We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formal & Historic - Worth a Splurge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Smyrna, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Formal & Historic - Worth a Splurge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

The Willard is defined by its history - you can feel it as soon as you step through the front doors. If you tend to prefer contemporary and relaxed (as I usually do!), you may want to look elsewhere. However, it was fun to stay here for a few nights for work. The Willard has a great location within walking distance to the Reagan center, local restaurants, and even some tourist attractions.

The room, while not huge, was comfortably sized and the bed was great. Bathroom was nothing special, but more than adequate. BE CAREFUL with the mini bar - I picked up a can of nuts to read some nutrition information and was charged for them! That's what I get for not reading the information card first.

If you can, ask for a room facing the park across the street - it makes for a nice view and (at least as of last year) there was free Wi-Fi from the park (some sort of city service). That definitely beat paying for it in the room! Also, there's a drug store just a couple of blocks down the street that's convenient for snacks, drinks, forgotten items, etc. - way cheaper than the hotel gift shop.

  • Liked — Location, History
  • Disliked — Price, Formality
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    354
    94
    33
    16
See reviews for
400
484
59
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsauken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

Great hotel. But everything was fine dine. But at the end it turn out to be a nice place.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The Parking Charge but at least it cheaper then NYC
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

The Willard is a beautiful hotel near the White House that is rich in history and ambiance. The rooms are spacious with flat panel televisions, work desks, etc. The staff at the Willard is first rate and always there to help you. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas, with choral groups performing nightly. The only problem I had was that there was no place to get a bottle of coke for the evening unless you wanted to pay over $4 for the 12oz bottle in the mini bar. The gift shop didn't even carry bottles of soda.

Aside from that one minor complaint my stay was great and the hotel was wonderful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

We arrived at the Willard on the Monday afternoon, December 17. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays. A harp in the background was playing popular Christmas carols.

We were in town to attend a reception. We didn't do any sightseeing but if we had wanted to the location was more than convenient. Staying here, you are a neighbor of the President! It's that close!

Upon checking in, we were given a complimentary upgrade and what has got to be one of the best views possible within our price range. Our room, 927, was situated just right so that when we walked in we could see the sun in all its glory make its way down to the horizon. We could also see the National Christmas tree and the Lincoln Memorial.

The beds were sumptuous and there were plenty of pillows. Apparently you can request softer or firmer pillows. Our room was very large with a flat screen TV and plenty of options for buying movies.

We got ourselves ready and headed to the famous Round Robin bar for a drink before going out. Washington movers and shakers were crowded in like sardines, very animated, such a lively place to be. Drinks were very expensive though.

There was a computerized mini-bar in the room. If you take something out for more than 20 seconds you get charged for it. Getting it out of the mini-bar was about the same price as buying it in the bar would have been.

The bed turn-down service was a neat surprise! We came back after dinner to find the curtains drawn, chocolates on our pillow and some soothing music playing on the clock / radio. The clock/radio ALSO HAS AN iPOD DOCK!!! So, we could listen to our favorite music and recharge it at the same time.

The bathroom was not really special or stylish the way that every other space in the hotel was. But, it was comfortable and functional. The tub is very long, the shower curtain rod is curved for more room. They provide shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and a shower cap among other things. Also provided are spa robes. We didn't have any trouble with hot water or water pressure.

The only problem I could tell was that sometimes we could hear people too well if they were talking right outside our door. But, it never disturbed our rest.

The Washington Post is delivered to your door in the morning.

On the day that we left, we had a nice relaxed breakfast in the Willard Room. Being in that room and in the other public areas of the WIllard Hotel is like having a time machine. The woodwork details, the tile, the painted ceilings.

The breakfast was very expensive as breakfasts go but it was also very good. I don't mind splurging as long as I get excellent food and service. The atmosphere was very elegant.

I spent some time in the History Hall upstairs gleaning interesting bits of information on the history of the hotel. It is an accomplishment that this important landmark was restored so beautifully. For too many years it sat vacant and decaying. Only 5% of the original was able to be salvaged--the rest was painstakingly restored. Most of the mosaic tile floors in the lobby are original. The guest rooms were gutted and rearranged to be bigger and brighter. Since the original renovation the rooms have been redecorated as well.

The impression I got from the staff is that they understand how special the Willard is. The folks who checked us in were great; we requested and were granted a later check-out which was also greatly appreciated, Everyone was very friendly, polite and helpful.

All in all, our stay at the Willard was short but memorable. If you love DC, staying at the historic WIllard will add to your experience.

This will not be our last.

  • Liked — The comfort and luxury.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

The Willard sets the bar very high for all other hotels. The wonderful and genuinely friendly staff, the great location a block from the White House, and the terrific rooms all makes for a wonderful experience. If American politics are remotely interesting to you, the hotel's history is intertwined with American politics...the term lobbyist was coined here. The concierge is excellent. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Liked — The great lobby and the great concierge
  • Disliked — Our stay was too short
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I travel frequently to DC on business, stay at many DC hotels, and this is the hotel I choose for my family when they get to join me. It has a wonderfully location around the corner from the White House and they treat you wonderfully. As in most older hotels the rooms do vary but the rooms are well done yet hark back to an earlier time. Beautiful restaurant and even offers a great place for afternoon tea. If you get the opportunity it is well worth the stay!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

This was our first trip to DC and we stayed at the Willard while attending a wedding there. We enjoyed everything about the Willard--great location, fabulous service and lovely room. We were able to walk to many of Washington's monuments and museums as well as into the downtown area. When we tired of walking, there was always a cab available. Service was impeccable and the staff helpful and accommodating. Room service was quick and efficient, although expensive. Our deluxe room was lovely although the view wasn't great. The bed and linens were comfy and the bathroom could use a little updating (tacky shower curtain over the bath). All in all, a "capitol" stay at the Willard. We hope to return--there's never enough time to see all of the historical monuments and museums. Great city!

  • Liked — impeccable service, great location
  • Disliked — expensive!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.