We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Here for a business trip. Checked in at 11:00 PM and gone by 8:00 AM. Room was clean. As someone that runs/works out the location can't be beat as 2 blocks from Capital Hill and workout room nice.

Common area large and comfortable.

Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    380
    112
    35
    50
See reviews for
235
249
61
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
千葉県
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I thought the hotel was small because the price was very reasonable. But actually, the hotel was very big and luxurious atmosphere. Above all, the entrance was very big and beautiful. The room was wide. There was coffee maker in the room, but there is neither security box nor refrigerator.
The hotel is near Union Station and I could walk to museums.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night after buying a groupon. I must admit i didnt expect much but i was delighted with the hotel. The staff were so friendly and the recently-renovated rooms are modern and very comfortable. The public areas are a little dated but they clearly pay a lot of attention to cleanliness, which matters far more to me. The location is amazing, particularly for tourists. If you have a car, i recommend parking around the corner at Union Station, as it costs half as much as parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great hotel at a great location. 5 min. walking from Union Station, so close to different places to eat, shopping and metro rail and trains. Beautiful lobby. Friendly and helpful employees. The room was ok, but a room for 4 people had 3 towels. Accessible electrical outlets, not so good toiletries. Great view of the Capitol. I will definitely will come to this hotel if I return to DC. We booked through their website and we got a great deal. We paid $99/night but included a $10/night to use it if we want to, if not, there were applicable to the total of the invoice, so the night cost us $89

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My stay at the Washington Court Hotel was amazing. This is by far the BEST hotel that I have ever stayed in. Their website says that they will impress, and they do. The communication by email with Adam Helldorfer before and after my stay was on point. I had many questions, and he was always very timely with his response. Check in was simple, valet was helpful and quick, the room was immaculately clean (even though I am tough to please). It was a wonderfully spacious room, and we got the most basic room with a king sized bed. Water pressure in the shower was very strong and the toilet flushed well. The room service for breakfast was well worth $9/$11 that they charge (big servings) and the room service staff was very friendly and accommodating. They allowed me to bring my 15 pound dog with no issues, it was great. I was worried that the room they may have put us in would have been less than par because they have specific rooms for dog owners. That was not the case, this room was very clean and even smelled nice. The gym is the best hotel gym I have ever seen, great choices of equipment
and weights!!! The lobby is very impressive and the Bistro 525 downstairs was AMAZING. Great food and service. It was quiet and had private feel to it. Perfect for my husband and I.
I only have two complaints. First, I asked that they put a refrigerator in my room; I confirmed by phone twice before my arrival and was told upon check in that it would be taken care of. My refrigerator never arrived. Alas, I had brought my cooler and used their ice. Secondly, we continuously had the “privacy please” sign up during our stay, and despite this fact, staff walked into our room twice during our stay while we were in the room. I do not think they meant to, but the sign was clearly up and on the proper side (the other side of the sign says “service please”). Other than those two things, I cannot complain. I love it here! And I plan to return when I go to DC again. Thank you Washington Court!

Room Tip: Even the basic room is wonderful. Bring your pet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a great hotel if you like "nice" but not stuffy. Less formal than some 4 stars, but still very elegant. I called ahead of time to let them know it was my husband's 40th birthday and his first visit to DC; they upgraded our room and gave us one with a GORGEOUS view of the Capitol. Very kind staff, and the breakfast buffet was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I just stayed 2 fantastic nights at this hotel and only 2 blocks from the Capital Building. The rooms were spacious and clean .The rooms were recently remodeled with a huge granite bathroom and were provided with all the amenities needed for a great stay. The staff was very accommodating and I was upgraded to a room with a view of the Capital which I had requested.The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays and the size was overwhelming with views of the restaurant and cocktail lounge.
We will be staying there again on our next visit to DC.

Room Tip: Great location, most museums are within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.