We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Save Saved
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a lot of charm. Hotel location is great right in front of Pennsylvania Avenue. The lobby is magnificent. Our room had a great view of some of the features of the mall, including the top of the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very attentive and friendly, as we were celebrating my birthday, they even left us a little gift in the room. We ordered room service for breakfast and the service was very good. Prices are steep and as such you would demand close to perfection. The room looked a bit dated, and the light fixtures were really old. You can tell the light switches are from the reopening back in 198-something! and as I said, when you pay top dollars you expect nothing but the best.

Room Tip: Any room with view to Pennsylvania Av. We were on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    829
    295
    80
    24
    14
See reviews for
325
394
49
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel has been on my hotel bucket list, and I was supposed to stay here two years ago but ended up having chemotherapy instead. When a meeting came up at a nearby hotel, I jumped at the chance to stay here. I got a nice deal on a deluxe king room. It was in a corner and had two sets of windows a decent view. The room was quite spacious and completely quiet. I slept like a baby, as the bed was extremely comfortable. The desk clerk was very informative, and check-in was efficient. I didn't get my promised newspaper each morning, but that was no big deal. I also didn't get turndown service. maybe you have to call? The coffee maker could be replaced. It looked very old, but it made great coffee. All in all, I lover the hotel and hope to come back.

Room Tip: I think the rooms ending in 01 are corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay at this beautiful hotel for a few nights and I had a great time. The place is just magnificent, both full of American history yet modern and contemporary. A great place, no doubt I'll come again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Willard Hotel helps set high standards for 5-star hotels.

The service, room, location and dining all exceeded our expectations, even for a 5-Star hotel. The hotel itself is rich with history, Concierge made excellent restaurant and entertainment recommendations, bell-hops went above and beyond and the rooms were beautiful. Only steps away from The White House, it goes without saying, but I will say it anyway, if you're looking to get around by foot, The Willard is the place to be.

This hotel is worth every penny.

Room Tip: The historic Round Robin is opposite the front-desk and is certainly worth visiting for an after-din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed here serveral times and are never disappointed. Be sure to visit the historic Round Robin Bar and say hello to Jim Hawes. Jim has been featured in serveral Washington Post stories, he has been with the Williard since it re-opened in 1985, and is friendly and makes great cocktails. Take in the pictures on the wall of the bar, walk the Peacock Alley, see the conference rooms downstairs. Even if you do not stay, have a cocktail in the bar and walk the lobby and the history exhibit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Willard Intercontinental is truly a Washington D. C. landmark. Since 1853 it has hosted almost every U.S. President and has a rich history and impressive guest list of "who's who". For instance, Abraham Lincoln and his family stayed here awaiting his inauguration. Martin Luther King finished writing his famous "I Have a Dream" speech while staying at the Willard.The Battle Hymn of the Republic was penned here along with two books by Mark Twain. Most notably, the Peace Convention held at the Willard was a last ditch effort to avert the Civil War.

We stayed at the Willard for a family weekend of fun and sightseeing. It is located in a great spot very close to all the museums of the Smithsonian, the National Mall, monuments and only about two blocks from the White House. Everything about this property is first class.The lobby is is very elegant. The fresh cut flowers are a nice touch.We stayed in a suite on the 10th floor.It was truly one of the most amazing rooms ever!

While some may consider it a little pricey, it depends on what you are looking for. If you want outstanding service, a great location and a some history all rolled into one, the Willard is for you! Be sure to check out the Round Robin bar and try their signature Mojito. It's a very intimate and lively atmosphere for a pre-dinner cocktail or a night cap.

*Check out my other Trip Advisor Reviews under www.tripadvisor.com/members/wayfaringwriter or read my blogs at: www.wayfaringwriter.com or www.travelpod.com/members/wayfaringwriter

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Mi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the Willard over Christmas 2012, arrived Christmas eve and departed the day after Christmas. It was great staying at a hotel that has so much of America's history attached to it, and to think it lay in disrepair before IHG resurrected it. Room was beautiful, with a view of the Washington monument. It was great being a 5 minute walk from the White House, which made it great for viewing the National x-mas tree and all the state trees.
The room wa very clean and well-maintained, did not use items in the refrigerator as did not to pay for the stocked items.
Christmas brunch was astounding, delicious, with the most amazing wait service ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.