We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is located couple blocks from the capitol hill and union station. Clean and comfortable hotel. The experience was soured tremendously when my bags were stolen out of my car in while it was parked int he garage (valet). There was no damage to my car - so the valet attendant must have either left it unlocked or one of the attendants participated in the theft. The hotel took no responsibility because they subcontract valet parking. The valet parking operation never returned my calls and gave me the runaround every time I called. I strongly suggest not to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    348
    102
    35
    47
See reviews for
217
226
57
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked this hotel with a very good deal and were not let down. The location is superb, you can see the Capital building and it is a few blocks away from Union Station Metro. The hotel room was nicely furnished and the bed was to die for. The bathroom could have used some new caulking, etc, but was absolutely fine with a spacious shower. We arrived early and the staff allowed us to check our bags and give us a call when a room was ready for early check in, which happened around 2pm. Overall, we couldn't have been happier with the hotel and the deal we got, we did not use the parking, gym or restaurants in the hotel. The one downside was that the side of the hotel, on the way to Union Station, appeared to be a place where the homeless would wander, I wouldn't be there at night alone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this hotel during the Cherry Blossom Festival. The hotel was within easy walking distance from the Capitol and other places of interest. It was clean and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. The parking was expensive, but did allow for in/ out service. It would have been nice to have self parking for easier access to the car. I would return to this hotel. We had booked the room thru a third party and did get a very good rate-- making it that much more desirable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I have been to DC on several occaisions and have stayed in different areas.. The location of the hotel is one of its selling points- within an easy walk to the Capital, Mall and to Union Station for metro use. We had a small corner room that was clean and nicely appointed- the size and lack of view didn't bother us because we didn't spend much time there. It was quiet as well which I asked for. Common areas were busy at times but clean and appealing. I did use the fitness facility which is one of the largest and nicely appointed I have ever used in a hotel. We did not eat any meals in the restuarant. Our check-in went smoothly and the staff we encountered were professional and accommodating. There is a Starbucks across the street along with a cafe a block up, open during the work week. I did encounter some panhandling in the hotel vicinity but I have encountered worse in other travels.
The odd thing for me about my stay was that there was a very noticeable leak in the bathroom sink faucet- so much so that it ran all over the sink and down to the floor. I had to use a washcloth to stop the water collection. It would have been impossible for the housekeeping staff to miss it and report it for repair. At checkout, I mentioned there was a repair issue and the front desk person didn't even ask what the issue was- just that she would report to maintenance. I had to ask her if she wanted me to tell her what the issue was- not the sign of 4 stars to me.
Would I stay here again- maybe. Price and location are factors for me, however there are many hotel alternatives in the immediate DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Washington Court is a clean, comfortable property within easy walking distance to the Capitol, the Mall and DC Metro. Frequent travellers will be fine there for business or tourism. I have to give huge props to the bell staff. They went way out of their way to be friendly and hospitable from the minute we stepped out of the cab to the minute we left at the end of our visit. They had a storage room full of bags and lots of traffic every time I passed by, but never missed an opportunity for a friendly greeting. Makes travelling a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wife and I spent 3 nights there. Nice, clean hotel with an excellent location a block from Union Station.We stayed in the Deluxe room which was very nice, but basic. No micro, no fridge (although we did request a fridge and they were very accomodating. A definite plus). Seems like a lot of the hotels in the DC area cater to the convention/business meeting type, meaning corporate accounts, no leftovers, etc. Translation:no need for fridge or micro. But the hotel itself was impressive. Staff was very helpful and friendly. As I said, rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable, and bathroom was good-sized with large bath/shower. Two things:1. there is a small mini-mart across the street, not 24 hr; 2. there are a number of homeless folks in the area, due to a homeless shelter nearby.Be aware. This doesn't mean it's a bad area, but the homeless are present. Another plus, there are two Irish pubs/restaurants right around the corner for late night eats, and the hotel restaurant is open pretty late. Would definately stay here again, but I did miss a microwave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is located reasonably close to the Senate and because of the sheer distances is much further away from the House; the distance to the Capital is irrelevant for this review since politics rarely ever takes place in the capital building. The food is very good especially the fine breakfast buffet of which you can choose either a cold or hot with the hot being more costly at approx. $17. The lobby and bar are both especially comfortable and have a very relaxed disposition, very easy to nod off for a nap while waiting for your next business appointment trip to the House or Senate. The Desk, Bell Desk, Doorman and Housekeeping are all very, very helpful and friendly and willing to help you with any challenge, I wish I could remember all their names and list them here. This is not a tourist hotel because of the cost and location, but it is great for business folks. Also be aware of a room on the New Jersey side, you may have a little better view of the town, but it is very noisy because of the fire dept. and the Billy Goat Bar across the street (loud drunks leaving the joint)! The Dubliner, just around the corner, has been there for many, many years and will not disappoint. The Irish bar next to it is only for "drinking" so stay away unless you are a dedicated drinker. Other places I Liked were the Monocle just down the hill and across a parking lot from the Dirksen Senate Building, Charlie Palmers nearby and the various cafes of Union Station (many are fast food, some sit down and it's the location not the quality of food). Union Station is being renovated once again, seems DC can't resist leaving this building alone and I don't know that it will add to the quality of the visit, just more commerce. I noticed Union Station and its surroundings are very dirty and sure could stand a good deep steam clean and it would be money well spent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a street view if you value your quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.