We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March for Life Trip: Stay Above Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“March for Life Trip: Stay Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We arrived about 5 PM on the day after the Presidential Inauguration, for the National March for Life events. The location is fantastic: 3 short blocks (or 2 long ones) from Union Station.

Check in was smooth and we were given a nice "Deluxe King" with a view of the Capitol, room 1201. This room may have been the best location on the floor - across but down from the elevators. We did not hear any noise from the other rooms (or the teens, mentioned below). There were some sirens from outside, but I can't remember hearing any at all after we went to sleep --- I was probably too tired.

There were other people there for the March and some who had stayed after the Inauguration. The staff was considerate and treated us all well. I was impressed with their patience with and accommodation for the youth groups (one pro-life group and one with Obama Inauguration gear). Even with all the teens going up and down, we never had to wait for an elevator.

The bed was very comfortable with the cuddly duvet wrapped in snow white sheets and I appreciated the king sized pillows. The room temperature was adjustable and also very comfortable. We enjoyed the club chairs, the ottoman, and the large flat screen TV.

I used the business center twice. Every thing worked well and the staff was helpful.

The main problem was the lack of room service or vending after 11 PM. I imagine that most visitors are tourists like us, who come back late in the evening. We would have definitely ordered room service on the last two nights if available.

There was also the problem of low staffing in the restaurant on Thursday night. The food was very good, but we did have to wait longer than expected for our service. I highly recommend the tomato soup. The fried potatoes were attractively served in a stemmed glass.

We ordered room service breakfast, which was delivered quickly and piping hot.

Finally, the tub was not as clean as it should have been. After walking all over town in the cold weather, I took advantage of the deep soaking tub. While sitting in the tub, (and only while sitting in the tub) the mold on the sliding door guide looked bad awful looking. There was also a small amount of mold visible just inside the overflow drain. The rest of the metal work, the tile grout and the doors were spotless.

I've stayed at several hotels in DC over the years, but this is the first time that I've found a hotel that I believe I will try to stay at again.

  • Liked — Location, bed
  • Disliked — Lack of food, beverage after 11 PM.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    431
    132
    42
    53
See reviews for
263
277
69
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

My parlor room was spacious, well appointed, and had one of the most spectacular views of the Capital dome. It was a great visit!

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

The hotel room was lovely, we paid harly anything to stay for 2 night. We were sleeping on a sofa bed which we were a bit worried about at first but as we walked into the room it was gorgeous. The room was massive with lovely views and it was very modern. The bathroom was massive to and the sofa bed was just as good as a double bed! the only problem with this hotel is that if you turn left out of the hotel and walk up a bit there is the homeless shelter about a 2 minute walk away so there are a lot of homeless people around which is quite scary at night. There is a liquor shop right by it too so the homeless people all hang out by there so you dont feel overly safe. The other problem we had was that there was building work being down on the building next door, drilling early in the morning woke us up both mornings which wasnt nice then as we were checking out a man in front was checking in and the reception lady told the man about the drilling and moved him to another hotel, we never got told about it at all or given the option to move which was disappointing.

Overall this hotel was lovely and the room was very nice, the only downfall was the drilling and being so close to a homeless shelter

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

It was a best value and comfort hotel in the Capitol Hill. I checked in on 12/28/08 and out on 12/30/08 with $88/day. The hotel is clean and looks a newly renovated.
Staffs were friendly and professional. Bathroom is larger and clean. Comfortable beds with a larger flat screen TV.
The hotel is close to the Capitol about 15 min walks.
The hotel charged $34 overnight parking. The parking meters are 15 min/quarter($0.25) with 2 hours limits from 7am - 7pm on the street except Sunday. There is a parking garage charging $15 from 7am - 7pm under the building of 601 New Jersey Ave. NW on the side of across street.
Basically I paid $15 to park my car in the garage and walked to the museums. In the evening, I took my car out before 7pm to the dinner in the 7th street at H street. There are many restaurants for the locals and tourist. Just be patient to look for parking space and it is free after 7pm. There is a Starbucks across the Ave for your breakfast.
I enjoyed my Washington DC trip and was happy to stay with Washington Court Hotel.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Our stay was wonderful. Great room, view and location. Staff was very nice. I think we were upgraded because the hotel was almost empty and I asked for a room with a view of the capitol and they had to change our room from an inside view. We also got a great price so I can't imagine our room would ever be $77. I'm pretty sure we were upgraded!

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — expensive internet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

I regretably had a work confrence at the Washington Court Hotel. Althought the loby was impressive looking and the food was decent that is where it stopped. This hotel was seriously over priced. There was a significant amount of mold in the bathtub. The staff was incredubly rude on the phone and in person nor did they listen.

I requested a refrigerator for medical purposes. The woman told me they were only available for medical purposes. I repeated I needed the refrigerator for medical purposes. She said she would make a note in my records and when I got there they would see if one was available. I did not find her response to be helpful nor did she offer an alternative if a refrigerator was not available. Althought I did get a refrigerator I found the whole experience to leave me feeling devalued, frusterated, uncertain, worried, and wishing I did not have to book this hotel because of my work confrence.

I was awoken all 3 nights with the alarm going off at midnight. I was also awoken every 15-30 minutes by the doors in the hotel slamming shut or people talking in the hallway. I could hear the neighbors TV and talking. I left feeling exhausted from the lack of sleep.

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU INTEND TO GET ANY SLEEP, WANT TO FEEL COMFORTABLE & CLEAN SHOWEREING, OR IF YOU VALUE ANY AMOUNT OF CUSTOMER SERVICE. In contrast I had a wonderful experience at Hotel Lombary which was almost 1/3 the cost and consistently phenomenal service and a clean bathroom. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HOTEL LOMBARDY as an alternative!!!!

  • Liked — the look of the lobby
  • Disliked — almost everything what a miserable experience
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The two primary qualities I look for in a hotel are cleanliness and quietness. Overall the cleanliness of the hotel was good; however there were several hairs on my bed sheets upon my arrival.

Most importantly to me is the issue of quietness, after all, I am their primarily to sleep. This is where the property failed miserably. The doors to the rooms are not equipped so that they shut softly, but rather when they do close they are VERY loud. I was awakened each night between 12:00 midnight and 1:00 am, and again in the mornings around 5:00 am to 6:00 am, by room doors along our hallway being closed. This was totally unacceptable.

In addition, the walls in our room which bordered other rooms allowed a great deal of sound to come through. I could hear our neighbor's televisions and hear them speaking, all over the sound of the television in my room. They might as well have been standing in my room.

Overall, I like the look of the property and the staff. However, I would never stay there again, nor would I recommend this property to anyone (at any price), as I got very little sleep due to the sound issues.

  • Liked — Looks nice.
  • Disliked — Sound issues prevented quality sleep.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#47 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#56 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.