We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Capital Hill and Union Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location for Capital Hill and Union Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beds were comfortable, Staff friendly, bar was great with excellent burgers. But I felt nickeled and dimed a bit. Free internet in the lobby but $10 fee in the rooms, $40 internet charge in the lobby business center- I got interupted by a phone call and boom- $40. The gym had a water fountain but the water wasn't filtered. I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    353
    104
    35
    48
See reviews for
223
232
57
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and were absolutely satisfied. Very nice hotel that is located a couple blocks from the mall. Very close to Union Station ( 2 blocks) so we were able to take the subway from Reagan Airport and walk the short distance to the hotel. We went to a play at Ford Theater (Hello Dolly) which was very good and at a reasonable price. Also, did a tour of the Kennedy Center and took in one of the free concerts which I would recommend also.

Room Tip: Our room 804 was facing the same direction as the main entrance. There was some siren noises occasio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Originally got this reservation through hotwire at a great rate. When hubby could not travel due to medical circumstances, we had to cancel, but hotel staff was extraordinarily accommodating by giving us an exceptional rate at a later date. Curtis Green and Anthony Wood could not have been more helpful and kind in my dealings with them. Room 1002 was corner room--spacious and with view of the very top of the Capitol. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was well-appointed and clean. They brought us a fridge at no extra charge. Breakfast was very good, and loved the location--within walking distance of Union Station (parking at $22/day instead of $46 at the hotel), the National Mall and even the Tidal Basin if you don't mind a long walk. Cabs were reasonable enough that if you have 2 or 4 people, they may well be cheaper than the Metro, depending on how far you are going. Overall, we had a wonderful experience, and especially appreciated the warm, friendly demeanor of all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was in excellent condition, and was clean and comfortable. It was also spacious.

The close proximity to the capitol was nice and provided a great view.

The gift shop in the loby was also very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At $229/night this hotel was not "a deal" but few good ones are in DC. It was a very nice, upscale, clean, inviting hotel in a great location - about 3 blocks from the Capitol and 5 blocks to Union Square. Had a lovely, spacious corner room (802) with a peek at the Capitol dome. Had breakfast in the restaurant one day and it was excellent. The only negatives were thin walls (normal conversation next door easily heard), no in-room refrigerator (when did we go from fully stocked mini-frig to NONE?), no pool, hot tub or happy hour, and no free Wi-Fi. Think that was about $12/day. And I hope you don't bring a car because parking is about $46/night! So, it depends on what your needs are. I would stay here again because we took the train in and found wi-fi elsewhere.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room with a view and got a large corner room with windows on 2 sides and peek at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We got a decent rate with a groupon. The location of this hotel cant be beat.
We walked to the capital, the National Mall etc.
Our room was on the 16th floor and had a view of the capitol, just like in the ads!
The staff was nice.
Our room overlooked the firestation but was not too noisy.

Paint was peeling on the ceiling of the bathroom but NBD
Wifi free only in the lobby. I paid $11/day. Figured I still made out given the groupon rate.
Near a homeless shelter so a lot of homeless folks around.--I think this is pretty universal in DC I was not comfortable walking alone in the dark though.
Would recommend and would go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We'd book this hotel again just because of Tyrone one of the many doormen at the Court. Exceptional location, taxi's are cheaper then New York, LA and Chicago!! a three minute walk upto Union Station where you catch the subway, and sight seeing tours. DO NOT RENT A CAR!! it's a total waste of money, the subways and taxi's are efficient and even if it rains you can still get one!!! We had breakfast every morning at the Bistro, and the service and staff were excellent there as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and you can see the capitol from the hallway window!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.