We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The most beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel made my visit to DC perfect.

The hotel is situated within reasonable walking distance to The White House, the Washington Monument, The Mall, The White House Visitors Centre and many other attractions situated in this area.

We stayed in DC for the Fourth of July celebrations for 4 nights. The receptionist was extremely welcoming and informative - he gave us a map and highlighted all the best things to see and do around the city, including events that were happening on the Fourth in and around the hotel.

We upgraded on arrival and were given a room overlooking 14th Street NW. The room was huge - both beds were massive and extremely soft and comfortable. There was a sitting area with armchairs and desks, and the room was very airy and light - thanks to the massive windows. The bathroom was also large, with a bath/shower, bidet and vanity area. Both the sleeping area and bathroom was extremely clean and well furnished. There were tea and coffee making facilities and in-room mini-fridge.

We ate each morning in the breakfast restaurant - Cafe Du Park. You were seated to a table and helped yourself to the buffet food on offer. The food was absolutely delicious and the staff were pleasant and helpful. There is also a cafe downstairs from the restaurant where anyone can come in and order treats such as muffins, cookies and other pastry delights alongside tea and coffee. We also used the outdoor restaurant - Occidental Grill and Seafood - which served delicious food.

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful - I cannot find the words to describe it. Each morning, huge bouquets of fresh flowers in vases are centered in the lobby which are lovely to look at. The lobby has many alcoves and places to sit in the cool comfort out of the blistering summer sun. There is an expensive gift shop located on Peacock Alley - again, a luxurious and absolutely stunning walk way within the hotel, lined with Palms and ornamental furniture and sitting areas. At the end of Peacock Alley there an interesting, albeit small, museum, showing the history of the hotel and those who visited it.

We used the Red Door Spa - the staff were again exceptional and we had a pleasant treatment.


From the outside, the hotel is spectacularly beautiful. The doormen are very helpful and cabs are lined up just opposite to be called to the front door.

Because of where the hotel is situated, the area is very quiet at night time with very few other restaurants in the immediate vicinity. If you wish to go shopping nearby, you must walk several blocks in all directions to find the nearest TJ Maxx, coffee shops, H&M and other such shops. There is a Hard Rock Cafe several blocks away along with an Elephant and Castle. There is a White House souvenir shop on the nearest block corner, and a CVS Pharmacy nearby.

This hotel was an absolute fairytale - its decor, location and staff made my stay perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    361
    94
    33
    17
See reviews for
406
492
59
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with 10 other family members in 3 well appointed and spacious rooms. From the moment we checked in (even after no rollaway bed available ) nothing was too much bother. On arrival at our rooms miraculously the rollaway arrived ?!!
The lobby was filled with cherry blossom which was lovely cos Washington wasn't due to recent bad weather. The location is great for sightseeing with plenty of restaurants nearby for all prices. A CVS just across the block for essentials .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear jackysparkle,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed the Cherry Blossoms and will pass along your comments to our florist. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose The Willard Intercontinental via websites and travel agent recommendation. On arrival at Washington Dulles airport we chose the Supreme Shuttle bus service to transport us to the hotel. If you can cope with a shared bus mentality this is a good way to get downtown ... If you are in a hurry ..... It's NOT the way to go ...but taxis are expensive ( $80.00 ish ) to get from IAD to downtown. Anyway, we arrived at the hotel and thought we had arrived in 15th C Paris ... The lobby is very grand and impressive, check in very quick and professional except not being told that wifi is chargeable at $10.95 per 24hrs. Our room was large enough but not as big as some other city centre hotels ... Huge king size bed ( slightly soft but still comfortable ) the dressing room was a nice extra space but poorly lit .... Bathrooms are a bit dated and only a fixed tap and fixed shower head ( no hose ) and some of our fixtures were loose and clearly need some work .... Towels and sheets are replaced daily and bathroom supplies are plentiful .... The staff are very professional and helpful. Two main things disappointed my partner and I ... The rooms, whilst clean and comfortable, are now starting to look out of date and need some updating ... And secondly the breakfast area is so separated from the hotel it feels as if you leave one building to go to a bad imitation of a French cafe serving a rather lack lustre breakfast with highly disinterested staff that don't change cutlery between buffet visits.. A shame for a leading brand hotel with so much competition in central locations. There is no connection or coherence between the main hotel ( opulence and grandeur ) and this area ..... You would expect to be seated in a ballroom type area for breakfast in this hotel. Sadly, that is not the case. Not sure if we would stay here again ... The location is superb, and we even saw President Obama land in his helicopter from our window , it's so close to the White House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is such a lovell hotel to stay at, with great staff to help you whatever you need.

We spent some time reading the reviews of other people and it was clear that the Willard was going to be a great hotel and we certainly weren't disappointed. The style and décor of the hotel is classic grand hotel and when we stayed in Nov'11 it was just coming into Christmas. The decorations in the hotel really added to the luxurious feel.

Without doubt this is the best hotel we have stayed in on any or our trips to the U.S. and if you are looking for somewhere with style, grace and elegance in Washington then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was in an upgraded premier room and this place is definitely dated. Only two outlets on the desk; narrow room; tiny TV. Comfy bed and nice service (except the fact that food trays and linen carts were outside my door the entire stay). For over $500/night I expect more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear TOnyB123_12,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments regarding your recent stay. We certainly regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time with the quality and service we offer and your comments are important to us. These will enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions as needed. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Despite your disappointments I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Location is unbeatable, after all the White House is 1600, Pennsylvania Ave. and the Willard is 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. The Mall and all major attractions are within walking distance.
We had a corner room vith view of the Ellipse, large and comfortable. Not exactly soundproof, though, owing to old-fashioned windows and to a bank of air conditioners on a roof two floors below our windows.
Breakfast at the Cafe du Parc was included in our offer. Very good food, with American staples and French accents. Sticky buns superb, pancakes and waffles run-of-the-mill, the sugar-free maple syrup (labelled Willard) was fantastic.
If you are a history buff don't miss the tiny "museum" in the lobby, near F Street entrance, dedicated to the many events and famous hosts of the Willard.
Personnel all very kind and helpful.
As is customary in luxury hotels, Wi-Fi is not free, not even in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear ChooseyItalians,

Thank you for your very nice comments. We are very proud of our location. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments to the team regarding your breakfast at Cafe du Parc. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I always read what other trip advisor reviewers say about properties in a city I am about to visit. Thanks to the glowing reports on trip advisor about the Willard, I made a reservation there. What a good choice! Someone commented that if you are willing to spend a certain amount of money for a hotel in DC, you might as well leap up a few dollars and get the best. I am so glad I listened. First, I booked with the hotel. The lady who assisted me with the reservation really worked to find me a room with a lower price using all the discounts that could possibly apply. Among the best reasons for choosing this hotel is that it is close to everything. You don't need rapid transit or taxi cabs to get to the White House. It is on the same stree! You can walk to almost everything.As for the hotel, it is luxurious, stately, classic, yet friendly. Many presidents have stayed here, but don't worry that it will have an air of snobbery. It does not. As with any first rate hotel, the room was beutifully decorated and spacious. They anticipated what you might need with the usual quality products, coffees and teas, and even a scale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.