We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on Capitol Hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location on Capitol Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place does a booming convention business. The overall facility is upscale without being pretentious. Good lobby bar lounge areas conducive to conduct business discussions. Room was fine, a cut above. The breakfast buffet was very adequate. Great location for Capitol Hill activities, Smithsonian, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    380
    111
    35
    50
See reviews for
235
248
61
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

When people around the country complain that the folks in Washington don't know what they're doing, they must be talking about the Washington Court Hotel.

We arrived on a muggy August afternoon, having just walked over from Union Station. It was still fairly early, so we checked our bags with the bellmen and went out to enjoy the day.

When we came back at 4:00pm, we were able to check in and were sent to a room on the 3rd floor. When asked if they received the requests I had made a few weeks prior for a room on a high floor, they claimed ignorance. Never mind that I actually spoke to someone at the front desk when I called, the staff said that there was a legal convention happening in the building and that all of the upper floors were booked.

We were sent up to our room and we walked past it twice. This was because there was a pile of dirty room service trays and dishes outside the door. We figured someone was staying in it, hence the dishes. Imagine our surprise when we discovered that was our room.

The room was filthy. Poorly cleaned, and it stunk to high heaven of ketchup. There were streaks of food on the top of the dresser, and the bathroom reeked of god knows what. The rug was shabby and didn't look vacuumed.

We immediately went back to the front desk as we refused to put down our bags. To their credit, they immediately put us in a new room and sent us up to the 4th floor. It's important to note that originally they told us nothing about 3 was available. Now we're sent to the 4th floor. This would be lie number one.

The room on the 4th floor was a closet of a room, and was also dirty. Sure, it seemed clean, but then we noticed the giant greasy handprint on the headboard over the bed. Looked like a sweaty handprint made by someone in the midst of a good time, if you know what I mean. Shocked to see this, we once again went down to the front desk. It was at this point that we encountered the front desk supervisor, Anthony Woods.

When we told Anthony our situation, he didn't care one bit. Didn't care that the first room was dirty. Didn't care that the second room was dirty. In fact, he called me a liar. He told me that his Housekeeping Manager went to the room and said it was clean. And apparently, if his Housekeeping Manager says something is clean, then it's clean. Never mind that I've now wasted 30 minutes of my life trying to fix the situation - I must be wrong. He gave me a very patronizing attitude and told me he would check our old room on the 3rd floor to see for himself.

How dare you call a guest a liar, Anthony Woods? Do you not know anything about customer service? If the room is dirty, it's dirty. Don't waste time and argue. Make the guest happy. That's your job.

Anthony Woods then told us there was nothing he could do, and that our room on the 4th floor was the only option. He was about to offer us free breakfast, but then rescinded that offer. Are you keeping track of the lies so far?

We went back to the dirty room on the 4th floor. The Housekeeping Manager came into the room, saw the greasy handprint and laughed. He then went to get a bottle of Windex, and proceeded to spray over our pillows and wipe the headboard. Yes, cleaning solution was getting on the pillows. When Windex didn't work, he returned with another chemical. This time, he climbed on the bed himself and scrubbed the handprint away. So now I'm in dirty room number two, with Windex on my pillow, and a Housekeeping Manager climbing on a "clean bed."

Satisfied that he had cleaned our room thoroughly, the Housekeeping Manager left, only to return five minutes later, as he left the dirty rags and cleaning solution on our nightstand.

Resigned to our fate in the gross room, we started to unpack and settle in.

Then we noticed a giant, hard white stain on our comforter.

I called the Front Desk and again, I got Anthony Woods, who sent our favorite Housekeeping Manager back up to our room. He told us that the "stain" was actually an iron burn, and that there was nothing wrong with the comforter. When asked if they seriously kept burned comforters in circulation amongst guest rooms, he told us that this is pretty routine for them.

Two dirty rooms, dirty pillows, lying and careless staff. And all within the first hour of checking in.

Another call to Anthony Woods got us a promise that the General Manager would be in at 7am and would be in touch. We left our cell phone number and were told he would call.

Yeah, no. The hotel manager called our room phone at 10:15am. Never mind that we left our cell phone for this exact purpose - the guy called our room phone when he knew we would be out and about. We were promised another call back on our cell, but needless to say this never happened.

It's important to note that I complained on the hotel's Facebook page within an hour of arriving at the hotel and experiencing this nightmare. I got a generic, canned response three days later - so you know this company has no idea how to run social media. I also complained to them after I returned home, and there was no response. Finally, one of their employees who happened to be a catering manager replied to my post via his personal account. Don't bother looking for the post though, because the hotel already deleted it.

We made the best of the next four days. We had a great time in D.C., and took in all the sights and activities. The low point of the whole trip, however, was our stay at the Washington Court Hotel.

We're not high maintenance people. Look at my other reviews. I love to give out glowing feedback. But this place doesn't deserve any of it. When you come to a hotel, all that really matters is a clean room. We were denied a clean room. Worse than that, we were called liars by the Front Desk Supervisor, Anthony Woods.

I can't forgive two dirty rooms. I can't forgive sloppy housekeeping and a lazy Housekeeping Manager. I cannot forgive a terrible Front Desk Supervisor. I cannot forgive a careless General Manager. And I cannot recommend the Washington Court Hotel by any means.

Your experience may vary, and based upon some of the reviews here, it seems many folks have had great experiences.

But ours sucked.

And we'll never stay here, or recommend it to anyone ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at the Washington Court twice - both times for work and on the month of February. The location is great-was able to see many sites around Capitol Hill when I was not attending workshops. The rooms are clean and neat with comfortable beds. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, including at Union Station which is just a few blocks away. The meeting too s were also nice. The lobby area is beautiful. If I were to travel to DC again I would not hesitate stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

After the hotel in New York this was an eye opener. Walked in the lobby, turned to my wife, we're in the wrong hotel aren't we?
Amazing, room amazing, area amazing. 10 min walk from station. Great breakfast place round corner and bus stop on corner to downtown area . Can't recommend this hotel enough, the value for money outstanding. 15 minutes journey to Ronald Reagan airport and check in on the pavement, a dream come true.
As Arnie said, 'I'll be back'

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Right in the heart of it all. Around the corner from union station and the Postal Museum. Great Staff. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect for 4 adults to share. And the beds were comfortable. There is no pool, however we were so busy going to all the museums that we wouldn't have time to use one so it wasn't missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel !!! Lobby was very big and open. Free wifi was a bonus. Extremely close to the capital. Great price. 2 blocks from metro which helped since we took it from airport. Basically can take the metro anywhere. Very clean and new rooms! Pool table was a plus.staff super nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Made last minute plans for the Labor Day weekend and stayed here because it was only a 10 min. walk from Union Station. Very pleased with the location, staff and room. The hotel was reasonably priced, clean with a great bar in the lobby. The bathroom was good-sized but could use a little updating. Missing was a fridge in the room and a room safe to store valuables. The hotel had an on-site restaurant and we ate breakfast here twice.. Food was good but a little expensive...but DC is an expensive town. We could go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.