We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of the Action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of the Action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Washington Court for the weekend of March 21-24, while visiting Georgetown Law Center with my sons. The service was great from the moment we arrived with a terrific doorman and valet. Check-in was easy and the room was comfortable.
The hotel is a little pricey, but expected due to it's location. Room service was timely and breakfast was good. (never ate dinner in the hotel). Breakfast buffet is available, but we had ala carte and it was fine.
Lobby bar was small, but service was prompt and there were always a few people around. Drinks are again pricey, but expected.

Very easy walk to National Mall and all surrounding sights and attractions. Extremely great location if you're visiting Georgetown Law School (it's across the street).

Parking is expensive,($43.00 overnight) but there really isn't anywhere to park if you want to stay this close to the Capitol. Parking in close by garages cost about the same.

Overall a very nice stay and I would go back when visiting my son.

Room Tip: Stayed in a double, nothing spectacular, but well appointed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    342
    102
    33
    47
See reviews for
218
226
57
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got a good deal on this place and paid about $100.00 per night. At that rate I was quite happy with this hotel. It is centrally located, clean, staffed with very helpful and friendly staff and it has a lovely lobby. If I had paid full price I would have been bothered by the need for refurbishing, so it is relative. The bathroom in particular needs an overhaul, as there is some rust, grime and mildew present. Also the windows are paper thin and provide no sound insulation whatsoever (we heard every word spoken on the street outside from 14 floors up). But to be in the centre of everything at this price, it was great value!

Room Tip: if you don't like noise while you sleep, try an inside room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my 4th or 5th stay at Washington Cour. The property is excellent and the staff is top notch. It is convenient to Union Station and the subway as well as easy walking distance to our meetings around the Capital. There are several good dining locations within easy walking distance, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great location everything was within walking distance or a short drive. Great Caribbean food from Negril Eatery (I don't think they are jamaicans but using the name very well) and Sweet Mango less than 5miles from the hotel. Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. From the time I entered the hotel lobby I knew my stay would be good. The room was spacious, clean and warm. My sleep was very comfortable on the soft mattress with fluffed pillows. The brass faucets is a nice touch but it needed cleaning and polishing. I loved the lemon or lemongrass scent of the soap and body wash. I was disappointed there wasn't a pool for the kids would have loved that but we all enjoyed the Smithsonian National Zoo.

Room Tip: There is no parking, only valet parking for $20 or $46. No free WiFi, the cost is $10.99 or $19.99...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location and superbly friendly staff makes up for hotel being slightly dated and worn around the edges. However, it's clean and less expensive than others in the area and I really appreciated the service. Great bar food! I sat at the bar and ordered the flatbread pizza. It was delicious and I made it my dinner. The bar is a nice feature with some clubby nooks and crannies where you can tuck in and check emails as well as a nice communal space. The bartenders are great as is front desk, valet and bell staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice hotel with great service, rooms spacious and nice,less noisy in rooms away from the street. would definitely stay here again. easy access to capitol hill,union station and the mall make this a good location for visiting washington.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been staying at the Washington Court for a number of years and you can't beat the location if your business is on the "Hill". The rooms and bath are spacious, they have a good lobby where you can just sit and talk in comfortable chairs and couches, their lounge is friendly and a good place to meet your group to discuss the events of the day, and the staff is very friendly. As I said, I have been staying at the Washington Court for a number of years, and it is probably time for a periodic upgrade. While nothing shabby, it's starting to show a little ware and tear that means this good lady of hospitality needs a bit of a facelift. Their wireless Internet policy has changed a bit since they say they have upgraded. You can go sit in the lobby area and use you wireless device for no charge, but in your room they will slap you with either a $10.95 per day for "regular" wireless or $20.95 per day for high speed wireless. Not too welcome to the travelers.

Room Tip: Watch out for the exterior rooms because there is a fire station the next block down and the people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.