We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Washington Court” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My stay at Washington Court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Close to Union station which is a plus as I flew in to BWI. Easy walk to Capitol, National Gallery, etc. Easy check-in. Crab bisque in restaurant very tasty. Room is basic. Nice bed and bathroom. Thin walls, was awakened by very loud lady talking about sight-seeing around 4:30 am. Staff respected the privacy please request on the door. Adequate meeting facilities. Very handy Starbucks across the street, but was accosted by no less than 3 homeless while inside the store, countless more outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    332
    95
    31
    46
See reviews for
207
213
55
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pullman, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've been to DC on other occasions and always needed to take the Metro for meetings. Not this time. Everything was in walking distance...and walking is healthier. Plenty of space in the rooms, comfortable beds and although they had a charge for wireless internet, the free internet from the lobby worked in my room on the 7th floor. I didn't get the rates mentioned in other review since I was part of an association meeting. Food was fine, breakfasts were reasonable and other restaurants again, were in walking distance. I had one slight problem with the room and within 10 minutes of my call to the front desk, a hotel repair person was in the room and had it fixed in 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Most room face an interior court. I was on the 7th and still could take advantage of the free lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hard to make reservations but once you're checked in you're treated like royalty. Great service, especially Paul at the desk. The food was great. It is near and I mean within walking distance of many sights.

Room Tip: Get a corner room at the end of hall, quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Washington Court for the weekend of March 21-24, while visiting Georgetown Law Center with my sons. The service was great from the moment we arrived with a terrific doorman and valet. Check-in was easy and the room was comfortable.
The hotel is a little pricey, but expected due to it's location. Room service was timely and breakfast was good. (never ate dinner in the hotel). Breakfast buffet is available, but we had ala carte and it was fine.
Lobby bar was small, but service was prompt and there were always a few people around. Drinks are again pricey, but expected.

Very easy walk to National Mall and all surrounding sights and attractions. Extremely great location if you're visiting Georgetown Law School (it's across the street).

Parking is expensive,($43.00 overnight) but there really isn't anywhere to park if you want to stay this close to the Capitol. Parking in close by garages cost about the same.

Overall a very nice stay and I would go back when visiting my son.

Room Tip: Stayed in a double, nothing spectacular, but well appointed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got a good deal on this place and paid about $100.00 per night. At that rate I was quite happy with this hotel. It is centrally located, clean, staffed with very helpful and friendly staff and it has a lovely lobby. If I had paid full price I would have been bothered by the need for refurbishing, so it is relative. The bathroom in particular needs an overhaul, as there is some rust, grime and mildew present. Also the windows are paper thin and provide no sound insulation whatsoever (we heard every word spoken on the street outside from 14 floors up). But to be in the centre of everything at this price, it was great value!

Room Tip: if you don't like noise while you sleep, try an inside room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my 4th or 5th stay at Washington Cour. The property is excellent and the staff is top notch. It is convenient to Union Station and the subway as well as easy walking distance to our meetings around the Capital. There are several good dining locations within easy walking distance, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great location everything was within walking distance or a short drive. Great Caribbean food from Negril Eatery (I don't think they are jamaicans but using the name very well) and Sweet Mango less than 5miles from the hotel. Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. From the time I entered the hotel lobby I knew my stay would be good. The room was spacious, clean and warm. My sleep was very comfortable on the soft mattress with fluffed pillows. The brass faucets is a nice touch but it needed cleaning and polishing. I loved the lemon or lemongrass scent of the soap and body wash. I was disappointed there wasn't a pool for the kids would have loved that but we all enjoyed the Smithsonian National Zoo.

Room Tip: There is no parking, only valet parking for $20 or $46. No free WiFi, the cost is $10.99 or $19.99...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list