We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington Court Hotel great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Seekonk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Washington Court Hotel great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Right in the heart of it all. Around the corner from union station and the Postal Museum. Great Staff. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect for 4 adults to share. And the beds were comfortable. There is no pool, however we were so busy going to all the museums that we wouldn't have time to use one so it wasn't missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    353
    104
    35
    48
See reviews for
223
232
57
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel !!! Lobby was very big and open. Free wifi was a bonus. Extremely close to the capital. Great price. 2 blocks from metro which helped since we took it from airport. Basically can take the metro anywhere. Very clean and new rooms! Pool table was a plus.staff super nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Made last minute plans for the Labor Day weekend and stayed here because it was only a 10 min. walk from Union Station. Very pleased with the location, staff and room. The hotel was reasonably priced, clean with a great bar in the lobby. The bathroom was good-sized but could use a little updating. Missing was a fridge in the room and a room safe to store valuables. The hotel had an on-site restaurant and we ate breakfast here twice.. Food was good but a little expensive...but DC is an expensive town. We could go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is great and recommend to anyone, clean, great atmosphere and very close to the metro station . Make sure you make it to the bar, Josh the bartender is probably the highlight. Very friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is absolutely lovely with a slightly urban "buzz" and feel. The staff was very pleasant with five star customer service! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Dale, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was an encore visit to the Washington Court Hotel. We haven't found a better location only a few blocks to the Union Station and Metro line. The room we found ourselves in this time was on the front of the hotel, so we experienced a lot of street noise (last time we were on the side and it was very quiet). The room was fine...very comfortable beds and pillows. The bathroom was another matter--the grout in the tub/shower was badly stained and disagreeable--all in all, it needed a facelift. Sadly, the biggest drawback is the lack of complimentary WIFI in the room. So unless you are willing to pay ten bucks for what turns out to be very slow service--your alternative is the lobby where WIFI is free. Also, we couldn't help notice the lack of complimentary coffee in the lobby which seems to be a standard amenity in almost all hotels and motels. Great location, but we're not planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Just refuse a room on the front of the hotel if you plan to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last month for a business trip and short vacation. The hotel is a few blocks from the train station, which was a fine place to park the car (rather than valet at the hotel). The lobby is quite large, the furniture worn. We sat there frequently to check email since they do not offer free wifi. The front desk staff were not that nice and a bit terse upon checking in. The room itself was not clean. There was a dirty tissue under the night stand and coffee stains on the wall in the bathroom. (The bathroom is where the coffee maker was - gross.) The bed was not that comfortable but the bathroom was quite large, although not clean enough. (Random hairs, mold in tub.) Although we were on a high floor, we could hear fire engines drive by all hours of the day and through the night. The location was not convenient for us but the price was "budget friendly". The best thing this hotel has going for it is the bell men. There were 2 gentleman who were exceptionally friendly and fun; they made us feel welcome. At checkout I told the front desk about the dirty tissue and coffee stains in the bathroom - and that they stayed there the entire 5 days of our stay. He stated that we should have told them at check in, and I told him I wanted to see how attentive and thorough the cleaning staff were. (Apparently not very.) Since we paid in advance through a discount hotel website, there was "nothing" they could do. (Um, not even comp the 2 beers we had at the bar??) We will never stay here again or recommend it to family/friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.