We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sense of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Genève
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A sense of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

For meeting t the World Bank I could have chosen a more conveniently located hotel but I decided to stay at the Willard and experience its atmosphere. I was not disappointed on most accounts. The reception was warm and professional, check-in smooth, the room (upgrade as Intercontinental Ambassador granted as a matter of course) spacius and with a view of the Mall. Breakfast was copiuous, room service accuate, fast and good quality, and the room was clean, kept clean and ample toiletries were provided. The Round Robin Bar was a bit of a let down - cramped and not the atmosphere I had expected. The location is great and access to the metro system worth mentioning. In brief: highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Robert1953,

Thank you for your recommendations in regards to our professional service, location and recognition to our InterContinental Ambassador Program. Thank you for your feedback in regards to your experience at the Round Robin Bar. Hopefully on your next visit it will be less busy and that you may have the opportunity to taste one of our mint julep cocktails. We look forward to seeing you on future visits to our Nation’s Capital.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    336
    90
    28
    16
See reviews for
379
459
54
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A wonderful place to be and a wonderful place to see Washington, DC from The room was warm, spacious and very confortable. The Round Robin bar is well worth the stop. The area that has been set aside to read about the history of the hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that looked out on Pennylvania Avenue on oneside at the hotel courtyard in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our long standing history and complimenting our history gallery. We hope you had the opportunity to try one of our mint juleps in the Round Robin Bar. We are looking forward to our Bonnets and Bowties event on May 3rd in honor of the Kentucky Derby. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our Nation’s Capital on your visit.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter and I just spent a long weekend at The Willard - something we've always wanted to do. Living within 2 hours of our nation's capitol, it is an easy drive for me, although my daughter had to drive up from TN. The Willard did not disappoint! Check-in was smooth and helpful, as well as quick. As a Priority Rewards member we received an upgrade to a larger room on one of the higher floors. Our room was beautiful, as is the hotel. Service was exceptional and the staff was helpful and friendly. Although we were unable to enjoy the special "Cherry Blossom Tea" because we needed to reserve a spot several weeks prior to our stay, we did enjoy strolling through Peacock Alley where tea is served. I hope to return soon with my husband for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The stay at the willard was very good. the rooms are big and set up very comfortable. the staff was very friendly and the place is perfect. the bars and restaurants were good and u literally feel the history of this place while u r there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Manu987,

Thank you for allowing us to create a memorable experience for you. We are very glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the Round Robin Bar and Café du Parc during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Willard in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I used The Willard as our place to stay for our spring vacation in Washington DC, March 14 through March 17, 2013. All staff went our of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. They were all friendly and courteous and made us feel very welcome. The Willard is located close enough to walk to all museums, memorials, and the Arlington Cemetery. My wife just said today that when we return to Washington DC, "we are staying at The Willard".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We live fairly close to Washington DC and visit frequently. It was a special occasion for us and we had tickets to Fords Theater to see Hello Dolly so decided to spend the night in DC. We chose the Willard because of its history and old world charm. The lobby of the hotel is lovely as well as the hallways throughout the hotel. We reserved a suite which consisted of a living room area and separate bedroom and bath. I was terribly disappointed with the bathroom as it was extremely small and in need of painting and updating. Also, we were not happy with the air conditioning as we could not get the temperature to where we would like it to be.....the room was stuffy and too warm. The other areas of the suite were nice but needed dusting and a little TLC. The other disappointed was being informed that the wonderful Willard Room restaurant had closed a few years ago, something we were not aware of when making our reservations. There is a small very casual cafe and a very small bar. Once we checked in we went to the bar for drinks and small bites which were excellent. The problem with the bar, which is very lovely is that it is too small to accomodate the number of people staying in such a large hotel. So it is extremely noisy which makes it difficult to carry on a conversation. After the theater we decided to take a walk and stop somewhere else for drinks and a quick bit but there was nothing available close to Fords Theater so decided to return to our hotel and stop at the bar there only to find it completely full. After 30 minutes or so a table became available so we once again had drinks and small bites. Again, very crowded and very loud but we made the best of it and had a nice time. To sum up The Willard, it is a lovely hotel with a lot of old world charm and history but the rooms need a little sprucing up and it is is need of a more upscale restaurant or larger bar area to accomodate the number of guests. We will choose another hotel next time because of these issues.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Penn Ave, high floor with a view of the Washington Monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I had read a great deal about The Willard before I booked the hotel for a long weekend with our grandson, Benjamin a 7 year old on his first trip to DC. I wanted a hotel that was elegant, where the service would be "white glove", the food would be superior, the rooms would be spotless, the staff would be caring and attentive, the location would be central to touring activities, the concierge would assist in our numerous requests for restaurants and sights to see for a young visitor, and WITHOUT EXCEPTION, the Willard passed with flying colors. The hotel has not only earned their superior reputation from their past guests, but continues to earn it with their current visitors!!!
When we checked in, their was a welcome gift for Benjamin with a huge plate of cookies awaiting his hungry tummy!!! I am so pleased we chose The Willard as it lived up to all of our expectations. Michael , the Concierge, who has been with the hotel for 26 years is just the kind of employee that makes a guest feel welcome and want to return.
The housekeeping staff did a terrific job making sure our room sparkled it was so clean, and even gave Benjamin a few extra toiletries to remember the hotel by.
When we return next year, there is no place but The Willard that we will choose. You continue to earn your incredible reputation. Keep up the good work!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.