We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand, historic hotel just 2 blocks from the White House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grand, historic hotel just 2 blocks from the White House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have to cut to the chase with this review – we just loved everything about this splendid historic hotel (except for one issue) & highly recommend it to anyone who is travelling to Washington for the first time & wants to be in the prime section of the Pennsylvania Ave precinct.
After 7 nights in a modern high-rise hotel in New York, I took a punt on the historic Willard for the next stage of our vacation, hoping for larger rooms & a more traditional atmosphere. First impressions are stunning with the lobby & public spaces just wonderfully old-worldly. The front desk retains the multiple key slot shelf that is so reminiscent of all those hotel scenes in 1950s movies. We found that the staff seem to de determined to make you feel special as we experienced friendly, attentive service from check-in to porters & restaurant experiences.
Our room was a twin queen with entry vestibule including mini bar and felt spacious compared to our modern New York hotel & the bathroom was also very comfortable. Although only on the 3rd floor, our room faced onto a courtyard section between the next building & we could not hear any traffic noise. The somewhat tired looking flat panel TV was actually replaced by a gorgeous 50-inch screen the day after we arrived but – sadly – only analog channels were available but we were not in DC to watch in-room movies.
The Café du Parc was a major asset as this provided a casual dining setting with a (very wide) sidewalk setting reminiscent of European hotels and great food as well. For a more intimate bar experience, the Round Robin certainly lived up to our expectations of rubbing shoulders with Washington insiders (well, we assume they were staffers as the White House is literally a 7 minute walk away).
Just one gripe – the pay-to-use internet menu is not in keeping with the general standard of this establishment. The basic option was about $9 for 512kbyte (yep – that’s a k, not an m). The “premium” package was a 24hr, 5mbyte limit for about $14, as I recall). My anti-virus software auto-downloads daily updates & these are typically 2-3 mbyte & the 2nd day I used the internet, Windows wanted to install 127mbyte of “important” updates which I had to cancel. C’mon Willard – this is an amazing property in all other aspects – why limit guests to absurd internet plans such as these?
Finally, for a splurge dinner, the Occidental Restaurant adjacent to the hotel (couldn’t quite figure out how this establishment was affiliated with the Willard but who cares) served us truly excellent steak & duck mains with accompanying charming and efficient service.
Fabulous experience in this spectacular city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    382
    100
    35
    18
See reviews for
441
530
65
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel scores on location, classy rooms and responsive staff. The breakfast coffee shop (Cafe du Parc) is a delight as is the open air cafe during the day - very Parisian in style and ambiance on the sidewalk under the trees although our schedule meant that we did not have the chance to try lunch there. Its location is perfect close to The Mall and The White House. Above all though are the excellent staff - the front desk staff and in particular Ali who personally sorted out a problem caused by Housekeeping, and the various Concierge staff, any one of whom would be a credit to a top hotel. We have stayed at many 5* hotels around the World but this stands out as one of the World's greats.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillardDC, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay at the Willard. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. Breakfast at Café du Parc - starting the day with a great breakfast sets you up for a great day of strolling in Washington, D.C. Ali and our concierge staff are wonderful assets to our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with them as well as the entire staff. On behalf of the entire staff, you certainly made our day and we are humbled with your classification of our hotel as "one of the World's greats." We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Willard InterContinental in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel that is centrally located. Great place to stay if you want to be in the heart of DC. A short walk to Ford Theatre and Smithsonian. A few blocks away from the White House. Go ahead a splurge on this over priced hotel because most attractions are free of charge plus it is a lovely hotel. Don't forget that most hotels in DC charge for parking as well on top of nightly rate. One tip is make sure all items are out of you vehicle because parking is not on site so you have to call Valet if you needs access to your vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillardDC, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Willard. We are delighted you chose to stay with us for your most recent trip to our nation's capital. We are very fortunate to be placed in such a prime location and are delighted that you felt the same way. Life is too short not to enjoy and splurge every now and then. We are glad you felt it worthwhile. We hope to see you soon. If you would like us to send you the fall and winter expositions and shows please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wonderful hotel if money is no object. Close to attractions, dining, and shopping. Attended a conference here and the amenities were great. There is a lovely courtyard that can be used for private catered events. My only quibble was they could use some towel bars in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Receptionits are very nice, knowledgable concierge, great location and famous lobby. As per rest - average. My ambassador upgrade - questionable,
had to remind housekeeping to bring rollaway bed. Lack of swimming pool was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Cezary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best place to stay close enough to see monuments and the White House from some of the rooms. A storied hotel with a great history. Nice, well done renovation. A bar that has hosted the likes of Abe Lincoln and others. Many artifacts hanging on the walls. The rooms on upper floors generally have better views. A get place to stay if you have the extra money. NOTHING cheap here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Willard is stunning in the foyer and guest areas. Historical hotel and fantastic location .
Right beside The White House, easy walking distance to all the museums etc.
Old Ebbitt Grill just around the corner.
Rooms are large .....fairly dated furniture and bathroom cabinets.
New TV were installed when we were staying ...which was great to watch America's Cup.
Lack of free wifi a definite negative ....and the cost of $11 per day per connection was disappointing. So if you want your ipad and phone connected it is $22 per day.
No traffic noise.
No expectation of an upgrade ....as you are advised that you can upgrade your room at $22 extra per night.
Great stay ...as the hotel has a very special place in history ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#68 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.