We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, large comfortable room, reception staff not so friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, large comfortable room, reception staff not so friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here for one night. Had requested on booking an early check in and telephoned day prior ro arrival as flying overnight from Vegas to Washington and would like to rest and freshen up on arrival. This request was not met and we were told to return at 4pm, came back at 2pm and told nothing available as yet. We were exhausted and had to wander about in the heat outside until a room became available. The room was large, 2 queen beds, large plasma tv. House keeping came to the room promptly when we called about no shampoo being left in the room. Large bathroom, nice strong shower and nice toiletries. Used express check out service, very useful. good location for seeing the sights of Capitol Hill, close to Union station. Not many restaurants in the immediate area

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    431
    132
    41
    53
See reviews for
263
276
69
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Spent 4 days in DC at Washington Court during the Cherry Blossom Festival Week. The amenities are world class; the hotel staff is the best I have experienced, every staff person made me feel at home and welcomed. A great spot to have as a homebase from which to explore the sights and/or business.
And the view of the Capital is just second to none. This is the hotel I will come back to in DC for business travel and for R&R.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We had a excellent experience with the Washington Court. James and all the staff were very helpful to these 1st time to DC travelers, from the initial contact 2 months earlier till we departed. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay, but the internet description is a tad misleading. We booked months ago and asked for a room with view of capitol as seen on their site- got to look at rooms across the atrium. The lack of a safe in the room was disconcerting. they have one at front desk, but we are paranoid when it comes to passports
Overall a fine place and a great location
Washington's metro is very good, but don't expect much help from staff- thanx to all those commuters we approached for assistance
Would recommend and would return

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

My fiancee and I booked a king room at the rack rate over a month ago on the hotel's website, and even called the day of our arrival to let the front desk know that we would be arriving late. When we arrived, the person at check-in chuckled as he looked in the computer to check us in and told us that if we didn't like the room to come back down. We found this rather odd...until we went up to the room and saw that not only was it not a king room, it did not even contain a bed but rather a flimsy sucken-in pull-out COUCH!! We understand it was a busy weekend with little room availability, but our main problem with the staff was that the night manager Roy was completely unhelpful and made no effort to help us find a suitable room either in their hotel or another hotel. We were not even offered a discounted rate for the pull-out couch! We had to call around on our own and eventually found another room at the Hyatt across the street, which had a much friendlier and helpful staff and beautiful facilities. Overall just a terrible experience at the Washington Court Hotel, will not return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

The stay at Washington Court was very good to excellent. Every staff person we encountered from Bell to Front Desk were charming, helpful, and professional. James at the front desk was outstanding! The room was quiet even though it was the closest to the elevator! Nice touch also to have a door on the ice/vending room. We found the bed to be very comfortable, the wife had no problem falling asleep, not always the case at a hotel. Location to the National Mall and museums was superior! Exercise room had a nice selection of free weights in addition to arobic and lifting apparatus. Beautiful lobby etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Located very close to the Capital and Union Station. Housekeeping less than desirable - never seemed to be able to leave us towels. Restaurant is very expensive. We found an alternative right acrossed the street at Billy Goat's Tavern. Basic food, but great prices. Internet is expensive to use. 7 minutes on the lobby computer with ten copies printed out cost me $31. Staff was very nice. We got a 40% off deal during the Cherry Blossom Fesitval. If that is the case for everyone, I'd recommend the hotel. Not much to entertain the kids if you don't wear them out enough during the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#55 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.