We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #56 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Cooper City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. The room was small but very clean. The furnishings were contemporary and free wifi was a nice extra. The bathroom was VERY small, but clean and functional. The free breakfast was good and the breakfast room was comfortable. Overall, it was super convenient and a good value for the price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    284
    85
    25
    18
See reviews for
191
169
53
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for the last three nights in D.C and must say that the quality of the accomodation and the service I received from staff was fantastic.

Staff like Raj are what make this stay so fantastic. He has excellent interpersonal skills and knows how to take care of his guests. I was especially impressed by the way he handled a disgruntled guest over an issue at the front counter. Raj handled it very calmly and professionally and left the guest completely satisfied and happy with the result. This shows his ability to handle sensitive situations and de-escalate them accordingly. Well done Raj.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from 13th street - the street noise starts really early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our recent weekend vacay in DC was a wonderful experience due in part to our excellent accommodations at Comfort Inn Downtown DC. The staff, Kyle & Shaniqa, were exceptionally helpful & friendly giving great advice on sightseeing, transportation & restaurants. Metro station was a couple blocks away & only $1 to ride. Will definitely stay here again when we return. Our room appeared to be recently remodeled, though a little small; however, so much to see in DC we were only there to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your reply. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will ensure Kyle and Shaniqa are recognized for providing outstanding service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Things we liked were the updated and comfortable rooms (incl. flat screens), the friendly and helpful staff, the quietness at night, the fact that there was an elevator (albeit a slow one), the tasty breakfast with lots of choices, and the left luggage service.

Things we didn't like was that it was rather far from subway stops (10+ min walk) although there are a couple buses nearby (including the $1 distributor bus). Get a bus map if you're going to stay here as they are a more convenient and often quicker than walking to the subway. This hotel is fairly far from the White House and the Smithsonians so don't plan to walk, take the bus/subway.

The other thing we were frustrated with was the breakfast space. The room is not big enough to handle the peak breakfast rush if the hotel is fairly full. If you go down between 8:00-9:00, be prepared not to have anywhere to sit to eat. They seem to struggle to keep food stocked at this time too.

If we go back, I would probably look for a hotel more in the lower downtown as we spent most of our time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your response as well as the feedback you provided about the challenges you experienced during your stay. I apologize for the concerns that you mentioned. We always welcome all feedback in high regard and use this information to enhance the level of service that we provide to you, our guest. Without such feedback, we recognize that we would not be able to improve. Rest assured that your concerns will be addressed and we look forward to providing you better service on your next visit. Should you need to share anything else, please contact me directly at 202.682.5300. Thanks again.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel has very friendly staff and clean rooms. Although the rooms are small they are well appointed. There is no driveway with overhang so the valet is curbside. The valet was very attentive and was right there when I pulled up. The receptionist greeted me with a big smile. My room had a refrigerator in it which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. Although we release the funds back to your bank right away, the bank/credit card company has up to 7 business days to return the funds to your card. If there is any way we can assist please contact the hotel directly at 202-682-5300 and as for a member of the management team.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

DC is a widely spread town geografically, so the location of the hotel is good for exploring. Metrostation is some 10 mins on foot, and if you are with a company then the best to explore is by taxi ( roughly 10 usd to Lincoln memorial, Union station or Georgetown). Rooms are of decent size, some worn and tear clearly seen especially in the bathroom, but this is not 3 stars or more hotel in european standards.Strange smell bothers once entering the room, some old damp. I understand this is prevailing in the whole hotel, as our friends changed 2 rooms and smell was present. You can switch conditioner on , smell might get weaker, but still there. Breakfast was good, choise of cereals, yogurts , fruits, even waffels to make by yourself, and very helpful staff down there. No caffe or bar close around, Dupont circle is some 25 min on foot . Our worst experience with hotel was payment that is why we rate front desk staff as incompetent. On arrival during check-in the total amount for 3 days stay was put on hold from my credit card , in the morning of check-out it was put on hold one more time. On check-out we paid cash, as it was our last day in USA (we are overseas tourists) and wanted to spend our last cash. 5 days after our leave hotel deducted and credited at once the first hold of funds from my card while still keeping the second hold allthough it was already paid on check-out. I had to go through claim process at my home bank as i suffered some 50 usd loss due to exchange rate and extra Visa operations. Very time-costly experience due to malpractice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. Although we release the funds back to your bank right away, the bank/credit card company has up to 7 business days to return the funds to your card. If there is any way we can assist please contact the hotel directly at 202-682-5300 and as for a member of the management team.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my 14-year-old niece. The location was perfect for walking to the major attractions or catching the metro to travel farther away. I felt very safe walking in the neighborhood both night and day. Our room was like new, nicely furnished and spacious for a big-city hotel room, and our bathroom had enough vanity space for two sets of toiletries. The bedding was as soft and comfy as that in my own home, and other than routine street noises, the room was very quiet.

However, the most memorable part of our stay will be how well we were treated. Having arrived in D.C. on a 7a.m. flight, we went by the hotel just to drop our bags. We were amazed when we were told that there was a room available and that we could go ahead and check in. (Normal check-in time is 3:00 p.m.) We were invited to get some breakfast while housekeeping made sure that all was ready in the room. Being able to grab a power nap until the museums opened at 10:00 a.m. made all the difference in our day, as we had gotten up at 3:30 a.m. to get to the airport on time. Every encounter we had with staff was pleasant. We would gladly stay in this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad we were able to get you checked in right away so you could begin enjoying your time in our nations capital. We look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Centra...
#91 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Washington Plaza
Washington Plaza
#37 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#106 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Cambria Suites - Washington, DC ...
#38 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Connecticut Ave/ K Street
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & ...
#95 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2012 Newly renovated Comfort Inn® Downtown/Convention Center is conveniently located at the corner of 13th Street and M Street, within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center and the Verizon Center sports and entertainment arena. The McPherson Square Metrorail station and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail station are within three blocks, making it easy to visit all the area has to offer.This Washington, D.C. hotel provides easy access to popular attractions, including the National Mall open-area national park, the Smithsonian National Zoological Park (known as the National Zoo or Washington Zoo) and the Smithsonian Institution museum complex. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is just four miles away. Additional local points of interest include:• 0.4 miles from the McPherson Square – Orange/Blue Line • 0.4 Miles from The Mount Vernon Sq/Convention Center Green/Yellow line • 0.8 Miles from the White House• Howard University • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum • International Spy Museum and The Newseum • George Washington University. There is always something to do in the nation's capital. Visitors will enjoy nationally acclaimed theaters, free concerts, festivals, museums and world-class shopping location in the surrounding area. Guests of this Washington, D.C. hotel can have their pie and eat it too. The hotel offers many full-service amenities and features, including free breakfast with hot waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. Additional amenities include free high-speed Internet access, free coffee, free local calls, free weekday newspaper and valet parking. After a busy day, guests are invited to unwind in the exercise room.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and business center with access to fax and secretarial services. This boutique-style hotel feature elegantly appointed rooms that come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Comfort Inn Downtown/Convention Center provides all the luxuries seasoned travelers have come to expect. Above all, our most impressive amenity is our warm and inviting staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.