We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can I move in?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“When can I move in?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the front door - beautiful entrance, wonderful service, perfect location - we felt like we were in the right place. Lively sidewalk patio + historical significance + quality beds and bathrooms... the list of quality features is endless.

The White House is only a block away and a quick view down Pennsylvania Avenue to the spectacular Capital Building reminds you that you are in the middle of one of most important cities in the world. Washington is truly beautiful and the Willard Intercontinental is the perfect home base.

The superb location means that you can take full advantage of the neighbours ... rooftop bar next door at the W, wonderful restaurant and bar at The Hamilton, and the Emmitt Grill is right around the corner.

I've re-booked for September!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear karenwaterloo_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write this superb review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and our location so much that you have made us your home away from home when visiting Washington. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in September.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    319
    87
    28
    15
See reviews for
358
432
55
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Like stepping back in time where histgory was made. Very elegant, great service and granduer. A stone's throw from the White House, the National Aquarium and the mall. Fantastic little bar with great services and a special mint julip.

Room Tip: Weekend Internet Specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Paul D,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Willard. I will pass along your comments to the Round Robin Bar team who will be happy to hear you enjoyed their famous mint julep. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you like historic hotels as much as I do... You will love the Willard. Beautiful rooms, great staff, and can't beat the location! So close to The Mall, the White House, monuments.... Wish I had a chance to stay more than two days. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear shanghaimei,

Thank you for your nice comments. I am glad to see you enjoyed staying at our historic property. The Willard is a lovely, elegant hotel that is conveniently located near all of the sites. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Willard on Sunday 12th May 2013 as part of the Priority Club rewards scheme. Hotel reception was perfect and when we checked in we were recognised as platinum club members and upgraded . The hotel is a splendid hotel which reflects the era and the heritage , although those who like moder hotels may think its a bit dated. The afternoon tea in peacock alley is a must! We thought it was excellent and I would reccomend the hotel! Location is virtually on the white house lawn! Room service was impeccable ! And the round bar downstairs was a lovely pre dinner location . All in all a great stay , however we had a suite at the Hamilton two blocks away (part of the intercontinental group also) and that was better value for money but not quite as grand! Both hotels were fab! Don't hesitate to book either!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

There is a reason people consider this the hotel one of the best in DC. They pay attention to the smallest details to make for a great experience, and the staff was incredibly attentive to everything about our stay. It's a beautiful classic, hotel lobby (with some of the city's best Christmas decorations) and the rooms are appointed for the greatest possible relaxation. In addition, the location puts it in the heart of everything going on in DC...if you want to leave the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear wileyc0y0te,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very complimentary review. The Willard is a beautiful building and our lobby is a place to be seen. We are very fortunate to work with a team that is committed to every detail. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the moment we walked in we knew we had made the right decision. Superb location - just a few blocks from White House & Capitol. Superb rooms - the rooms were inviting & really large, with two queen beds & a seating area. The Hotel is beautiful with a large & impressive lobby. The Hotel is within walking distance to many of the attractions, & also a stop for the Hop off Hop On Buses. Our two night stay could not have been more perfect. Though expensive, would certainly recommend for stay in Downtown Washington.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear RKSMumbai,

I am very happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay here at the Willard. We are very lucky to be within walking distance of all the major attractions. Thank you for recommendation and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at the Willard early May, with my wife and 3 young kids. It was much better than I expected, the official photos do it a disservice.

Pros:

1.Great location, right next to the White House and very close to the Mall and all the museums. We greatly enjoyed all our walks (the kids loved the flowers, trees and squirrels).

2.Super spacious rooms, our room would have been a large suite in most other hotels.

3. Price not too high for 5 people at a great hotel, around 350 bucks.

4. Staff was friendly (not amazing), reception was "old school" charming and the lobby area comfy.

5. They had VERY GOOD breakfast. Cafe du Parc has apparently won many awards, and it was indeed super (loved the super fresh pancakes and delicious croque monsieurs.)

Cons:

1. In room entertainment for kids (movies and TV channels) was mediocre to bad.

2. No pool (setting the bar a bit high, I know)


Overall, a GREAT HOTEL, will definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.