We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #77 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a few blocks from the convention center, the Verizon Center and the Metro. We'll definitely be staying here again next time we're in DC.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your reply. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    226
    79
    23
    16
See reviews for
143
140
45
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millwood, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely, newly-renovated hotel with plenty of charm. Service was great. Was able to check in early and leave my car with the valet until 6:00 the next day for one day's parking fee. Close to the White House, Mall and many other attractions. Reasonable price, too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my first trip to DC since I was a kid. I did not know where to stay, and I pick a good one. I like to walk and it was close to the White House. I go to NYC a lot and the rooms here where bigger. There was more room to walk around. I loved the desk that you could roll any where. We only stayed one night, and after walking around for 4 hours we have food delivered. So we used the desk to eat on. It was our own private table by the window. They had reading lights over the bed. Since we don't read in bed, we used them for a puppet show on the wall. We are not breakfast people so now sure about breakfast. We will be back. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your response. I am glad to hear that you "picked a good one" and please know that we truly loved having you here. We missed seeing you at breakfast but we understand not everyone is a breakfast person. We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really want to appreciate all staff service, excellent service and very cooperative experience. If I will get one more chance to come Washington my first preference will be comfort inn. Front desk service is too good and cooperative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel back in early December with some friends for a weekend trip to DC. The location of the hotel was one main reason I stayed, it is only a short walk to the metro station which was perfect for us since we didn't want to drive and the metro would take us everywhere. The hotel was nice and clean. As soon as you pull up to the front, the doorman bombards you and nags you to help looking for tips which was quite uncomfortable and rude. The front desk staff was great the whole time we were there. The girl that checked us in was so polite and friendly and helped us find our way around whenever we had a question. The room I stayed in with my boyfriend was very VERY small, but OK for us since we were only staying 1 night and had little baggage. The second room my 2 friends stayed in had a ton of space and was comfortable enough for all 4 of us to hang out it. Even though our room was small, the rooms overall were clean which is most important to me. The breakfast area was nice, as long as there weren't too many people there. Once more than 8 people came down for breakfast, the counter was so congested with people trying to get food was nearly impossible. The food was OK and with all the hassle, we got breakfast elsewhere if that's any indication. Overall, this was a great hotel for a place to crash for the night and the location was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not located on the street, noise from street is so loud and never stops Corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your reply. Although you found your room to be small in size, I am glad it worked out for you and your guest. Breakfast can get congested at times and we do our best to accommodate all guests to ensure they start the morning off right with a great meal. I am sorry to hear that you decided to eat elsewhere as we look forward to seeing our guests each morning for a bite to eat and some good conversation. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came to DC for a memorial service and needed a motel nearby. We had a small room that was clean and comfortable. The front desk attendants as well as the parking concierge were extremely professional and courteous. We have no bad things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable as well as the staff to be extremely professional and courteous. We hope to see you again in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Comfort Inn is very nice if you are looking to save a few dollars in the Washington DC area. About five blocks from 3 different Metro stations, it's a bit of a hike if the weather is not so nice. The building is older, but has been refurbished nicely. The room was on the small side, but nicely refurbished. The neighborhood is not bad, but definitely not the nicest in the district. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2012 Newly renovated Comfort Inn® Downtown/Convention Center is conveniently located at the corner of 13th Street and M Street, within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center and the Verizon Center sports and entertainment arena. The McPherson Square Metrorail station and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail station are within three blocks, making it easy to visit all the area has to offer.This Washington, D.C. hotel provides easy access to popular attractions, including the National Mall open-area national park, the Smithsonian National Zoological Park (known as the National Zoo or Washington Zoo) and the Smithsonian Institution museum complex. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is just four miles away. Additional local points of interest include:• 0.4 miles from the McPherson Square – Orange/Blue Line • 0.4 Miles from The Mount Vernon Sq/Convention Center Green/Yellow line • 0.8 Miles from the White House• Howard University • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum • International Spy Museum and The Newseum • George Washington University. There is always something to do in the nation's capital. Visitors will enjoy nationally acclaimed theaters, free concerts, festivals, museums and world-class shopping location in the surrounding area. Guests of this Washington, D.C. hotel can have their pie and eat it too. The hotel offers many full-service amenities and features, including free breakfast with hot waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. Additional amenities include free high-speed Internet access, free coffee, free local calls, free weekday newspaper and valet parking. After a busy day, guests are invited to unwind in the exercise room.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and business center with access to fax and secretarial services. This boutique-style hotel feature elegantly appointed rooms that come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Comfort Inn Downtown/Convention Center provides all the luxuries seasoned travelers have come to expect. Above all, our most impressive amenity is our warm and inviting staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.