We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in DC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best location in DC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If I could choose the best possible location in DC, it would probably be that one. The hotel is wonderful, charming and very clean. The rooms are great and some have a nice view too.
Also, we had a normal room and when we arrived we received a free upgrade to a better room, without asking for it. That's service!
Well, it is a bit expensive, but if you can afford it, it is great great great. I booked some months in advance and by paying in advance I received a very interesting discount, even without considering the free upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear LightMatt,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your visit to the Willard. Nathaniel Hawthorne once wrote, "the Willard Hotel more justly could be called the center of Washington than either the Capitol or the White House or the State Department." Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    318
    87
    27
    15
See reviews for
356
430
54
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from spending a long weekend in Washington and enjoying a wonderful stay at the Willard Hotel.
From the moment of our warm welcome in the stately reception lobby to the time of check out the experience was outstanding. The guest rooms are large, beautifully decorated, clean and well layed out. The staff are polite professionals with warm smiles and a genuine interest in making your stay memorable and worry free. The location is perfect for exploring the city and the concierge will go out of his way to make your wishes come true if possible. A true step back in time strolling through the lobby, halls and sitting areas. One only has to sit back and imagine a time long ago and the elegance that makes this hotel so special. A true landmark in the city.
Without a doubt this will always be our go to hotel.
To each and everyone who made our stay so special and memorable---"Thank You".
If you are going to Washington and have a chance to stay at the Willard you will be glad you did. A truly outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear tisim,

Thank you for taking the time to share with your comments on your recent stay. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your long weekend in Washington. Our team takes great pride in maintaining our beautiful property while promising exceptional guest service. Thank you for your positive feedback which will be shared with the team and making the Willard InterContinental your hotel of choice while visiting Washington, D.C. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel with great history behind it. The service was outstanding, you could have a few more people at reception to cut down the wait time. Room was smaller than expected but comfortable. Food was first class. Location to other restaurants is ideal. Quick walk to the White House etc. recommend this fine old girl

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guy g,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. The culinary team will be glad to hear that you reviewed their cooking as “first class.” We are fortunate to be within walking distance to many of the historic sites and are happy you found it convenient. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Washington.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I can't add more than what others have already said. Historic. Great location. Lobby that's jaw dropping. The elegance continues in the room and ours had a view of the Washington Monument. Unfortunately it also had a view of a building across the square that was having work done on it until 5am which included a constant warning beeps of the crane in action. It wasn't the Willard's fault and they did everything they could to stop the work and even sent me earplugs. However, the sound was exactly the same as an alarm clock, so I spent two nights with absolutely no sleep. The experience was so bad that I just can't bring myself to give the hotel 5 stars, even though it deserves it. Make sure you take a few minutes to have a look at the hotel's excellent little museum. Go to the Cafe du Parc for good coffee and the Occidental Bar and Grill for dinner (expensive but some of the best food I've ever had).

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up away from the road noise - especially if your room is at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear RodJohnButler,

Thank you for your complimentary feedback and choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental Hotel. We are very fortunate to work in such a beautiful and historic hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you were unable to get two good nights rest due to construction across the street and wish the earplugs worked. I hope to be given another opportunity to welcome you back to the Willard to enjoy a five star experience.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The Willard provides a luxurious hotel in an exceptional location for business travelers and tourists alike. Lovely lobby, historic bar, outdoor cafe, and comfortable, spacious rooms. The staff was very friendly and concierge extremely helpful and knowledgable about tourist sites, transportation, etc. Room values are better on weekends. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Skyboo1,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Should your travels bring you back to Washington, we hope you choose the Willard InterContinental once again.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Willard is only a short walk or inexpensive cab ride from all the great sites and restaurants in DC. We stayed in a simple room with our two teenage daughters. Loved the comfortable beds and pillows--we all slept great after long days on our feet. Every morning during my daughters' extended beautification process, I'd escape to the beautiful lobby, buy a latte at the Cafe du Parc, and read in peace :)

Our favorite thing about the hotel: the Round Robin bar. My husband and I snuck down every evening before dinner, again to avoid the teen beautification process, to sip fantastic cocktails under the gaze of former patrons such as Charles Dickens and Woodrow Wilson. Truly a gem of a bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sydney S,

Thank you for taking the time to share with your comments on your recent stay. We are happy to see that our comfortable beds and pillows made for a good nights rest and that you were impressed with our location and proximity to the D.C. attractions. We are glad you and your husband were able to enjoy cocktails at the Round Robin while your daughters beautified themselves. The team at the Round Robin will adore your comments. We hope to welcome you back to the Willard in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Two nights for business. Great location near the White House and The Mall. Big, comfortable rooms with plush beds. Grand lobby and a bit of historical character everywhere. Would highly recommend. Little expensive, but worth it for all of the extra intangibles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear floricuse,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for recommending the Willard. We are very fortunate to work in such a beautiful hotel which is steeped in history and elegance. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our Nation's Capital.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.