We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Albany, New York
1 review
“Worst Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I will say it was a average experience at this hotel. Rooms were nice but I was not happy with the helpfulness of the staff. Overall I will say it was a good hotel with a bad management. The beds were comfortable and I think breakfast would have been more better if it was presented nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    398
    121
    39
    53
See reviews for
247
262
65
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

recently stayed on an overnight visit to DC. checked-in tired after doing the National Mall tour on foot and dozed. After an hour or so we discovered valuables & cash missing from a bag and made a report to the hotel and hotel security investigated. They said only our keys were used during the time of loss, so the door was open during the burglary. It turned out there are no cctv cams in the room corridors. Granted that we may have mis-closed the door, the hotel's security system is below par, in our opinion. Oh, by the way, we frequently saw shady characters loitering around the hotel's vicinity.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just had a 5 night stay and really enjoyed our stay there. I thought housekeeping, in particular, were very helpful and efficient. Great location for the National Mall and they have the most comfortable beds! We had the best time in Washington DC over the Memorial Weekend and staying at the WCH made it that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stay here 3 nights! We love it hotel very closed for walk to go see all nice buildings, we got room with nice view,we will back to stay again soon. Any one look for hotel I recommendation this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here the night before the Rock N Roll marathon this past March. The location was fantastic to the mall and the Capitol especially. Plenty of restaurants were not far. We did not eat in the hotel but there was a restaurant there. Rooms were clean and seemed very up to date! Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in the fall of 2012, and had a great trip. The rooms were very nice, although somewhat small. Realistically though, it's DC, and we spent more time walking around than we did in our room, so size wasn't an issue at all. The hotel is very convenient to the mall, but it does put you at the capital end, so if you're looking to get to the other end of the mall with most of the monuments, be prepared to walk a bit. Hotel had a good buffet, although it was slightly overpriced for my tastes. That just may be what most hotels in DC are like. Overall, it was a great stay and I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, nc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Got a great rate on Priceline and my partner and I enjoyed a pleasant weekend a the Washington Court.
Very large, clean room with a view of the Capitol done. The bathroom was especially large for a hotel with a bathtub as large as ours at home. Perfect for soaking my tired legs after trudging all over DC. The room service breakfast menu was oddly inexpensive (as such things go) and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast in the room one morning.
The $46 valet parking seemed ridiculous so we parked at Union Station which is only a few blocks away and is $22 a night. It's also the closest metro stop with lots of restaurants and shops.
It is a very short walk to the National Gallery on the Mall.
There is a homeless shelter nearby but certainly no one bothered us and one need not walk by it-there are other ways into downtown or to the metro. Homelessness is a sad fact in cities like DC; it it's that bothersome perhaps another type of vacation or destination would be more appropriate.
Overall, very nice stay and we'd be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up facing the Capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.