good scrambled eggs, crispy bacon or sausages, waffles, cereals toast and good quality fresh oranges, bananas and apples, all available in a well-maintained and pleasant setting. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room (311) was pretty small but satisfactory since we spent very little time there. There was only room for one desk chair. It's a great location about 20 minute walk to White House, 10 minutes to Metro, and there are restaurants within a few blocks. When we booked about 2 weeks before arrival this was one of the few hotels with a reasonable price that would accept cancellations. Overall, it was very good value, and I'd be glad to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a few blocks from the convention center, the Verizon Center and the Metro. We'll definitely be staying here again next time we're in DC.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your reply. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millwood, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely, newly-renovated hotel with plenty of charm. Service was great. Was able to check in early and leave my car with the valet until 6:00 the next day for one day's parking fee. Close to the White House, Mall and many other attractions. Reasonable price, too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2012 Newly renovated Comfort Inn® Downtown/Convention Center is conveniently located at the corner of 13th Street and M Street, within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center and the Verizon Center sports and entertainment arena. The McPherson Square Metrorail station and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail station are within three blocks, making it easy to visit all the area has to offer.This Washington, D.C. hotel provides easy access to popular attractions, including the National Mall open-area national park, the Smithsonian National Zoological Park (known as the National Zoo or Washington Zoo) and the Smithsonian Institution museum complex. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is just four miles away. Additional local points of interest include:• 0.4 miles from the McPherson Square – Orange/Blue Line • 0.4 Miles from The Mount Vernon Sq/Convention Center Green/Yellow line • 0.8 Miles from the White House• Howard University • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum • International Spy Museum and The Newseum • George Washington University. There is always something to do in the nation's capital. Visitors will enjoy nationally acclaimed theaters, free concerts, festivals, museums and world-class shopping location in the surrounding area. Guests of this Washington, D.C. hotel can have their pie and eat it too. The hotel offers many full-service amenities and features, including free breakfast with hot waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. Additional amenities include free high-speed Internet access, free coffee, free local calls, free weekday newspaper and valet parking. After a busy day, guests are invited to unwind in the exercise room.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and business center with access to fax and secretarial services. This boutique-style hotel feature elegantly appointed rooms that come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Comfort Inn Downtown/Convention Center provides all the luxuries seasoned travelers have come to expect. Above all, our most impressive amenity is our warm and inviting staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.