We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in DC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #63 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
BELFAST
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great base in DC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have just stayed at this excellent hotel for 5 nights. Rooms are beautiful and exceptionally clean (building is newly renovated), beds are the best we have ever slept in! Great breakfast that fills you up for the busy day ahead and you can look forward to fresly baked cookies when you return in the evening. Very good location, within walking distance of all the local sites. Staff (especially Raj) are very warm, friendly and helpful including the hotel manager Mario who goes out of his way to welcome you and make you feel at home. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anybody..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Ambuman41,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very happy we made your stay comfortable and pleasant as should be. We are glad you took advantage of the selection of items on the breakfast. I try to welcome guests personally on a daily bases. It was my pleasure to welcome you and your family. Hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    272
    85
    25
    18
See reviews for
180
163
52
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My group of 5 had the privilege of staying at the Comfort Inn Downtwon DC/Convention Centre, August 15-18, 2011.
The hotel is a great downtown location with all the amenities and service that you can expect to receive.
They have recently undergone an extensive renovation to this 100 room property and you will not be disappointed in what they have to offer. Great rooms, great breakfast and excellent service are second to none.
A special thank you to Kyle (Front Office Manager) and Noemi and Rachelle Front Desk Agents who made our stay most enjoyable. I have been recommending your beautiful property since my return to Canada and hope to visit the Washington, DC area in the not-too-distant future and will call the hotel for my return visit.
Thank you again,

Sharon Murphy
Sport Tourism Coordinator
Tourism Hamilton
Hamilton, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: I found this hotel on the DC Website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Sharon Murphy,
It was our pleasure to host you and your group in Washington, DC. Thank you for staying with us. Our team were very happy that you mention their names and for the excellent review. We recently added art work and new mirrors on the rooms, we will continue to improve our hotel and when you return next year we will have new curtains and drapes. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

As we walked up the steps to the small lobby I did not know what to think. We were too early to check in. The only parking for this hotel is valet which is 5 blocks away @ $30 a day. We left to look for a store and found a deli a few blocks past the hotel. We returned to the hotel the rooms were still not ready. We asked if we could just unpack the car and park it. At this point they went out of there way to find us are rooms. We would have been happy to just get rid the car. The staff was very accommodating.

The hotel is in the process of a face lift. It is a work in progress. Our rooms had new furniture and sm refrigerators were in the hallway just waiting to be put in. A nice young gentleman named Kyle helped us with our luggage and hook up the refrigerators. He was friendly and helpful as we later found out all the staff where. He filled us in on the up dates to the hotel & told us about the free breakfast on the lower floor. The breakfast/ lounge area could also be used to relax & enjoy a BYO cocktail. He also told us about the night guided tour of the monuments. We took his advice and went on the tour @ $37 each on an ac bus in 99 degree heat it sounded good to us. Kyle did not steer us wrong. The bus picked us up @ the hotel @ 7pm & returned us @ 10:30 we made several stop before the tour started the bus was full.

Our room was smaller than our friend’s room maybe because it was a corner room. The good thing it was clean, the beds & pillows were comfortable & the ac worked great in both rooms. It had all the usual amenities & a clock radio with an Ipod dock all room had free wifi.

Everyday after touring we would return to Noemil’s smiling faces the desk clerk asking about our day. Complimentary coffee, lemon aid & if you hit it right delicious cookies were in the lobby along with & computer & printer to use.

We could not see how anyone could complain about the free breakfast buffet. They had it all coffee, tea, juice, fruit, scramble & hard boiled eggs, sausage, yogurt, pastries & breads, hot & cold cereal & milk. And of course make your own waffles. The room was full but there was plenty.

