We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great LOCATION park across the St @ COLONIAL PARKING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great LOCATION park across the St @ COLONIAL PARKING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed June 1-2 @ Washington Court. Found the deal through Groupon, was concerned about the view, but who cares in the end since we left early and came home late dead tired, we had the front view of the New jersey Ave on 11th floor. Location is AMAZING, is walkable distance to any landmark. Hotel parking is overpriced, we left the car at Colonial Parking across the street for $22 for overnight stay a total of 27 hours parking.

No breakfast included so we ate across the union station at Corner Bakery. Great room, great service, no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    372
    109
    35
    50
See reviews for
232
244
60
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ANNAPOLIS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We arrived on Friday before check-in but were able to leave our car and check our bags with porter in secure area. The front desk texted us when the room was ready as we used this time to sight see.
Another review on trip advisor had stated to ask for a quiet room on a top floor away from the street as a firehouse is nearby. We did and all was well.the room was clean and quiet.
We did not eat in the hotel but many people seemed to populate their restaurant. The staff was helpful and accommodating. Parking is expensive in DC but we left our car on Saturday for no added fee (pick up around 2pm) and again left our luggage and did more sightseeing. It was a special occasion for us and we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Did not use the fitness center and I didn't pay attention to pool availability. I would ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Washington Court Hotel over Memorial Day weekend with my 7 year old grandson. Though primarily a business hotel (some conferences were in progress while we were there) I was pleasantly surprised to discover how child-friendly it was. The doormen were pleasant and spent time talking with him and he just loved the breakfast buffet (kids eat for 1/2 price.) I found all of the staff friendly and courteous; spilled milk was met with a smile and "No problem."
Our room was large, the beds comfortable with plenty of pillows, the showers good and hot.
I'd chosen the hotel based on location; it is about two blocks from Union Station and we'd come by train from NC. It is also conveniently situated close to the Capitol building and National Mall. This was my grandson's first visit to DC and we made the most of it, visiting museums, the Lincoln Memorial and the Zoo. The area felt safe and the Washington Court provided us with a good base for our explorations.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Capitol building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights. Room was a good size and comfortable. Bar and restaurant were adequate. Room needed a few more amenities... No safe, no mini-fridge, no hotel service directory. Internet access is pretty slow and pricey. Great location... Just a few blocks to US Capitol and Union Station.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I will say it was a average experience at this hotel. Rooms were nice but I was not happy with the helpfulness of the staff. Overall I will say it was a good hotel with a bad management. The beds were comfortable and I think breakfast would have been more better if it was presented nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

recently stayed on an overnight visit to DC. checked-in tired after doing the National Mall tour on foot and dozed. After an hour or so we discovered valuables & cash missing from a bag and made a report to the hotel and hotel security investigated. They said only our keys were used during the time of loss, so the door was open during the burglary. It turned out there are no cctv cams in the room corridors. Granted that we may have mis-closed the door, the hotel's security system is below par, in our opinion. Oh, by the way, we frequently saw shady characters loitering around the hotel's vicinity.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just had a 5 night stay and really enjoyed our stay there. I thought housekeeping, in particular, were very helpful and efficient. Great location for the National Mall and they have the most comfortable beds! We had the best time in Washington DC over the Memorial Weekend and staying at the WCH made it that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.