We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com IHG
and 7 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Yorktown, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Willard for a special occasion. Everything in the hotel is first class. The staff is attentive and prompt. The building is beautiful and in top condition. We could not ask for more and while the is not inexpensive, it's worth the price

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    257
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
290
339
44
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble. The room was large & nice but the view was of the opposite building. This hotel is very formal & the bar very expensive. So if your looking for a relaxed atmosphere this might not be the place for you. The hotel oozes with history & the Peacock Alley was very pretty, especially with the Christmas decorations. Also, Wifi is $11.00 a day. This was irritating given the price of the room. Even Motel 6 offers free wifi!! Overall it was a glamourous hotel, fab location but too formal for us. Mind you, Washington itself is a very serious city. Sounds obvious given America is run from here but having arrived after visiting southern cities like Nashville, Memphis & New Orleans the contrast was stark.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This year our children came to our house after Christmas so we made a series of short trips to interesting places before the Holiday. Our final trip was to DC, starting the 23rd through the 25th. The nations capital is a great place during the holiday season with beautiful decorations and special events everywhere. One of our activities was the National Symphony playing the Messiah at the Kennedy Center. We found a great package at the Willard which included early check-in, late check-out, room upgrade, breakfast, and a $100 food credit. In addition, I ask for and received free WiFi. All these goodies made the Willard a big value from a cost standpoint and the hotel more than lived up to its formidable reputation. Only two blocks from the White House the location can't be beat. We received a double upgrade to a beautifully decorated Willard Room which was huge with a king bed encased in high quality bedding, flat screen TV, sitting area with couch and relaxing chair, separate office area, and bath with separate shower and tub. If the small office was converted into a kitchen I could easily live there. As expected the drinks/snack bar was overpriced; bring your own booze and snacks if you want to save big. Service was exceptional, especially the front desk and bell staff, they were knowledgeable and always pleasant. The breakfast buffet was a little smaller than some others but the quality was excellent. They would fix eggs any way you wanted but an omelet was five bucks additional. We used our food credit for dinner at the Cafe du Parc restaurant which was very good; high quality, local ingredients with attentive but not overbearing service. I had a filet which was perfectly cooked. The ambiance was not much but the food made up for it. The entrance and lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays with a huge tree and numerous poinsettias. On Christmas morning Santa was on hand accompanied by a strings group playing Christmas carols, a very nice touch. All in all a perfect place to spend a few days during the holiday season.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor, a higher room might cut down on street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is difficult overstate the quality of InterContinental hotels. In London and Washington they are fantastic. However, the history and location of the Willard makes it especially nice. We did a "Christmas walk-through" a couple of years ago and promised ourselves a special treat in the future. Our stay was just that, special. The room, 739, was spacious and comfortable. There was no view to speak of, but we did not stay for the view. The valet service is professional and supportive, entering the hotel over the Christmas holidays you are greeted by a magnificently decorated tree surrounded by gift boxes, and the desk service is quick and efficient.

On the side of slight disappointments, the Round Robin bar is too small and crowded and while we did not mind the cost for an additional persons staying with us, my step-son, the hotel should have included additional bath supplies and an extra cup in addition to the very nice roll-in bed. Considering our delight with the hotel experience that is a tiny bump in the visit.

The room, hotel, decorations, location and staff support made it a delightful and memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel located in a perfect area for walking downtown DC. Steps from the Smithsonian. The staff is some of the friendliest I have experienced. Rooms were big and beautiful. We stayed during the holiday season and the decorations were spectacular. Staff was professional and helpful. Rooms were very clean and concierge was great. Very historic hotel was classic DC and would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The adjoining restaurant is quite good with amazing mussels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We picked this hotel after much review on trip advisor and other sites. Our White House Tour was the first one of the day and we wanted to be close by so we had no worries about making our designated timeframe. You cannot go wrong by choosing this hotel. It is close to everything you need and is right next door to the White House. If you are looking for a very clean, comfortable and centrally located place to stay this is an excellent choice. This was our first site seeing trip to D.C. So it was important to us to do it right the first time. Yes, it is a little pricy but the true measure for us was would we return and did we feel that this was a good value overall. Yes to both. The room was nice and clean and everyone was very accommodating. A safe bet for those first time visitors.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I were in DC for a few days for the National Treelighting Ceremony and wanted to stay near the White House and Presidental Park. What a perfect location this was. We also got a great rate for a delux king room. Because the rate was so good I was exepcting the room to be fairly ordinary but we found ourselves in a large comfortable room, with a beautiful view, king bed, seating area with couch, two chairs, coffee table and side tables, a granite counter top and cabinets, equipped with coffee maker, cups, glasses, water and mini-fridge. There was also a nice desk set up with a charging panel for Iphones and Ipads. There was a charge for internet but it was reasonable and could be purchased in hourly, daily or multi day packages. The bathroom was not particularly large but it was modern and had a very nice shower. We only ate at the hotel one day for breakfast because there are so many other restaurants and cafes nearby. There was a room just off the lobby(might be called the hotel museum) with lots of old pictures that I would recommend checking out if you're interested in history.
The hotel itself is quite old and proud of its history, displaying pictures of many former presidents and politically important people. The lobby always seems to be bustling with people. We were there in early December and the hotel was decorated for Christmas, with garland and trees and even official White House ornaments. There were at least two or three Choirs on the lobby everyday singing carols and entertaining guests.
Not only was the hotel lovely but the service was exceptional from the doorman to the front desk to the maid service......polite, friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1850, the name Willard has epitomised the grand hotel concept in the nation s capital. Today, Willard InterContinental Washington continues the tradition in landmark style. Located just two blocks from the White House and the National Mall, the hotel is convenient to government and business offices, shopping and many must-see sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willard InterContinental Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Willard InterContinental Washington to your Saves list