We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic - Pure DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Classic - Pure DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

We hosted a business meeting here. Fantastic meeting room, and great service from the staff, they were flexible and fast with last minute changes. The hotel oozes history and elegance. My room was much larger than expected for such an old hotel, especially the bathroom. The location is prime for anyone wanting to explore the city. Expect to pay a lot for food and drink.

  • Liked — Roomy, comfy, elegant room
  • Disliked — $90 for 3 drinks and 2 sandwiches at the bar!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    382
    100
    35
    18
See reviews for
441
529
65
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to DC for Christmas and had booked us a room with a view in this wonderfully old, amazing hotel. We got there the day after Christmas, so the hotel lobby was still decorated and everything was just gorgeous. Our room, which was on the 7th floor, was comfortable, very clean, and had a great view of the Washington Monument and PA Avenue, with the National Mall, the White House, and the National Christmas Tree just steps away. There's a great little bar on site, but for even more of the DC "atmosphere" and some great dining as well, I recommend walking right around the block to Old Ebbit Grill on 15th Street, NW.

Expect to be treated well at this hotel, right down to coming back to your room to find the bed turned down, chocolates on the pillow, and the in-room Ipod player/Radio/Clock set to soft, romantic classical music.

Not recommended for families with "very active" children.

  • Liked — The locale
  • Disliked — You do have to pay for the hotel internet - so see if you can hook into the city wireless that's offered to the public free of charge!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussettes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

The Willard is centrally located in Washington, DC so that you can walk to almost everthing that you care to see while you visit our Nations Capital. The White House is a stone's throw away and all the Museum's and National Monuments are right outside your door. This is a hotel that has huge charm. I went to the bar and had a Mint Julip since this is the famous drink of the bar. Walk through the hotel lobby and be amazed of the decorations and the old world charm that this hotel has to offer.

  • Liked — Centrally Located
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York pa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

As a frequent visitor to DC with children, we chose to try the Willard when we wanted to get away and see grown up stuff like the art museums. What a wonderful old world hotel. I can't begin to say enough great stuff about the place. From the valet opening your door to front desk as check out - the staff was impeccable. The lobby was amazing and steeped in history. I loved the oak concierge desk, and marble floors. The Round Robin was a treat as well. The location was outstanding, only a few sighting of homeless in the park. It was a short walk to everything we wanted to do, and a few blocks to the mall. The rooms were well appointed with lots of luxury amenities, like bath robes, slippers and the nicer soaps and such. We had a king room facing the Marriott. The room was nice, the carpet should be replaced soon, as the dust marks around the wall were noticeable and gray, and the bathroom needed some touch up with the wall paper peeling and the tile grout was in need of a good scrubbing. Those are things I noticed, but I work in hospitality, so I look for it. Regardless, we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back the next time we get away to DC without children. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without a second thought.

  • Liked — The staff was impeccable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

Elegant, historic hotel conveniently located. Large well appointed rooms. Don't miss the Round Robin Bar. A good value for DC

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Was looking for a nice hotel to get away for the weekend with the wife. Was able to get a great rate at the last moment and did not look back after that.

Staff was very nice throughout our stay. Great room service and very well price for the history, ambiance and location of the hotel.

Try the buffet breakfast at the Cafe Du Parc...great price for a good breakfast. Very good service. Next time we will try to their brunch on Sundays....(was not properly dressed for the ocations).

Overall, great stay, great location, and would come back anytime.

  • Liked — Location and elegant atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed at the Willard for 7 nights. We were able to book 5 of the nights at a conference rate and one night at the weekend rate so only one night was a little painful on the wallet and that was a birthday so it wasn't so bad. We were in room 316 with a king bed. The room amenities were quite nice, we were off of 14th street and we did sometimes hear a little traffic noise, but never enough to bother us.. It still amazes me though that the high end hotels charge for internet access but the lower end ones offer it for free (we both had to work while there since we were there for a conference plus a few days for ourselves). This is the way it is though and we did know this ahead of time. The room was kept very clean, our only complaint would be that the wine glasses from the mini bar area were not replenished every day so we usually had to call and ask for more, they were always delivered quickly. We did not use the mini bar at all, we rarely do, the prices seemed to be about the same as other mini bars, hubby thought that might be why they didn't replace the wine glasses every day automatically. The TV had a wide range of channels and quite a few international channels as well, nice LG flat panel. Cafe du Parc was reasonably priced for take out for pastries and coffee, we did not eat any other meals there. The Willard restaurant was closed for August so we did not get to try that. The bar was very nice, we only had a drink there, no food, it did feel more formal in there. We were able to walk/metro everywhere we wanted to go and we had a good time seeing the sites in DC. The staff were all very attentive and responsive to requests. We felt were treated well by all of them, even when we were dressed in shorts and t-shirts for running around and doing touristy things in the August heat. We did not have time to try the spa so we don't know how it compares with others.

  • Liked — Excellent hotel, good service and nice rooms.
  • Disliked — Pricey, glad we were able to get conference rates so we could stay there.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,452 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#76 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,957 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#69 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.