It is about 5 blocks from the McPherson subway. We had a pleasant stay and if in the area we would stay again. It’s a smaller hotel with a lot of charm & warmth. We felt safe walking to the subway or area restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing such a great review of our hotel, I was very happy to hear about the engagement of our team accommodating your early check in and recommending great tour and offering a good service. The cookies, iced lemon water, business center, breakfast items, the smile and all the room amenities is part of our commitment to provide good service and we are glad we offered you and your family a great stay. Please come to see us again soon and thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The place was great. The location is good - about a 20 minute walk to the national mall and the rooms are a good size.
The service we recieved was excellent. Staff were polite and very helpful.
The hotel gives free cookies at 3pm in the lobby area. Try these -They're wonderful!
Breakfast included everything you could ever need with a good selection of breads, cereals and hot items.
There aren't many great restaraunts near this hotel so we ended up having to take cabs most evenings. But cabs are cheap and never cost more than $6. It is possible to walk. It took us 20 minutes to walk north towards u street where there are loads of restaraunts and bars. When we did walk we felt 110% safe as the hotel is in a decent area of the city. Washington has loads of expensive hotels, and so this is great for the price and what it offers. A must place if you want a good quality, clean hotel and dont mind walking short distances to the main sights and restarunts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Uk dalefan,
Thank you very much for your review, the Hotel staff is very happy when they were mentioned on reviews. We are glad you took advantage or our hot buffet breakfast. Because your comments we are preparing new list of local restaurant to better serve our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a convention. The staff was wonderful, providing us tourist information, an umbrella when it rained, hosting the breakfast area. Everyone was pleasant and happy to help. The room was basic but very clean. You can see the work they've done to refurbish the place. Some things were showing their age, like the noisy air conditioner, but it kept us cool in the hot summer heat. The neighborhood is nice too, a very short walk to the convention center and other things.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Ellen C,
Thank you for your staying with us and for your review, Thank you for mentioning our staff, I’m very proud of our team, they even suggested to me that we should have umbrella for all the guests. We are replacing some of the air conditioning units on the rooms, although they are cooling properly, they are starting to be a bit loud. Thank you for your feedback and Please come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
254 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked two nights at this hotel for a visit to Washington DC. The hotel is under renovation but we barely noticed it and the work that has been done is impressive. The lobby, breakfast room and our rooms were very clean and attractive. The desk staff helped us with directions and restaurants nearby, which I will also do reviews on and were very good. The neighborhood was the type where we walked and felt safe, better than even downtown where the panhandlers were. We enjoyed our stay, saw things we never saw before and I was glad to stay here. Thanks to hotel staff people, Noemi and Kyle. The internet was fast and free and the room had a large new flat screen tv.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Norme-ormond,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for writing a review about us, I’m glad our renovations did not disturb your stay. Thank you for mentioning out team in your review, our team is always very happy when guests mention their names on reviews. Hope we can serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

A decent enough place to stay particularly for the price. Close to the convention center, which was where I spent most of my time. Close to a CVS and some restaurants. Easy mile or so walk to the White House and only about 4 or 5 miles from Reagan National.

Rooms were nicely furnished although I received a room with two double beds even though I had reserved a king. Rooms vary in size considerably and the air conditioning is mounted under the window, so the bed closest to the window gets very cold and blocks some of the air to the second bed. It also seemed as if only one of the two small elevators (5 people each) was working.

Fully bathroom amenities were provided along with breakfast. The breakfast room was quite large and offered packets of oatmeal (name brand), donuts, toast, bagels, scrambled eggs, bacon, juice, milk, coffee as well as dry cereals.

I'd stay here again for the right price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Jkrislc,
Thank you very much for your review of the Comfort Inn Downtown/DC Convention Center, We are glad you enjoy our selection of items at the breakfast, We want to apologize for having one of two elevator in renovation and modernization while you were here with us. Thank you again for your feedback and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Centra...
#89 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Washington Plaza
Washington Plaza
#39 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connecticut Ave/ K Street
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & ...
#94 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Cambria Suites - Washington, DC ...
#38 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2012 Newly renovated Comfort Inn® Downtown/Convention Center is conveniently located at the corner of 13th Street and M Street, within walking distance of the Washington Convention Center and the Verizon Center sports and entertainment arena. The McPherson Square Metrorail station and Mt. Vernon Square Metrorail station are within three blocks, making it easy to visit all the area has to offer.This Washington, D.C. hotel provides easy access to popular attractions, including the National Mall open-area national park, the Smithsonian National Zoological Park (known as the National Zoo or Washington Zoo) and the Smithsonian Institution museum complex. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is just four miles away. Additional local points of interest include:• 0.4 miles from the McPherson Square – Orange/Blue Line • 0.4 Miles from The Mount Vernon Sq/Convention Center Green/Yellow line • 0.8 Miles from the White House• Howard University • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum • International Spy Museum and The Newseum • George Washington University. There is always something to do in the nation's capital. Visitors will enjoy nationally acclaimed theaters, free concerts, festivals, museums and world-class shopping location in the surrounding area. Guests of this Washington, D.C. hotel can have their pie and eat it too. The hotel offers many full-service amenities and features, including free breakfast with hot waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. Additional amenities include free high-speed Internet access, free coffee, free local calls, free weekday newspaper and valet parking. After a busy day, guests are invited to unwind in the exercise room.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and business center with access to fax and secretarial services. This boutique-style hotel feature elegantly appointed rooms that come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Comfort Inn Downtown/Convention Center provides all the luxuries seasoned travelers have come to expect. Above all, our most impressive amenity is our warm and inviting staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.