We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Clean, can have a Capitol View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Ranked #71 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Clean, can have a Capitol View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was walking distance to everything. We used Metro and this was only 2 blocks from Union Station. It was only 1 mile or so to the Capitol Building, and the Mall (of museums). From the top floors, for an extra $25 a night you can see the Capitol (we chose not to). cheaper rooms just have a court yard view, but we were always out and did not care. Rooms were good size, had flat screen TV's and very well kept. There is a nice restaurant and a bar lounge on premise. If you want there is a sports bar across the street and one of the local favorite Irish Bars about 2 blocks away. The is also a convenience store in the hotel. This was a 4.5 star hotel and priced like a motel. Cannot recommend it enough! you will see reviews that there is a soup kitchen you have to walk by... you can go one block over and avoid it, but we were never even talked to when walking by and did practically every day. It was nothing to worry about.

Room Tip: Ask if you want a Capitol view. It's beautiful at night, but you can just go up to that floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    372
    109
    35
    50
See reviews for
232
244
60
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Washington Court is a great combination of Location , Value, Luxury and Space. Check for hotel specific deals by calling 202. Direct to the property. Nice restaurant for lunch. 5 star* lobby and excellent service. Good for business or family vacation. Perfect for July4 or Memorial Day Mall Concerts... Dine at near by {"Trio" or "Tune Inn" both Classic DC Diners}

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Popped in with the whole family and we were delighted with the high end quality of the hotel. Gorgeous lobby, soft and silky bedding with comfy pillow-top mattresses. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean and well appointed with large bathrooms. First class all the way.

Bistro 525 Restaurant was excellent as well....and the staff could not have been more accommodating.

Great place to stay if you need easy access to the Capitol, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms, courteous staff, great location - all good for the business traveler. Wifi not free. All in all a great business hotel and a great value. Bar and restaurant was pretty empty but the food was decent if you meed a quick bite. I agree with others that I would mot be likely to bring my family here. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We just had a brief overnight and short stay to see an exhibition at the Hirshhorn. Washington D.C is a lovely city and with free museums it is a fantastic bargain for the family and an impressive trip. The hotel was less than 1 mile walk to the Hirshhorn and 4 blocks from the Capitol. The staff couldn't be nicer. We were upgraded to a beautiful room and the doorman actually let us park our car for a few hours at the hotel so we could get to the exhibit. Walking the Mall is a treat!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a large, spacious hotel only five minutes walk away from the political heart of Washington DC.
The hotel is arranged around a central atrium containing the reception, restaurant, bar and lobby, with some rooms facing in to the atrium and the rest out to the city.
The bar and restaurant never looked busy during my stay, so I'd look somewhere else if you want atmosphere. Breakfast was good - the buffet option offered several kinds of smoked fish along with the more usual American selection.
There is no self parking - valet only - but it all works well. My only real negative is that you have to pay for wifi in your room. That said, it's available free in the public areas, and thanks to the way the hotel is laid out, don't be surprised if you can pick up the lobby signal in your room.
And if you've had a few too many American hotel breakfasts, there is a good fitness centre on site.
As someone else would be paying for the wifi and valet parking, I would stay here again for business. I'm not so sure the Washington Court would get my holiday dollars.

Room Tip: Inward facing rooms may lower your wifi bill, unless they lead-line the atrium roof after reading th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent located hotel, close to all monument.
Rooms are big enough as well bathroom.
Great hotel for it's price!
Recommended of course!
Recommended of course!
Recommended of course!
Recommended of course!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.